TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-04-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
A/V Breakout Cable

Anyone know anything Amazon carries that will work in this area? I have one old TV with no HDMI that I want to hook to one of my new Tivo Minis. I had just bought a Roku HD2 and it had a cable that may work, but I would prefer one with component output.

I can't find any specs on this cable and the "quick start poster" for the Mini lacks a lot of details.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:35 AM   #2
dilbert27
Registered User
 
dilbert27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,003
Cannot seem to find it on amazon but here it is straight from Tivo.

https://tivo.com/shop/detail/av-cable
dilbert27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilbert27 View Post
Cannot seem to find it on amazon but here it is straight from Tivo.

https://tivo.com/shop/detail/av-cable
I saw that one. It has a fairly high price, but shipping is also high, especially just for that.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:44 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
I bought this one and it worked fine....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Western-Digi...-/370675838597
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:34 PM   #5
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I bought this one and it worked fine....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Western-Digi...-/370675838597
Do you know if that cable will work for the component output as well as the audio/composite outputs? Obviously the RCA connectors will be the wrong colors but will it function?
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 02:32 PM   #6
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
Do you know if that cable will work for the component output as well as the audio/composite outputs? Obviously the RCA connectors will be the wrong colors but will it function?
I wouldn't think so since yellow carries the picture and the other two carry the left and right audio, but I don't know how the Tivo component cable is wired.

========

I have the cable from a RokuHD2 that looks just like the one noted on Ebay. I can't get a good picture though. I have tried pressing the button on the bottom, but that just cycles through bad pictures. Any idea how I can get the A/V output to work on my older Emerson TV?
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 02:40 PM   #7
don129
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
I just got that Western Digital cable from eBay and it works fine with the Mini.

Thanks!
don129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by don129 View Post
I just got that Western Digital cable from eBay and it works fine with the Mini.

Thanks!
Did you use it by itself? How did you get the video to come up? I can't get it to properly show the output with only an A/V cable.

If you are using 2 of them, what colors did you match the red, white and yellow of the second cable to? I am getting a somewhat poor quality red or blue background depending on how I plug them in.

EDIT: I am also getting a horrid buzz in the background using the AV cable. Does anyone know if anything can be done about that? Is buying a new HDTV my only option to use my Mini and replace my TivoHD?
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis

Last edited by andrews777 : 09-04-2013 at 03:15 PM.
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
Do you know if that cable will work for the component output as well as the audio/composite outputs? Obviously the RCA connectors will be the wrong colors but will it function?
Yeah I tried it on both ports. Works fine once you figure out the proper order for the connectors. (I didn't write them down sorry)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:35 PM   #10
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews777 View Post
I am also getting a horrid buzz in the background using the AV cable. Does anyone know if anything can be done about that? Is buying a new HDTV my only option to use my Mini and replace my TivoHD?
You are using the wrong type of cable. Each port has three outputs: one port has audioR, audioL, and composite video; the other has component video (red,green,blue). You are using a cable for a port with only two outputs and the video is mixing in with the audio. Probably best to use the breakout AV cable sold by Tivo.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 04:14 PM   #11
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
You are using the wrong type of cable. Each port has three outputs: one port has audioR, audioL, and composite video; the other has component video (red,green,blue). You are using a cable for a port with only two outputs and the video is mixing in with the audio. Probably best to use the breakout AV cable sold by Tivo.
I don't want to spend another $30 with shipping for another cable, especially when I have several of them here. I am fairly certain that A/V cables are fairly consistent at that level, though I have yet to find a component cable like they have.

I found I had a few that were the same format as what they have that I have collected over the years, but they do all produce the buzz, so something is clearly off.

It does look like even a seemingly higher quality cable I had (I think it was Apple's) produces the buzz when only the A/V inputs on the TV are used. I get a picture kind of like the old cable boxes where you could tell you were just outside the range, but it would never sync in.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:18 PM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Most of these types of cables are designed for Apple products, which use a pin layout that is compatible with both A/V cables and standard audio cables. These have the ground in a different place then the TiVo cable. You're likely hearing the buzz because one of the two channels is touching the ground instead of the proper pin for the audio.

The one I linked to above is <$5 with free shipping and works fine.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:42 PM   #13
brbrem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
This is the one i used. Works fine.


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._prd_ttl_sol_0
brbrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 10:56 PM   #14
2trill4925
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
I used my breakout cable from a Seagate FAT+
If I'm not mistaken Red=Video using Composite. Although I'm probably frying my cable/output port, I wouldn't recommend it long term. I'm not 100% sure on the order, and even less if you're running stereo audio (I think my kids will end up sending me to a nursing home for leaving their primary cartoon viewing to be done on an 80's Sony Trinitron).
2trill4925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:40 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Component cables are the same as composite cables, they're just colored different, so you're not frying anything. As for having the order right if you get a picture then you have them right. If you mix up any two cables on a component video cable it'll either not work at all or the color will be completely off.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 10:56 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
I wish I had seen this thread a few weeks ago. I ordered two sets of cables from TiVo which was around $40 shipped.

I could have saved at least $25.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:25 PM   #17
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I wish I had seen this thread a few weeks ago. I ordered two sets of cables from TiVo which was around $40 shipped.

I could have saved at least $25.
But with TiVo your getting 4 cables 2 composite sets and two Component sets, with Amazon your only getting 2 composite sets of cables.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:43 PM   #18
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
But with TiVo your getting 4 cables 2 composite sets and two Component sets, with Amazon your only getting 2 composite sets of cables.
2 sets? The Tivo page indicated 1 of each, not 2 of each.

I will note that the Amazon works great. I got that and now have resolution on my old Emerson TV. Ironically I can get more display modes with the AV only connection, but the component one looks better.

I used

Yellow -> Green
White -> Blue
Red -> Red

for using the Amazon AV cable to connect the component elements. It took some trial and error to figure that out, so hopefully this helps someone else benefits by knowing it.

This seems like another overpriced addon option from Tivo (think DVR expanders) that could have been solved by using standard items.

I do have much more cable there than I would like, but that will go back out of the way once I rearrange my setup later on.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 04:14 PM   #19
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews777 View Post
2 sets? The Tivo page indicated 1 of each, not 2 of each.

.
aaronwt said (post #16) he purchased two sets from TiVo, each set has two types of cables in the set, composite and component, it cost him $25 more than two Amazon sets, but he got 4 cables not two.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 05:06 PM   #20
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
aaronwt said (post #16) he purchased two sets from TiVo, each set has two types of cables in the set, composite and component, it cost him $25 more than two Amazon sets, but he got 4 cables not two.
I see that, but I am not sure how that is different than ordering the same quantity from Amazon. You do have to figure out the color mapping I noted, but that is the only challenge.

Of course I am assuming he is a Prime member of Amazon and has free shipping there, vs. paying for it with Tivo. Timeliness is also better with Amazon.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 06:16 PM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Four of the cables from Amazon have a cost of $17.88. My two sets of cables from TiVo, including shipping and tax cost me $42.27. So that would have saved me $24.39.

Although that was before Amazon started charging tax in Virginia. As of 9/1 I have to pay tax on Amazon purchases so it would cost a little more for me to order from Amazon now.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 06:35 PM   #22
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews777 View Post
2 sets? The Tivo page indicated 1 of each, not 2 of each.

I will note that the Amazon works great. I got that and now have resolution on my old Emerson TV. Ironically I can get more display modes with the AV only connection, but the component one looks better.

I used

Yellow -> Green
White -> Blue
Red -> Red

for using the Amazon AV cable to connect the component elements. It took some trial and error to figure that out, so hopefully this helps someone else benefits by knowing it.

This seems like another overpriced addon option from Tivo (think DVR expanders) that could have been solved by using standard items.

I do have much more cable there than I would like, but that will go back out of the way once I rearrange my setup later on.
So what about audio??
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 06:51 PM   #23
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
So what about audio??
The colors are already set up for the audio cable. Red and white for right and left audio channels.

Audio is from the connection that has the composite video output.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 07:10 PM   #24
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The colors are already set up for the audio cable. Red and white for right and left audio channels.

Audio is from the connection that has the composite video output.
Yes, but the breakout cable being used is intended for composite and so there is only 3 of them. So I'm guessing there's a 2nd breakout cable with the 2nd Mini analog output being used for audio.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 08:43 PM   #25
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Yes, but the breakout cable being used is intended for composite and so there is only 3 of them. So I'm guessing there's a 2nd breakout cable with the 2nd Mini analog output being used for audio.
There are two output ports. One provides RGB from the three RCA cables(labeled component) and the other one(labeled A/V) provides stereo audio and composite video from the three RCA cables..


__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:16 PM   #26
onovotny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
Tivo bong only on right speaker?

I had an old Tivo breakout cable from years past that seems to work with the Mini.

The colors are a bit off as White/Yellow seem to be swapped (or at least yellow is one of the audio's, dunno if it's R or L yet ).

Anyway, I have the two audio chans hooked up to my receiver's input (it's an old one w/o HDMI). For most TV channels, I get audio out of both speakers. When I'm in the Tivo menu though and clicking around, the Tivo ding/bong only comes to the right speaker though.

Also, some shows/channels appear to only have sound in the right speaker.

Any ideas? Is this normal...?
onovotny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:47 AM   #27
cuda74360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by brbrem View Post
This is the one i used. Works fine.


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._prd_ttl_sol_0
Did you use this for the component or composite output? Did the colors match up?
cuda74360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:07 PM   #28
brbrem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuda74360 View Post
Did you use this for the component or composite output? Did the colors match up?
A\V output only. Video to TV is via HDMI. I don't use the composit out.
brbrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:34 AM   #29
go470sailing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
We used a Samsung LED TV Breakout Cable to make it work. Seemed ok.
go470sailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 10:55 PM   #30
dslunceford
Registered User
 
dslunceford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: No. VA/D.C.
Posts: 4,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I bought this one and it worked fine....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Western-Digi...-/370675838597
Works great, but cable is short. Was a pita to get into my av stack, so can't take back out to measure, but I guess it's around 3' long, maybe 4'?
__________________
--Steve



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dslunceford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |