TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-30-2013, 08:23 PM   #1
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Netflix app stuck

So I was trying to log into my netflix account and I was getting really frustrated that I either forgot the password or kept typing it wrong. As it turns out I was just using the wrong email address (its on my wife's and not mine) as I hadn't had to log into Netflix in months and forgot. After a few missed attempts it prompted to make an account and now it is stuck there. My options are to read the terms of service or to enter my info and create an account for my email address. I can't back out using any button the remote. They all do nothing. I tried to leave the app and come back, but it returns to the same screen. I tried putting the Roamio in standby, but when I brought it back it returned to the same screen. I tried to unplug the box, wait a few minutes, and plug it back in. Nope, same screen. I am at a loss here. How do I log in now?
abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:32 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,881
You can try removing all devices from your Netflix account (netflix.com) choosing "Your Account - Sign out all devices" to see if that does the trick.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:42 PM   #3
apw2607
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
To reset the netflix client .... start netflix and press the following:

Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up

Last edited by apw2607 : 08-30-2013 at 11:52 PM.
apw2607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:47 PM   #4
AdamNJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunellen, NJ
Posts: 303
one of the settings screens has netflix info. you might be able to 'reset' it there. sorry i can't check which screen it is because i'm watching netflix right now, but i saw it in one of the settings or account info screens
__________________
Roamio Pro, wired ethernet
Mini using MOCA (from the Pro)

on Cablevision Raritan Valley system (Central NJ)
w/ Cisco PKM803 CableCARD on firmware 1.5.3.1101

*** 2013 newbie to Tivo ***
AdamNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:37 AM   #5
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
I never got anywhere helpful with this. I looked in all the menus that I could find in settings, help, or wherever, and the only mention of Netflix I could find was whether or not to include it in your search results. I pressed every button on the remote while stuck on the "Finish Sign-up" screen that it forced me into. A few brought me out of the app, a few brought me forward in the app (to begin to enter card info and whatnot), and the rest did nothing. I tried doing a full reboot on the system both with the internal option and by unplugging the entire box for a few minutes. I brought it in and out of standby.

My last gasp hope was to just make a new account with the email address it was forcing me to sign up with, get the free trial, cancel immediately, and hopefully find a sign out option. I haven't found that yet. Apparently Netflix lets you keep the rest of the free month though so I guess I have this fake account for a month to use. Anyone else have a solution here? How do disassociate this email address from the app so I can sign in with my actual Netflix account?

EDIT: Totally missed the post on how to restart the Netflix client somehow. Let me try that!
abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:44 AM   #6
abovethesink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
To reset the netflix client .... start netflix and press the following:

Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up
I don't know how I missed this, but thanks so much. Why do you need to put in something resembling an early 90s videogame code to get to the setting screen though? That is just terrible.

Thanks again!
abovethesink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 01:08 PM   #7
reddice
Registered User
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 444
Actually the old Contra code for the NES game from the 1980's. I can never forget that code.
__________________
Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |