TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Question Tivo series 3 power supply & hard drive questions

I have a spare Series 3 TiVo (model TCD652160) that is not being used. It works fine, but has no subscription to it & just sitting in a closet. I might be getting a broken TCD658000 from a friend. They claim (& think) the hard drive is the issue.

I will pull the hard drive and run the WD extended test on it to see if it is truly the hard drive. If it's not the hard drive and rather the power supply, can I simply swap these two power supplies? I realize the Series 3 (OLED) can't be used in either one of these, but was wondering if the TCD658000 & TCD652160 use the same power supply & are interchangeable since they look pretty much identical.

Now, if it is actually the hard drive that is the issue, can the 160GB hard drive from the TCD652160 be used in a the TCD658000?

Last edited by buscuitboy : 09-15-2013 at 06:33 PM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:41 PM   #2
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 706
The power supplies are interchangeable.
The 658 needs a larger hard drive . The 652 (or the Tivo HD as it's often called) has a smaller 160 gb hard drive and the software image is different and not directly compatible.

Last edited by poppagene : 09-15-2013 at 04:43 PM. Reason: mis read op
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
I was hoping the power supplies are interchageable and glad to hear that at least. Since I have installed an image for a Series 3 (OLED) myself, I had a feeling that the hard drives weren't really interchangeable though. Since I have a 658 image and a spare 1.5TB WD drive, I will try using this instead of the 160GB drive I have in my 652. I am also assuming the 658 can only go as high as 2TB too (if I ever decide to upgrade in the future)?

Last edited by buscuitboy : 09-15-2013 at 06:34 PM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:15 AM   #4
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
The power supplies are interchangeable.
Really? I thought the S3 had a different supply than the HD's?
But then I thought the S3 was a 648250.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:37 AM   #5
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I was hoping the power supplies are interchageable and glad to hear that at least. Since I have installed an image for a Series 3 (OLED) myself, I had a feeling that the hard drives weren't really interchangeable though. Since I have a 658 image and a spare 1.5TB WD drive, I will try using this instead of the 160GB drive I have in my 652. I am also assuming the 658 can only go as high as 2TB too (if I ever decide to upgrade in the future)?
I believe that a 2TB drive is the limit for the 658 as well as the 652.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
Really? I thought the S3 had a different supply than the HD's?
But then I thought the S3 was a 648250.
The 658 model is the tivo HD XL and the power supplies between the HD and HD XL are interchangeable. You are correct that the S3 OLED is the 648 model number.
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Yea, from the way I understand it, there are two TiVo HD models (TCD652160 & TCD658000) that have interchangeable power supplies & the Series 3 OLED model (TCD648250B) that has its own unique power supply.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 03:20 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
Yea, from the way I understand it, there are two TiVo HD models (TCD652160 & TCD658000) that have interchangeable power supplies & the Series 3 OLED model (TCD648250B) that has its own unique power supply.
The 648 power supply has an extra wire to supply some oddball voltage for the OLED display, and until I investigate further, I don't recommend using a 648 supply anywhere except in a 648, or using anything in a 648 except a 648 supply.

If you wind up needing an image for that 658, here's a WinMFS one:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49887720/658000.tbk

If you've got the temporarily spare hardware to do it with, I'd be curious as to what happens when you try to boot a 658 with a drive smaller than 1TB with the 652 image on it, and I mean a drive other than one that actually came out of a 652 and might need to go back into one some day.

As I mentioned in the other thread where you asked about reviving the 658, the HD machines, at least the non-XL versions, used two different power supply models by two different manufacturers, and they are interchangeable, so if both your 652 power supplies are the same and the 658 is different, don't panic.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |