TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-31-2013, 05:35 AM   #1
miller890
Member
 
miller890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 345
Picture quality on 60" plus displays

I notice a slight picture improvement with the Roamio over the S3, but maybe that is my imagination. The dell 50" is starting to act up and I am planning on replacing it. My question is can I go too big? I have a large room that I am considering a Panasonic plasma ST60 60-65". Will broadcast (comcast) HD quality suffer if I go 65"?
__________________
TiVo
Roamio Pro
w/LT | Premier Elite w/LT | Roamio Basic w/msd | Mini w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | S2DT 1TB retired| S2-140 retired | Stream
Comcast, all wired to 1GB
miller890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 07:23 AM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,430
I use an 82" DLP at 9 feet away. Broadcast can sometimes look like crap but over all it's fine. I use a DVDO DUO and a Darbee Darblet in my system. I used to use an Algolith Flea which worked well with broadcast sources since it reduced the noise a little. So I do notice the noise a little more since I used the FLea for six years until recently. But I don't think 65" is any problem. At least not with a properly calibrated picture.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 07:35 AM   #3
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 260
The PQ of the Roamio on OTA and Amazon VOD is quite good IMO.

65" tv here.
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:03 AM   #4
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller890 View Post
I notice a slight picture improvement with the Roamio over the S3, but maybe that is my imagination. The dell 50" is starting to act up and I am planning on replacing it. My question is can I go too big? I have a large room that I am considering a Panasonic plasma ST60 60-65". Will broadcast (comcast) HD quality suffer if I go 65"?
There is no difference in quality of the VIDEO picture. The menu system, however, is much improved on the Roamio, mostly due to the smaller/sharper fonts.

Yes, you *CAN* go too large with a TV, but that amount varies by personal taste and where you sit. The quality doesn't change with size, although your ability to see pixels does.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:30 AM   #5
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 260
I have a VT50 and some of the OTA channels can be rough, but thats due to compression for added subchannels. Dish Network looks OK at 65" on the VT50, but I prefer the Amazon files and will be slowly dialing back satellite service. I care more about PQ than I do about price.
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:39 AM   #6
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by elwaylite View Post
I have a VT50 and some of the OTA channels can be rough, but thats due to compression for added subchannels. Dish Network looks OK at 65" on the VT50, but I prefer the Amazon files and will be slowly dialing back satellite service. I care more about PQ than I do about price.
Of course the provider (OTA, cable, sat, Amazon, Netflix) controls the compression/bitrate/quality of the video. But the thread is more about if it varies based on the TiVo (and specifically one model or generation vs. another) [nope]. And/or if it changes with size [nope].
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:56 AM   #7
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller890 View Post
I notice a slight picture improvement with the Roamio over the S3, but maybe that is my imagination.
I thought so, too. Maybe because I switched to 1080p60, I dunno.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 09:09 AM   #8
elwaylite
Registered User
 
elwaylite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Theodore, Al.
Posts: 260
Ive noted more than once the OTA image is better on the Roamio vs my Hopper, but I cant compare older Tivo's. I know my Premiere I got when they first came out looked great too.
elwaylite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:34 AM   #9
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 849
I don't have a Roamio yet but I've been happy with our Panasonic 65" plasma, Comcast broadcast HD and our S3 OLED's for the past 3 years (TC-P65V10).

Viewing distance is about 9 1/2 feet.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:35 PM   #10
Shanezam203
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I use an 82" DLP at 9 feet away. Broadcast can sometimes look like crap but over all it's fine. I use a DVDO DUO and a Darbee Darblet in my system. I used to use an Algolith Flea which worked well with broadcast sources since it reduced the noise a little. So I do notice the noise a little more since I used the FLea for six years until recently. But I don't think 65" is any problem. At least not with a properly calibrated picture.
82" NICE, wow.
Shanezam203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:23 PM   #11
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 11,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shanezam203 View Post

82" NICE, wow.
They have a 92", which is what I need.

I have a 73". I sit up to 15 feet back.

The 82" was being sold in the local Tiger Direct store for $1300.

The bigger models are fairly dim so you need a darkened room.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 04:30 PM   #12
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by netringer View Post
They have a 92", which is what I need.

I have a 73". I sit up to 15 feet back.

The 82" was being sold in the local Tiger Direct store for $1300.

The bigger models are fairly dim so you need a darkened room.
The 82" Mitsubishi has no problem in a bright setting. I calibrated it for day viewing and night viewing. But I think the 92" might have more of an issue since it is the same bulb and ten more inches.. Either way I wish they had not stopped making DLP sets. They were easily the best bang for the buck.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 05:15 PM   #13
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The 82" Mitsubishi has no problem in a bright setting. I calibrated it for day viewing and night viewing. But I think the 92" might have more of an issue since it is the same bulb and ten more inches.. Either way I wish they had not stopped making DLP sets. They were easily the best bang for the buck.
You just have to role your own with a projector and a good screen.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 05:35 PM   #14
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
You just have to role your own with a projector and a good screen.
I wish I could, I would have done it many years ago. But I would need to mount the projector above my seating location and even the quietest projectors are too noisy for me to handle when I am anywhere near them.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:54 PM   #15
mvnuenen
~0.0~
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 215
I also thought that the PQ of the Roamio was better than my Premiere XL. May be it is just the joy of owning a new box, or, perhaps it is better calibrated...

Last edited by mvnuenen : 08-31-2013 at 11:01 PM.
mvnuenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |