TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-01-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Very strange issue with a few channels

I'm with Bright House in SE Michigan which is SDV. That said, I have a brand new Roamio Pro and Mini over gigabit ethernet. After going through all of my channels, I noticed 7 that tune and play perfectly on my Roamio, however they will not stream to my Mini or record properly. If I attempt to play these recordings back on either the Roamio or Mini, it's just a black screen. These are regular non premium channels:

224 - Fox News
270 - National Geographic Channel
286 - Fox Sports Detroit Plus
288 - Fox Sports 1
321 - Nat Geo Wild
322 - Fox Business
368 - Fox Soccer

TiVo has no idea nor do I as to why the Roamio can tune these channels fine but can't stream or record them correctly. By the way, signal levels are great at around 80-85 with 35 SNR and 0 RS Corrected/Uncorrected errors. I was using this same Cablecard/TA with my XL4 and these channels recorded/played back fine, so I'm confident my Cablecard/TA are ok.

Any ideas?
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
Do the channels buffer properly if you tune them and leave them for a little while? Can you then backup into the buffer?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 05:54 PM   #3
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Do the channels buffer properly if you tune them and leave them for a little while? Can you then backup into the buffer?
Great question Dan, and after testing each problem channel I can confirm that the buffer is not functioning correctly. It does however function correctly for every other channel outside of these 7. Any ideas what could be causing this?

Thanks so much!
Chuck
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:15 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,258
No unfortunately I do not, but this guy seems to be having the same issue...

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=508353
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:20 PM   #5
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
No unfortunately I do not, but this guy seems to be having the same issue...

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=508353
Thanks so much Dan for referring me to this post as it would appear we have the exact same problem... I always seem to be the one with these obscure issues - LOL...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |