TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2013, 06:21 AM   #1
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,268
Is TiVo's Website an indication of the future of TiVo?

I just went to look at my account. It took a long, long time to load after sign-in and accessing my account. A few minutes later, I returned to tivo.com and again, it took forever to let me in to my account. Very frustrating.

When I got on the site, they came up with a survey request about their website. I was primed to tell them about the lengthy loading. Sadly, that site still hasn't loaded, just keeps spinning. So, I came here to complain.

Can a technology company that lacks the ability to have an up-to-the-minute technologically advanced website have a future? Or is it part of a downward spiral?

I love me my TiVos, but that's because ten years ago, TiVo was leading edge of this technology, but they seem to have been lost for the past several years. And they don't seem to be going anywhere but more pricey. Or is it just me?
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:56 AM   #2
SullyND
L:27-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,637
Sounds like you have a computer and/or browser problem. TiVo shouldn't have to fix your computer for you. The website loads fine for me.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:56 AM   #3
farmermac
Super user
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
I've never had a speed issue on their site. TiVo has so many dvr patents they can't really go out of business :-)

I know there's not another dvr that's any better then my TiVo.
__________________
TiVo HD XL 2tb PLS
TiVo Premiere 4 2tb PLS
farmermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:13 AM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,820
In almost all cases I've seen, the "survey" is shelled to an outside company/website
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:57 AM   #5
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,576
Their website has serious issues. I tried to order online from them, and it failed several times, ended up making duplicate accounts in the process, and I had to straighten it out over the phone.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:42 AM   #6
shadowplay0918
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 28
Something is off with their site, couldn't get on 5 minutes ago but can now..
shadowplay0918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:56 AM   #7
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Yea, no other website has ever had technological issues before. Tivo is dead!
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:25 AM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowplay0918 View Post
Something is off with their site, couldn't get on 5 minutes ago but can now..
I have Comcast Blast and a I7 computer with download speeds that I can measure at over 50Mb/sec with the peak up to 100Mb/sec and the TiVo web sight is SLOW, most web sights load so fast that I never think about how long it takes including this one, but go to TiVo.com and it takes 20 or so sec. to load, (just tried the sight now and it took 24 sec to load, 9 sec more to go to my DVR preferences). TiVo may just want to save money on the web sight servicers, but when I go the their sight in one tab I then go to the NYT tab and read the news as TiVo tries to load.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:46 AM   #9
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I have Comcast Blast and a I7 computer with download speeds that I can measure at over 50Mb/sec with the peak up to 100Mb/sec and the TiVo web sight is SLOW, most web sights load so fast that I never think about how long it takes including this one, but go to TiVo.com and it takes 20 or so sec. to load, (just tried the sight now and it took 24 sec to load, 9 sec more to go to my DVR preferences). TiVo may just want to save money on the web sight servicers, but when I go the their sight in one tab I then go to the NYT tab and read the news as TiVo tries to load.
It took 3 seconds for the site to load for me and I just have Comcast's normal internet, nothing special.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 01:45 PM   #10
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,842
I just tried the site loaded very fast until I logged in then everything slowed down. Logged back out and it sped up again.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #11
waterchange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 110
I always thought the Tivo website was slow. Just clicking the 'sign in' button and counting off in my head, it takes 3 to 5 seconds to load. Same for being on any tab and then clicking on the "My Tivo" tab. Not horrible but slower than it should be to make it noticeable to me.
waterchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #12
shadowplay0918
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowplay0918 View Post
Something is off with their site, couldn't get on 5 minutes ago but can now..
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I have Comcast Blast and a I7 computer with download speeds that I can measure at over 50Mb/sec with the peak up to 100Mb/sec and the TiVo web sight is SLOW, most web sights load so fast that I never think about how long it takes including this one, but go to TiVo.com and it takes 20 or so sec. to load, (just tried the sight now and it took 24 sec to load, 9 sec more to go to my DVR preferences). TiVo may just want to save money on the web sight servicers, but when I go the their sight in one tab I then go to the NYT tab and read the news as TiVo tries to load.
No, it was down when I 1st tried to log in the slow when I did get in (I know the difference ).

That being said I agree with others who say it says very little (if anything) about Tivo as a company...
shadowplay0918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:22 AM   #13
Davisadm
TiVo is Back!!!!!!!!
 
Davisadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 226
TiVo's web site is fast as ever for me.
Davisadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:38 AM   #14
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,953
I just looked at their site and it seems to work fine today.

Sounds like that you may have encountered a connectivity issue. That issue could have several possible causes between your ISP and TiVo's hosting servers.

Either way, it happens from time to time, even to the best sites.

I do not think it is at all representative of "...the future of TiVo"
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:24 PM   #15
SeaFractor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
It's not an indication of the future of Tivo. It's instead a super amazing demonstration of running their website from a Tivo Premiere. The lag is due to the second core not being used correctly with this version of the Web Server software.

When they run the site off a series 5, it'll be so much faster.


SeaFractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:26 PM   #16
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I have Comcast Blast and a I7 computer with download speeds that I can measure at over 50Mb/sec with the peak up to 100Mb/sec and the TiVo web sight is SLOW, most web sights load so fast that I never think about how long it takes including this one, but go to TiVo.com and it takes 20 or so sec. to load, (just tried the sight now and it took 24 sec to load, 9 sec more to go to my DVR preferences). TiVo may just want to save money on the web sight servicers, but when I go the their sight in one tab I then go to the NYT tab and read the news as TiVo tries to load.
The word is SITE, not SIGHT, in this context.

Yes, it makes me want to doubt everything else you say.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:36 AM   #17
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmermac View Post
I've never had a speed issue on their site. TiVo has so many dvr patents they can't really go out of business :-)

I know there's not another dvr that's any better then my TiVo.
I've always had speed issues from the TiVo.com site when logging in. Whether from FiOS, Comcast, at work, T-Mobile, Verizon wireless, Verizon DSL, or any WiFi Hotspot. From numerous devices and PC's. It has always been very slow for me when logging in.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:35 PM   #18
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaFractor View Post
It's not an indication of the future of Tivo. It's instead a super amazing demonstration of running their website from a Tivo Premiere. The lag is due to the second core not being used correctly with this version of the Web Server software.

When they run the site off a series 5, it'll be so much faster.

But the Series 5 is coming in the fall (of what year?), and then it will take 2 more years to move the website over, so we shouldn't complain just yet.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:12 PM   #19
dmbpj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 61
What a ****ing joke the TiVo.com website is. I think I am done with TiVo for good.
dmbpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:12 PM   #20
dmbpj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 61
The site couldn't run slower
dmbpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:30 PM   #21
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbpj View Post
The site couldn't run slower
Actually I'm sure it could, but I have no intention of asking them to do that.


__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:33 PM   #22
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,034
always slow for me but this week takes the cake.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 04:00 PM   #23
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbpj View Post
The site couldn't run slower
Yes it can. And it has run slower in the past.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |