TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2013, 10:35 PM   #1
mjp5150
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 2
TiVo Noob - Signal Strength / Tuning Adapter Issue

I'm brand new to the Tivo world, and hooked up my Roamio Plus tonight. We are with Time Warner in Dallas, so I have the Motorola cable card and tuning adapter.

The guided set-up for the Tivo went fine and pairing the cable card went smoothly when I called TWC's cable card line. The one hiccup that has come up is with the tuning adapter. The tech sent a couple hits to the TA which did not seem to help as the light is still blinking. The tech suggested that the signal strength to the TA was low and was keeping the TA from picking up the signal. He suggested getting a cable signal amplifier from radio shack first before rolling a truck to our home to check the signal from the outside box.

I have seen other posts related to signal boosters to help with picture quality, but didn't see anything related to helping the TA directly. I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this that they could share?

Also, we are currently only able to get 4 of the tuners to record. The tech felt that once the TA was working the other two tuners would work as expected. I was also wondering if this is accurate.

I will say I have really liked what I have seen so far in playing with the channels we do have. I'm just hoping this hiccup can be resolved otherwise it'll be a deal breaker for us.

Thanks in advance for any information.
mjp5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:24 AM   #2
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
check the 'tuners 5 and 6 not authorized' thread in the roamio forum area.

Most of the people are having issues with old firmware on sa/cisco cards, but the motorola also has a minimum firmware level that is needed. It is also possible that your TA will only work with 4 streams at a time.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |