TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-12-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Goober96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 290
Free space discrepancy

According to My Shows, my Pro is 42% full but the TiVo app reports it is 57% full. Anybody know why the difference?
Goober96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:48 PM   #2
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,294
I have the same issue. According to my Roamio Plus (with expanded 3TB hard drive) I have 60% full but the app shows 81% full. It does look like the Tivo number is more accurate as kmttg showed a total of almost 1600 GB on the drive. That seems to fit with a 3 TB drive assuming some amount of space for the OS.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:02 PM   #3
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,546
Maybe the app is set to calculate at 2TB rather than 3?
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:06 PM   #4
generaltso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 841
This issue is not unique to the Roamios. I had the same discrepancy with my Premiere.
generaltso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:51 PM   #5
Goober96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 290
Not the case with my Premiere XL. The TiVo and the app both report the same thing.
Goober96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:56 PM   #6
generaltso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 841
I think the Premier only started showing a discrepancy after I connected an external drive.
generaltso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 07:44 PM   #7
yokito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 46
I'm wondering if the 'soft deletes' are not being recognized by the app.
__________________
Roamio Pro, 3 TiVo Mini
yokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:44 PM   #8
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Is this with the latest version of the app? My app is also off but I figured it was because I hadn't updated it yet. I'm still on v2.2x for iOS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokito View Post
I'm wondering if the 'soft deletes' are not being recognized by the app.
What's a soft delete?
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:54 PM   #9
HeatherA
Old AVS Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 848
My app is off as well... it's reporting 10% more space being used than the Roamio is reporting.
__________________
-HeatherA

Roamio Basic 477HDHr TiVo Prem.4 237HDHr TiVo Prem.XL 157HDHr TiVo Prem. 192HDHrx2 TiVo Mini

Retired
TiVoS2DT 560hr HDVR2 104hr Phillips 14hr TiVoS2(40hr) DTiVo 69hr TiVoHD 21HDhr
HeatherA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 09:14 PM   #10
fdisker2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: JBLM, WA
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devx View Post
Is this with the latest version of the app? My app is also off but I figured it was because I hadn't updated it yet. I'm still on v2.2x for iOS.



What's a soft delete?
A soft delete is a normal delete. It is not permanently deleted. It can be recovered by going into the recently deleted folder or permanently deleted from there.
It is recoverable until space is needed for recordings unless permanently deleted.
fdisker2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 02:23 AM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherA View Post
My app is off as well... it's reporting 10% more space being used than the Roamio is reporting.
I'm seeing the exact same thing. Romaio says 30% but the app says 40%. I also have 3 Premiere units in the house, they all report the same number in the app and on the Premiere. So it would appear this bug only applies to the software ersion Romaio is running.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 05:45 PM   #12
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdisker2000 View Post
A soft delete is a normal delete. It is not permanently deleted. It can be recovered by going into the recently deleted folder or permanently deleted from there.
It is recoverable until space is needed for recordings unless permanently deleted.
Thanks. I don't think I've ever seen it referred to as a soft delete before.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:33 AM   #13
yokito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 46
I have way more deleted than active shows now, so that can't be it.
__________________
Roamio Pro, 3 TiVo Mini
yokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:01 PM   #14
nyctwc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 43
Same issue here. Roamio Pro shows 52%, Tivo App shows 69%. When I called Tivo support a couple of weeks ago, it was not a known issue at the time. Has anyone gotten acknowledgement from Tivo that it is now a known issue? It would be nice to know that they were working on a fix.
nyctwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:23 PM   #15
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I'm seeing the exact same thing. Romaio says 30% but the app says 40%. I also have 3 Premiere units in the house, they all report the same number in the app and on the Premiere. So it would appear this bug only applies to the software ersion Romaio is running.
That's consistent with my numbers as the Roamio showed 60% and the app showed 80%.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 10:30 PM   #16
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 519
Is this just an iOS app issue? The Android Tivo app's free space agrees with what my Plus displays.
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:58 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,363
What's weird is the iOS app agrees with what my Premiere units say. So it appears to be a bug that only effects iOS connected to a Roamio.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #18
generaltso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 841
It also affects Premiere units, but only if they have an external drive attached.
generaltso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |