TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-05-2013, 12:57 PM   #1
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 415
Mini Mount

Just mounted my Minis to the back of my TV's. I love the look of not having any boxes on the dressers!
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:01 PM   #2
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmedic View Post
Just mounted my Minis to the back of my TV's. I love the look of not having any boxes on the dressers!
Did you order the mount from Tivo.com or use something different?
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:13 PM   #3
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
I was going to ask what did you do about an IR repeater, but it looks like the mount from tivo includes a usb IR repeater.

https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/ir-adapter-wall

If you used something else, please let us know.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:17 PM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
I just hung mine off a single screw in the VESA mount point on the back of the TV. It's not straight, of course, but I can't see it so it doesn't matter. Haven't needed an IR extender as it seems to work just fine as it is (enough space around the TV for the signal to get through I guess).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:13 PM   #5
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 415
I got the TiVo mounts from TiVo.com (included the IR extender). Like windracer, I also mounted them off a single VESA point on the back of the TV.
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:45 PM   #6
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
To clarify, I didn't get the mounts from TiVo. I just put an M4 screw into one of the VESA holes on the back of my TV and used the built-in holes on the bottom of the Mini to hang it on that screw.

If you bought the mount, wouldn't you connect all four screws?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:40 PM   #7
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
To clarify, I didn't get the mounts from TiVo. I just put an M4 screw into one of the VESA holes on the back of my TV and used the built-in holes on the bottom of the Mini to hang it on that screw.

If you bought the mount, wouldn't you connect all four screws?
No, the screws don't line up for all mounts.
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:12 AM   #8
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
Oh, I thought the point of buying one of those mounts was to make it VESA compliant. But looking at wikipedia now I see there are different VESA specs for the rear mounting.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:53 AM   #9
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Ho would you put the mount on if you had the TV on a wall mount already? Wouldn't they want the same screws, at least in theory?
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:27 PM   #10
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,937
I was not aware this was available from TiVo.com.
Ordered.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:42 PM   #11
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews777 View Post
Ho would you put the mount on if you had the TV on a wall mount already? Wouldn't they want the same screws, at least in theory?
Yep ... you'd have to mount the Mini on the wall or something in that case.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:45 PM   #12
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Does anyone know if any IR extender will work or if we have to buy the Tivo one?

I wish they would offer the option to order through Amazon, especially if they could work out something with Prime. That would make it MUCH more convenient for me!

I didn't see anything on Amazon from Weaknees on these parts, but perhaps I should check that. They do sell other things on Amazon.
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 09:20 PM   #13
Fist of Death
Bon Vivant
 
Fist of Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Emerald City
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by supasta View Post
I was not aware this was available from TiVo.com.
Ordered.
What he said. Ordered. BTW - I checked Amazon.com and no joy.
__________________
Roamio Pro TiVo
TiVo Mini (2)
Fist of Death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:17 AM   #14
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 415
I'm wanting to mount my 19" TV to the side of my desk on an extension arm (so I can fold it away when not in use).

Does anyone have any recommendations for good mounts? I ordered one from Ergomart, but that thing weighs 20 pounds (the TV only weighs 5).
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:37 PM   #15
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmedic View Post
I'm wanting to mount my 19" TV to the side of my desk on an extension arm (so I can fold it away when not in use).

Does anyone have any recommendations for good mounts? I ordered one from Ergomart, but that thing weighs 20 pounds (the TV only weighs 5).
This works great. I've been using it for a few years now (my old job and then at home)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The little plastic clips for cable management are useless. Use your own zip ties or velcro straps.

Ergotron also has a few others mounts that are good.
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 11:01 AM   #16
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by supasta View Post
I was not aware this was available from TiVo.com.
Ordered.
UPS dropped it off this morning, and I just finished the install. Very nice piece of kit.

The Mini works fine without the IR adapter (PM me if interested.)
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #17
HDRyder9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 109
The HP IR repeater designed for Windows Media Center works well on the Tivo mini.
HDRyder9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:12 PM   #18
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Here's to hoping that Amazon picks some of these accessories up. Shipping is on the high side for this kind of item.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 12:14 PM   #19
mdartic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philly
Posts: 10
I haven't seen the inside of the mini, but is heat an issue? And I don't mean heat from the mini, but I was thinking of mounting it behind my plasma which can get quite hot.
mdartic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 07:06 AM   #20
DeltaOne
Mount Airy, MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 143
Yesterday I mounted the Mini in our bedroom on the wall behind the TV. The TV is mounted in the corner, up near the ceiling and angled toward the bed, so there's plenty of room behind the TV.

I wasn't sure how I was going to mount the Mini -- but a close inspection revealed two screw-mount holes. I made a template from a sheet of paper, installed two wall-anchors in the drywall -- and the Mini fit perfectly. Nice clean look -- I love it!
DeltaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 10:43 AM   #21
andrews777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 201
Has anyone tried the picture hanging "tape" stuff? How does that work?
__________________
--------

Roamio, 3 Minis
andrews777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 09:28 PM   #22
nws alpine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 46
Just get some industrial strength velcro from the hardware store.

My Mini is behind my TV pointing up to the ceiling and gets IR fine with no extender. I will move the Roamio RF remote over anyways when I get the Slide Pro.
nws alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |