TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
View Poll Results: What is your excitement level about the Roamio? (20 day poll for initial release)
Ultra- I am going to pee in my pants 12 14.12%
Very High- These things look to be da bomb (that is good) 29 34.12%
High- Nice product specs and feedback 26 30.59%
Medium- Perhaps somewhat impressed and somewhat not. Or just "yawn" 9 10.59%
Low- Not all that excited, sorry. Could have done better 6 7.06%
Very Low- TiVo missed the mark. Very disappointed 3 3.53%
Disgusted- OMG, TiVo is totally clueless with the Roamio 0 0%
Voters: 85. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 08-22-2013, 08:40 PM   #1
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,734
Rate your Roamio Excitement

It is pretty early, and this is certainly not scientific, but let's get SOME measure about how excited people are about the Romio product lineup so far.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,880
I can't wait to get mine, very excited. My only regret is that I didn't wait another hour to see the upgrade success. If I had I might have chosen differently. Oh well, it's only money right.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Im perfectly happy with my XL4 and Premier, and TivoHD. No plans or desires to upgrade, especially when I heard they havent finished the HD GUI on this new box either.
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:46 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davelnlr_ View Post
Im perfectly happy with my XL4 and Premier, and TivoHD. No plans or desires to upgrade.
Really? With that setup you've never even experienced the benefits of multi-room streaming. At the very least you should try to catch a deal on someone selling a Premiere and upgrade the HD.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:16 PM   #5
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,520
My excitement is high. I think since I knew I was getting one either way, I didn't get super excited. The upgrade news is definitely cool assuming no issues.

Some of the future stuff sounds cool though.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:17 PM   #6
janry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 17,688
I'm happy with my HD. My wife is happy with her Premier. They both have lifetime service. I have a IOGEAR wireless HDMI that satisfies my needs for multi-room viewing. We don't travel much and are not inclined to watch much TV when we do. So, I don't think any of the Roamio features mean much to us.
janry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:43 PM   #7
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Really? With that setup you've never even experienced the benefits of multi-room streaming. At the very least you should try to catch a deal on someone selling a Premiere and upgrade the HD.
I stream all the time between the XL4 and the Premier. I use the premier in the bedroom as tuners 5 and 6, recording non-conflicting season passes. The Tivo HD is in the guest room. Want it to remain independent of my DVRs. I already have all the streaming apps I can use on a Vizio Co-Star and Sony Blu ray... So far, I dont see any compelling reason to upgrade except for speed (not an issue for me, I came from DirecTv who has the slowest DVRs in history) and drive space (dropping in a 4 tb would be cool if that pans out).
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:44 PM   #8
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 833
I replaced pee with poop LOL
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:49 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,833
My excitement is very high. Especially since reading the info that you can drop a larger drive into the Roamio and it will work.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:24 PM   #10
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,088
I like what I see. IT has me thinking about switching back from WMC. The main reason I switched away from Tivo in the first place was the Premiere UI input response was so darn sluggish.

And that seems fixed and more.


But price is a bit much considering I am happy with WMC right now.

So I will sit on the fence for now. Continue to read about the features. What exactly is available. And the real world usage cases.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:41 AM   #11
monkeydust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 469
Still a bit mad at TiVo that they didn't put a faster chip in the last model. Not much difference between the Premier line and Roamio line. Just speed really.
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:16 AM   #12
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
The Roamio base unit, perhaps.

The Roamio line includes 6 tuners and a built in Stream.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:38 AM   #13
Hi8
TiVoPro - wanabe!
 
Hi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust View Post
Still a bit mad at TiVo that they didn't put a faster chip in the last model. Not much difference between the Premier line and Roamio line. Just speed really.

I have to agree.. I suppose that if the additional streaming features bait you in to buying? I'm not sure what all the hype is all about.

I turned 60 two weeks ago, so perhaps that has something to do with it. I just bought my first Premiere a month ago, so using it with SD menus seems like a speed increase over my S3 OLEDs. That is a user needed upgrade to me.

All the other 'junk' packaged into the UI is just that to me. I use our TiVo for the same purpose we always used them for. To Record programing, skip commercials from either OTA or cable. The End.

All the 'other' search & internet apps stuff is painfully slow to navigate through, as well as the NetFilx app. I leave all that stuff for my HTPC on HDMI2. It's where I have a full wireless keyboard an mouse connected (something I never understood why TiVo didn't provide for - using a mouse to navigate around the screens instead of arrow keys!)

So I'm loving my Premiere & Mini - Maybe when I hit 65 I'll jump in the line for a Series5!

This kinda reminds me about the people that sleep overnight in line, waiting to buy the new iPhone when it's first released.

These are the good things about getting older. (takes allot more to get me excited! in more ways than one.)
__________________
~Hi8

(3) TiVo THX HD S3
(1) Roamio - Basic 3TB
(1) PremiereXL4 & (1) TiVo Mini

Last edited by Hi8 : 08-23-2013 at 06:45 AM.
Hi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:52 AM   #14
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi8 View Post
These are the good things about getting older. (takes allot more to get me excited! in more ways than one.)
Maybe you need some TiViagra?
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:04 AM   #15
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,906
Medium for me. Would have been high if not for the way they shortchanged OTA reception. My tuning adapter is not reliable so I use OTA for everything I can, about half the programming we watch. But the other half is only available on cable --- so I need both OTA and Cable tuning, which no Roamio model provides.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:47 AM   #16
Bryan Lyle
Tivo'n since 1999
 
Bryan Lyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle of Nowhere, VA
Posts: 159
My excitement is high enough that I am actually thinking of going back to cable from DirecTV.
Bryan Lyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:42 AM   #17
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust View Post
Still a bit mad at TiVo that they didn't put a faster chip in the last model. Not much difference between the Premier line and Roamio line. Just speed really.
Well first Premiere was only 2 tuners if I remember right. So compared to day-1 Premiere launch there are 4 more tuners, more space, faster, and improved software all around plus streaming built-in and gigabit ethernet ........
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:10 PM   #18
dolcevita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 275
Mixed here...Medium to Low. And I am an early adopter and longtime Tivo evangelist. But this Tivo may added these features a little too late for me to get excited, because I have already changed my usage patterns.

I went OTA 2 years ago and the shows that are not available via OTA (mostly on USA Channel), I buy by the season from Apple or Amazon Prime. Both of these services give me the flexibility of watching on my Ipad or laptop when I'm traveling (which is often) - so I don't need Stream. I only spend about $100 a year - maximum -buying those shows. Multi-room streaming is of no interest to me.

It just seems that for the price of the Roamio basic plus lifetime service ($600) or even just the cost of the Roamio ($200), I can buy a LOT of shows....

Last edited by dolcevita : 08-23-2013 at 06:16 PM.
dolcevita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:38 PM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,880
What do you use now to record OTA? And how do you watch them on your iPad?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:00 AM   #20
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolcevita View Post
Mixed here...Medium to Low. And I am an early adopter and longtime Tivo evangelist. But this Tivo may added these features a little too late for me to get excited, because I have already changed my usage patterns.

I went OTA 2 years ago and the shows that are not available via OTA (mostly on USA Channel), I buy by the season from Apple or Amazon Prime. Both of these services give me the flexibility of watching on my Ipad or laptop when I'm traveling (which is often) - so I don't need Stream. I only spend about $100 a year - maximum -buying those shows. Multi-room streaming is of no interest to me.

It just seems that for the price of the Roamio basic plus lifetime service ($600) or even just the cost of the Roamio ($200), I can buy a LOT of shows....
As long as you can buy all the shows you want to watch then it is a good deal. But that is not the case with alot of shows. I can't buy all the shows I watch and of the shows I can purchase the cost would be very high for me over the course of the year at $2 to $3 an episode
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:30 AM   #21
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Now that I have a Roamio basic in service, my excitement has increased. I really like the facelift on the interface. Granted, part of my joy is the improved picture from HDMI from previous component cables. It didn't expect the quality to be so noticeably improved. I like that the basic is small since it will need to share space in the cabinet with a 2-3 TB drive eventually.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:39 AM   #22
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
Now that I have a Roamio basic in service, my excitement has increased. I really like the facelift on the interface. Granted, part of my joy is the improved picture from HDMI from previous component cables. It didn't expect the quality to be so noticeably improved. I like that the basic is small since it will need to share space in the cabinet with a 2-3 TB drive eventually.
Why would you not just upgrade the internal HDD to 2TB since it appears to be an easy upgrade?
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:08 AM   #23
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post

Why would you not just upgrade the internal HDD to 2TB since it appears to be an easy upgrade?
The 3 year warranty -- wouldn't an upgrade void that?

A 1 TB WD external drive is working well on my Premiere. I might just move it to the Roamio since after 1 year I'm using less than 30%.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Beryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:11 AM   #24
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beryl View Post
The 3 year warranty -- wouldn't an upgrade void that?

A 1 TB WD external drive is working well on my Premiere. I might just move it to the Roamio since after 1 year I'm using less than 30%.
Yes, an upgrade could void your 3yr warranty, several posters here have claimed to not have any issues though. But if you kept the original HDD and reinstalled it prior to contacting TiVo for an RMA, you should be fine IMO.

I also would never use an external HDD that was over 3 yrs old and running 24/7, not a good idea.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:19 AM   #25
dolcevita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
What do you use now to record OTA? And how do you watch them on your iPad?
My lifetimed HD. I used to transfer to my laptop using Tivo Desktop, but honestly haven't bothered in ages. Most of my favorite shows are on USA Network,,so I just buy the season and watch wherever. The shows being recorded on my Tivo wait until I'm home. Then again, since weekly travel limits your free time, I most likely watch a lot less tv than most people...
dolcevita is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |