TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2013, 06:39 AM   #1
Claudia999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Select Button on Tivo Remote

I have three Tivos and four remotes. Two of the remotes are fully functional. The other two remotes are useful but the Select buttons do not work. When I press the Select button, the red light goes on but the Tivo does not respond; unless I am Finding Titles in the Alphabet screen to spell out a program title, when I cursor to a letter and press select, the Select button only advances the cursor to another letter but does not select the letter that I want. I have globally rebooted both of these remotes and changed the batteries. These two faulty remotes have the same problem on all three Tivos. I now want to retire one of my Tivos and give the remote, with its Lifetime Service to my daughter. Is there a way to refurbish my Remote or do I need to buy a new Remote so I can pass on a fully functional Tivo?
Claudia999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,176
Take it apart, remove the battery cover, batteries, and screw in battery compartment. Take an old credit card, slip it between the halves, sliding it along popping the catches. Once open clean circuit board, and rubber membrane. Once dry, put back together.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:27 AM   #3
Claudia999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Thank you for this helpful reply. I have taken apart the remote. I cleaned out some obvious grime around the edges where the two plastic halves meet. There was a little grime in the circular depression/rim around the Select button and I have cleaned that. About the circuit boards, I see two: a larger one at the bottom and a smaller one at the top by the TIVO button. I have consulted the web on cleaning a circuit board, nevertheless, I do not see any obvious dust or grim to clean off. I have done a little work with a dust cloth and isopropyl alcohol but I have not made a difference. What do you mean by the rubber membrane?
Claudia999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:13 PM   #4
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,176
The button keypad is the rubber membrane. You did not mention what Tivo remote you have? If after cleaning and still doesn't work, the keypad lost conductivity, so it won't make circuit, and fire the key. Time for new remote.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |