TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2013, 07:17 PM   #1
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,624
New install of pytivo

I am using the older version pytivo from 2009. I trying to use the newer version but I do not understand some of it.
This is what what i have for tivodecode ffmpeg

ffmpeg-2013913-git-6c07
tivodecode-0.2pre4

4. Grab a 32 or 64 bit build of FFmpeg for pyTivo: Recent builds of FFmpeg for Windows are available at: http://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/. The FFmpeg 1.1 (08-Jan-2013) Static build appears to work well. An older build of FFmpeg known to work well with pyTivo is also available at: http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/forum/download.php?id=323.

5. Copy the ffmpeg.exe file from step 5 to \<install folder>\bin\. If the directory does not exist, create it.

6. To properly handle .tivo files grab the special version of tivodecode: http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/forum/download.php?id=196

7. Drop the tivodecode files into \<install folder>\bin\.

8. If you are using Windows Firewall, add a Windows Firewall exception for UDP 5353 so that Windows won’t block pyTivo’s new zeroconf share announcements. (The most common reason pyTivo shares don’t show up or disappear from the Now Playing list on the Tivo is firewall blockages)

9. Start pyTivo by executing the file \<install folder>\pytivo.py.

10. Now that it's running, point your browser to http://localhost:9032. You should get the pyTivo home page:

what does it mean by this" 9. Start pyTivo by executing the file \<install folder>\pytivo.py."? How do start it I tried run and from a cmd window?
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:42 PM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,940
Double-click pyTivo.py in Windows Explorer. Might require you to set up a program association for the .py extension with python.exe for this to work. Once you have that working, you can create a shortcut to it if desired.

I think in a command window you can launch it with:

python pytivo.py

(Provided python.exe is in your path, and your command window is already logged to the folder containing pytivo.py.)
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:24 PM   #3
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,624
I get this I try and pytivo\ptivo.py in cmd or run.

#!/usr/bin/env python

import logging
import os
import platform
import sys
import time

if sys.version_info[0] != 2 or sys.version_info[1] < 5:
print ('ERROR: pyTivo requires Python >= 2.5, < 3.0.\n')
sys.exit(1)

import beacon
import config
import httpserver

def exceptionLogger(*args):
sys.excepthook = sys.__excepthook__
logging.getLogger('pyTivo').error('Exception in pyTivo', exc_info=args)

def last_date():
lasttime = -1
path = os.path.dirname(__file__)
if not path:
path = '.'
for root, dirs, files in os.walk(path):
for name in files:
if name.endswith('.py'):
tm = os.stat(os.path.join(root, name)).st_mtime
if tm > lasttime:
lasttime = tm

return time.asctime(time.localtime(lasttime))

def setup(in_service=False):
config.init(sys.argv[1:])
config.init_logging()
sys.excepthook = exceptionLogger

port = config.getPort()

httpd = httpserver.TivoHTTPServer(('', int(port)),
httpserver.TivoHTTPHandler)

logger = logging.getLogger('pyTivo')
logger.info('Last modified: ' + last_date())
logger.info('Python: ' + platform.python_version())
logger.info('System: ' + platform.platform())

for section, settings in config.getShares():
httpd.add_container(section, settings)

b = beacon.Beacon()
b.add_service('TiVoMediaServer:%s/http' % port)
b.start()
if 'listen' in config.getBeaconAddresses():
b.listen()

httpd.set_beacon(b)
httpd.set_service_status(in_service)

logger.info('pyTivo is ready.')
return httpd

def serve(httpd):
try:
httpd.serve_forever()
except KeyboardInterrupt:
pass

def mainloop():
httpd = setup()
serve(httpd)
httpd.beacon.stop()
return httpd.restart

if __name__ == '__main__':
while mainloop():
time.sleep(5)
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,217
Do you have python installed? Step 1 from http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/wiki/i...ns_for_Windows is to install python. Verify that you have a version of python installed that pytivo is compatible with (python versions greater than 2.4.x and less than 3.0).

You're seeing the source code of the pytivo.py file, which means you're opening the file for editing, not executing it as a program. This can happen because python isn't installed, isn't installed correctly, or if the file associations the python windows installer sets up have been altered after installation.

Try opening a command prompt then:
Code:
cd c:\pytivo
python pytivo.py
This assumes you followed the directions to place pytivo at the root of the C drive, change that part if you have placed it somewhere else to match your pytivo location.

If you get an error message, copy and paste(you'll need to use the "mark" function in the windows command prompt, see here) the entire message to this thread.
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 04:50 PM   #5
caddyroger
Registered User
 
caddyroger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Some where out west
Posts: 1,624
Ok I redid every thing again. I get the command box to open. When I open Internet explorer I get the programs from my now playing ok. If I click my videos to push I get "this page can not be displayed" error.

Here is the command page readings. I had to has a file attachment. I also posted my conf file
here is a copy of my conf

[_tivo_SD]

[Server]
tivo_password = xxxxxxxxx
tivo_mak = xxxxxxxxxxx
ffmpeg = C:\pyTivo\bin\ffmpeg.exe
tivodecode = C:\pyTivo\bin\TIVODECODE.EXE
tdcat = C:\pyTivo\bin\tdcat.exe
beacon = 192.168.1.10
togo_path = D:\FROM THE TIVO
tivo_username = xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

[_tivo_HD]

[My Videos]
path = E:\FOR THE TIVO
type = video
Attached Files
File Type: txt TIVO ERORR PAGE.txt (10.7 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Caddy
caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 05:16 PM   #6
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,042
Code:
WindowsError: [Error 2] The system cannot find the file specified: u'E:\\FOR THE
 TIVO'
Seems self-explanatory?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |