TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-05-2013, 05:05 PM   #1
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
TiVoToGo transfers are FAST!

I just grabbed a couple of videos off my Roamio Pro for testing (just verifying there are no issues with VideoReDo) and man this thing hauls! The TS held at around 11.2MB/sec, which is 89.6Mbps. I only have a 10/100 network, with a MoCa bridge in the middle, so that's pretty much maxed out for my network.

Even the PS file was holding around 10.3MB/sec which is faster then a TS from my Elite. (~7.2MB/sec)

I should test iPad downloads through the Stream and see if those are any faster.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,510
On Gb ethernet last I tested it was ~ 120 Mbps transfer speeds for TS files, so I figure the limiting factor is probably my oldish laptop I/O, not the Roamio.

Stream downloads will probably be limited by transcoding speed so probably won't be any faster (in fact likely a little slower) than a standalone stream I would imagine.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:41 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Stream downloads will probably be limited by transcoding speed so probably won't be any faster (in fact likely a little slower) than a standalone stream I would imagine.
Why do you think the internal stream would be slower then a standalone Stream? I was under the impression they used the exact same hardware. And with the TiVo and stream hardware connected via some sort of internal (Gigabit?) switch it seems like if there was any difference it would favor the internal stream. Do you have some other insight?

I still have a standalone Stream so I may run some tests and see if there are in fact any difference between the two or between downloading from a Premiere vs a Roamio.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:59 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,510
It's just speculation that if the internal stream leverages any shared resources from Roamio hardware then that may slow things down compared to a standalone stream that has all resources dedicated to one function. I know most of the work is done in dedicated hardware, but figure with internal stream there must be some shared resources that may slow things down a little compared to standalone.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:00 PM   #5
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I just grabbed a couple of videos off my Roamio Pro for testing (just verifying there are no issues with VideoReDo) and man this thing hauls! The TS held at around 11.2MB/sec, which is 89.6Mbps. I only have a 10/100 network, with a MoCa bridge in the middle, so that's pretty much maxed out for my network.

Even the PS file was holding around 10.3MB/sec which is faster then a TS from my Elite. (~7.2MB/sec)

I should test iPad downloads through the Stream and see if those are any faster.
So this is a transfer from the Stream in the Roamio? If so then the Stream must be limiting the speed. When just transferring a recorded show over the network to a PC I'm getting 190Mb/s(23.75 MB/s) transfer speeds with a gigabit connection. As shown in the transfer history of my Romaio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:02 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So this is a transfer from the Stream in the Roamio? If so then the Stream must be limiting the speed. When just transferring a recorded show over the network to a PC I'm getting 190Mb/s transfer speeds with a gigabit connection.
No, he was talking about straight up TTG, not stream. Since I clocked in around 120 Mbps the limiting factor is my laptop by the looks of it, not the Roamio, as I suspected would be the case.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:03 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
It's just speculation that if the internal stream leverages any shared resources from Roamio hardware then that may slow things down compared to a standalone stream that has all resources dedicated to one function. I know most of the work is done in dedicated hardware, but figure with internal stream there must be some shared resources that may slow things down a little compared to standalone.
I hadn't thought about that. Because of the way it has it's own IP address on the network I assumed it was basically the same hardware as the standalone Stream just soldered onto the TiVo's mobo and attached to some internal switch. But if they do share resources of any kind then you're right, it might be slower.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:05 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I hadn't thought about that. Because of the way it has it's own IP address on the network I assumed it was basically the same hardware as the standalone Stream just soldered onto the TiVo's mobo and attached to some internal switch. But if they do share resources of any kind then you're right, it might be slower.
How fast will a regular stream transfer a show? Or for that matter the Stream in the Plus/Pro? I really wish they would hurry up and get Android support.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:55 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
I just reassessed my network and actually all the switches between my TiVo and my PC are gigabit. The weak link is the Actiontec MoCa adapter. Even though MoCa is technically capable of up to 270Mbps for some reason the Ethernet port on the adapter is only 10/100. That seems like a stupid oversight on their part.

Does anyone know of a MoCa adapter with a gigabit port on it?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:22 PM   #10
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
How fast will a regular stream transfer a show? Or for that matter the Stream in the Plus/Pro? I really wish they would hurry up and get Android support.
Just for shoots and giggles I ran a Stream vs. Roamio Plus test.

1 hour HD program (6.35GB) transcoded at Best quality.

Stream: 26 minutes
Plus: Just under 21 minutes

The Plus transcode was actually a bit faster. Go figure.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:32 PM   #11
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I just reassessed my network and actually all the switches between my TiVo and my PC are gigabit. The weak link is the Actiontec MoCa adapter. Even though MoCa is technically capable of up to 270Mbps for some reason the Ethernet port on the adapter is only 10/100. That seems like a stupid oversight on their part.

Does anyone know of a MoCa adapter with a gigabit port on it?
My Dlink MoCA adapters also have a 10/100 Ethernet port on them. The Netgear ones do also.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:33 PM   #12
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Just for shoots and giggles I ran a Stream vs. Roamio Plus test.

1 hour HD program (6.35GB) transcoded at Best quality.

Stream: 26 minutes
Plus: Just under 21 minutes

The Plus transcode was actually a bit faster. Go figure.
That sounds like great news. Another plus to having the Stream capabilities built in.

Now if I could just use the Stream capabilities with my Android devices.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:39 PM   #13
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I just reassessed my network and actually all the switches between my TiVo and my PC are gigabit. The weak link is the Actiontec MoCa adapter. Even though MoCa is technically capable of up to 270Mbps for some reason the Ethernet port on the adapter is only 10/100. That seems like a stupid oversight on their part.

Does anyone know of a MoCa adapter with a gigabit port on it?
The new Verizon Actiontec Wireless N routers have gigabit ports. You might be able to find one on ebay.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |