TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-03-2013, 01:23 AM   #391
scottvf
Registered User
 
scottvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
First off select the option that says it uses a different button for on and off. On the next screen pick the one that says I don't have the original remote but I know the command. In that drop down select TiVo for on and there should be an options for Standby that you can select for off.
There is no standby command that harmony shows.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivo buttons002.jpg (18.4 KB, 42 views)
scottvf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 01:31 AM   #392
scottvf
Registered User
 
scottvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Be nice it the Roamio would be able to stream video from pc like a media steamer.
I use Dune HD Prime 3.0 right now to stream .mkv, avi, iso, ect files.
I would like to just be able to use the tivo instead of having both.
scottvf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:14 AM   #393
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvf View Post
There is no standby command that harmony shows.
Well a standby button never actually existed on a real TiVo remote. But long ago, in the days of the Pronto, someone discovered the hex code for it. For a long time I actually hosted a page on my website with these hex codes. (just stumbled across a link to my old site) I have taken the site down, but I was able to dig up the page from my backup. Here is the list of codes...

Code:
0 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0156 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 003f 0015 06e2 0155 0054 0015 0e53
	
1 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0154 00ac 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 06b7 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
2 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0155 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 06b7 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
3 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0155 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 068b 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
4 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0155 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 06b7 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
5 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0155 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 068b 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
6 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0156 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 068b 0155 0055 0015 0e53
	
7 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0154 00ac 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 0661 0154 0055 0015 0e53
	
8 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0154 00ac 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 003f 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 06b7 0155 0055 0015 0e54
	
9 - 0000 006d 0022 0002 0155 00ab 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0014 0016 003f 0015 0015 0016 003f 0015 0040 0016 0014 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 0014 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0014 0015 0040 0015 003f 0015 068b 0155 0055 0015 0e53
The number before the dash is the TiVo remote code. Only copy the part after the dash. If you only have one TiVo then just use 0, if you have multiple TiVos then you'll need to use the one that corresponds to the code for the TiVo you're setting this up for.

Now apparently the way to enter these codes is to first log in to http://members.harmonyremote.com/ then go to this page http://members.harmonyremote.com/Eas...owInfrared.asp from there you can convert the Pronto code above into a command for your remote.

I've never actually attempted this, but according to the instructions I found it should work
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:25 AM   #394
scottvf
Registered User
 
scottvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Well a standby button never actually existed on a real TiVo remote. But long ago, in the days of the Pronto, someone discovered the hex code for it. For a long time I actually hosted a page on my website with these hex codes. (just stumbled across a link to my old site) I have taken the site down, but I was able to dig up the page from my backup. Here is the list of codes...



The number before the dash is the TiVo remote code. Only copy the part after the dash. If you only have one TiVo then just use 0, if you have multiple TiVos then you'll need to use the one that corresponds to the code for the TiVo you're setting this up for.

Now apparently the way to enter these codes is to first log in to http://members.harmonyremote.com/ then go to this page http://members.harmonyremote.com/Eas...owInfrared.asp from there you can convert the Pronto code above into a command for your remote.

I've never actually attempted this, but according to the instructions I found it should work
Thanks a lot, it worked. Your a life saver!!!
Now I can also learn my Universal remote control for the 1 button standby from my logitech.
I wish tivo would just put that button on the remote, would of saved a lot of headache and time finding the hack for it.

Wonder if there's a hack to turn off the always running hard drives when not recording a show. I never watch live tv, so I don't need it recording from all the tuners 24/7.
scottvf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:19 AM   #395
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
I don't know why anyone would even care about standby.
same. i'll never understand the power obsessed...... you might save $1.20 a month.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:44 AM   #396
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
same. i'll never understand the power obsessed...... you might save $1.20 a month.
Well I can not understand most of what people get excited about, but that is what makes life interesting. In the "TiVo" area I don't get being excited about why TiVo charges service fees or what the fees are for. I only worry about how much they are and if I find the price acceptable or not.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:11 AM   #397
scottvf
Registered User
 
scottvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
same. i'll never understand the power obsessed...... you might save $1.20 a month.
I don't give a crap about power, I leave a bunch of stuff on all day and night. (my computer, lights, ect)
The reason I want to put tivo on standby is so my dvdo edge and reciver turns off automatically. And the reason I would like my tivo to stop recording on the hard drives when not in use is so they last longer. Nothing worse then losing all your shows you recorded because a hard drive failed.

Why don't you think before you assume something!!!
scottvf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:14 AM   #398
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvf View Post
I don't give a crap about power, I leave a bunch of stuff on all day and night. (my computer, lights, ect)
The reason I want to put tivo on standby is so my dvdo edge and reciver turns off automatically. And the reason I would like my tivo to stop recording on the hard drives when not in use is so they last longer. Nothing worse then losing all your shows you recorded because a hard drive failed.

Why don't you think before you assume something!!!

Also not to mention the fact that if you found a variety of ways to save $1.20 on your bill then it would add up.
abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 11:24 AM   #399
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvf View Post
I don't give a crap about power, I leave a bunch of stuff on all day and night. (my computer, lights, ect)
The reason I want to put tivo on standby is so my dvdo edge and reciver turns off automatically. And the reason I would like my tivo to stop recording on the hard drives when not in use is so they last longer. Nothing worse then losing all your shows you recorded because a hard drive failed.

Why don't you think before you assume something!!!
uh, settle down. That's why most people go on standby. And hard drives run better longer without cold boots every day. And yes I'm a tech support person.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:08 PM   #400
bodosom
Just another tivotee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Niagara frontier
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvf View Post
the reason I would like my tivo to stop recording on the hard drives when not in use is so they last longer.
People used to recomend tuning to channels with no signal which stopped live buffering. However I've not seen an AV drive specific failure analysis which suggests head crashes or seek actuator failures, as opposed to main bearing failures, dominate failure modes. Absent that minimizing recording is probably not a significant win.
__________________
TWC Rochester NY service area.
bodosom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:20 PM   #401
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvf View Post
.............. And the reason I would like my tivo to stop recording on the hard drives when not in use is so they last longer. Nothing worse then losing all your shows you recorded because a hard drive failed.

............
But what does last longer mean? How do you know it will last longer. My GFs two S3 boxes has two Hitachi, 5 platter, 1 TB drives in them. They have been running 24/7/365 for over around 6.5 years now with no issues.

If the drives had been spinning up and down during this time I'm 100% sure that they would still be working.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:44 PM   #402
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 48,516
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
If the drives had been spinning up and down during this time I'm 100% sure that they would still be working.
...not...


__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:34 PM   #403
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
uh, settle down. That's why most people go on standby. And hard drives run better longer without cold boots every day. And yes I'm a tech support person.
First TiVo standby does not turn off the hard drive

I have been power off my TiVo for about 12 hours a day for years and never had any problem, I put my computer to sleep (that does turn off the hard drive) 2 to 5 times a day for many years and never had a hard drive go bad, friends of mine who leave their computers on 24/7 have hard drive go in 3 to 5 years. The new 2013 CTS-V SEDAN has a hard drive in it that goes off when you turn the car off, in the old days cold booting of hard drives may have had an effect on lifetime but IMHO drives in the last five years have more bearings go bad than most anything else and that caused by use.
People differ on this subject and you all can do as you want with turning power off on your hard drives.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 1 Mini, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:01 PM   #404
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by dswallow View Post

...not...


I meant to put that they might not be working. What I was thinking was not what I ended up typing.
Although I do trust a drive that has been constantly spinning for years over one that has seen a lot of stop/start cycles.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 09-03-2013 at 04:24 PM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:21 PM   #405
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
I saw the bit about the Tivo's scaler. Do you think that one would work better than my receiver's (last year's Denon model 2113CI) or TV's (Panasonic 55ST50) scaler?
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:24 PM   #406
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
The order that ends up on destination TiVo is the order in which you copied the SPs, so if you copied them out of order with respect to original TiVo(s) that would explain it. Otherwise, order is preserved.
If I've got 2 Premiere's that I want to combine Season Passes to one Roamio, would Kmttg work for that? Would the second set of season passes overwrite the first transfer or append additional season passes? Also, what would happen if I have a few season passes that are duplicated (i.e. on both premieres)

Thanks for your help and for creating/working on some really great software.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:36 PM   #407
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
If I've got 2 Premiere's that I want to combine Season Passes to one Roamio, would Kmttg work for that? Would the second set of season passes overwrite the first transfer or append additional season passes? Also, what would happen if I have a few season passes that are duplicated (i.e. on both premieres)

Thanks for your help and for creating/working on some really great software.
Yes you can combine SPs from multiple sources. You save SP for each source TiVo, then switch to destination TiVo and load the save SP files 1 by 1 and select SPs in the table you want to copy over. The order in which you copy SPs over determines the priority they will get - 1st copied get highest priority. kmttg will check for duplicate SP before attempting to add each one, so automatically avoids duplicates.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:25 PM   #408
NYHeel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Yes you can combine SPs from multiple sources. You save SP for each source TiVo, then switch to destination TiVo and load the save SP files 1 by 1 and select SPs in the table you want to copy over. The order in which you copy SPs over determines the priority they will get - 1st copied get highest priority. kmttg will check for duplicate SP before attempting to add each one, so automatically avoids duplicates.
That sounds great, thanks. I haven't updated kmttg in awhile (about 2 years). Hopefully the version I have already has season pass backups in there.
NYHeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:54 PM   #409
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
If the drives had been spinning up and down during this time I'm 100% sure that they would still be working.
I bet they wouldn't. Powering them up and down several hundred times a year with 100% cooldown is likely to make them less reliable.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:55 PM   #410
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I have been power[ing] off my TiVo for about 12 hours a day for years and never had any problem.
And some people smoke two packs a day and live to 100....
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:58 PM   #411
apw2607
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
I saw the bit about the Tivo's scaler. Do you think that one would work better than my receiver's (last year's Denon model 2113CI) or TV's (Panasonic 55ST50) scaler?
Try it and see what you prefer. I can say Roamio is way better than the premier ever was for scaling/forced resolution.

Generally speaking, if you set tivo to fixed resolution out then channel changing should be faster since no HDMI display/tivo handshake needed on channel change .. Or in your case hdmi tivo/AVR handshake
apw2607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:00 PM   #412
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
I saw the bit about the Tivo's scaler. Do you think that one would work better than my receiver's (last year's Denon model 2113CI) or TV's (Panasonic 55ST50) scaler?
I would doubt that the TiVo scaler is on par with a good external scaler. My Onkyo 818 makes use of the HQV Vida VHD1900 and I would really doubt that what TiVo puts in the Roamio can match that.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #413
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYHeel View Post
That sounds great, thanks. I haven't updated kmttg in awhile (about 2 years). Hopefully the version I have already has season pass backups in there.
Doubtful, you should update to latest. Once you do you can then update automatically to latest version now from Help menu without having to download or install anything manually.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:53 PM   #414
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
I bet they wouldn't. Powering them up and down several hundred times a year with 100% cooldown is likely to make them less reliable.
I messed up on my post. My thought was they would be less reliable with with alot of spinup and spin down cycles. But what I typed was not what I was thinking at the time.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:57 PM   #415
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,649
Stupid UPS is taking forever to deliver my Roamio.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:35 PM   #416
Devx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Stupid UPS is taking forever to deliver my Roamio.
Too late now but if your company allows (or you know someone in the mail room/dock/receptionist, etc.) you can have packages delivered there instead if you feel its secure. UPS and FedEx typically deliver much earlier to businesses.
__________________
Roamio Pro
Roamio Plus (3TB)
Premiere Elite/XL4
THD 2TB x 2
Humax S2 300GB (retired)
Devx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:45 PM   #417
scottvf
Registered User
 
scottvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
uh, settle down. That's why most people go on standby. And hard drives run better longer without cold boots every day. And yes I'm a tech support person.
You must be one of those tech support guys that don't have a clue when I call them about something.
I've been building and into computers since 1979. When your always writing to a hard drive it won't last as long as opposed to it idling. I still have hard drives that are over 20 years old that still work. (course there very small drives, I have one with 13mb on it) I usually replace my hd in my computer because of size rather then it failing and I always have my hd in my pc idle rather then writing on it all the time. And If tivo ever fails it usually going to be because of the hard drive failing. My old tivo's hard drive failed after 3 years. I had to replace the drive in it so I can still have my lifetime subscription (since it goes with the unit not the hd).
scottvf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:53 PM   #418
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 973
I have Tivo series 2 and Replay TV running since 2002, on 24/7, no hard drive failures.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:23 PM   #419
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
I have Tivo series 2 and Replay TV running since 2002, on 24/7, no hard drive failures.
I have a 50 year old tree in my yard...
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:35 PM   #420
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxssi View Post
I have a 50 year old tree in my yard...

__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |