TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 08-29-2013, 01:37 PM   #1
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
Premier or Roamio ????

I currently have a Premier upgraded to 318 hours of HD recording and am looking at the Roamio 4 tuner model now.

I don't need streaming and trying to figure out besides the extra 2 tuners, what do I get from a Roamio that I don't have or will eventually have on my Premiere??????

I saw the comparisons on the TiVo site and really don't see much different if you don't need streaming built in.

Thanks a lot.


Rich
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:40 PM   #2
DancnDude
Thrice as nice
 
DancnDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 7,488
The big difference will be the speed. The Premiere will never be speedy because of its processor and the Roamio has a much beefier processor that can handle everything well. There's also the app store which is still to be determined, but that could be great if they do it right.
__________________
XBox Live Gamertag - DancnDude
Wii code - 5559-0767-1390-1788
DancnDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:43 PM   #3
ss-stingray
Sony DHG refugee
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Port Charlotte, Fla
Posts: 16
If your OTA the tuner is way better !!!
ss-stingray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:24 PM   #4
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 375
I've been debating Premiere vs. Roamio vs. Mini for purposes of extending my whole home system to a 4th TV. I have a 2TB-upgraded P4 and 2 Minis currently.

Cheapest solution is obviously to just add a 3rd Mini, but I haven't been completely satisfied with the Minis so far. I seem to experience a lot of annoying audio drop-outs on live TV. I also find the 90 minute live TV timeout to be quite annoying, as even when I clear the "Are you still there?" message I momentarily lose video and audio. When it comes back I find it's now behind live TV and I have to hit the 30-second skip forward button to catch back up. The Minis are fine for me for secondary TVs, but I'm leaning toward having cablecard boxes on my 2 primary TVs.

I also thought about trying to bag a deal on a new or used Premiere, but I must admit my sales resistance is breaking down for a Roamio. I"m having a hard time convincing myself that buying two Series 4 boxes in 2013 is a good idea.

So, resistance may be futile. The base Roamio would be fine for me as far as tuners go, but with built-in MoCA, Gigabit ethernet and built-in Stream, the Plus just seems to me like it might be a better bet long-term.
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:33 PM   #5
bdspilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
I think that the Roamio is the only way to go, the only question is when to buy.
bdspilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:31 PM   #6
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rkkeller View Post
I currently have a Premier upgraded to 318 hours of HD recording and am looking at the Roamio 4 tuner model now.

I don't need streaming and trying to figure out besides the extra 2 tuners, what do I get from a Roamio that I don't have or will eventually have on my Premiere??????

I saw the comparisons on the TiVo site and really don't see much different if you don't need streaming built in.

Thanks a lot.


Rich
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2423377,00.asp Roamio vs Premiere comparison
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:34 PM   #7
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DancnDude View Post
The big difference will be the speed. The Premiere will never be speedy because of its processor and the Roamio has a much beefier processor that can handle everything well. There's also the app store which is still to be determined, but that could be great if they do it right.
Time will tell as more features are added and updates pushed out how it will affect the Roamio. Even the fastest of processors can get bogged down with badly written code.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:41 PM   #8
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
The Premiere is now at the end of it's life and the Roamio is just beginning it's life. If history holds true then the Premiere will get 1 or 2 more updates and then it will be abandoned completely. The Roamio will continue to get updates for another 3-5 years.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:51 PM   #9
berg0449
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
One thing to keep in mind is that Roamio is cable OR OTA not both. But that will only matter if the Premiere you are looking had OTA. Some versions of Premiere have OTA, others do not.
berg0449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:56 PM   #10
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The Premiere is now at the end of it's life and the Roamio is just beginning it's life. If history holds true then the Premiere will get 1 or 2 more updates and then it will be abandoned completely. The Roamio will continue to get updates for another 3-5 years.
Wow, that sucks.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:04 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
Wow, that sucks.
It's possible TiVo has turned over a new leaf and will support the Premiere longer, but in the past once a new series is released they pretty much stop all development for the previous generation within a year.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:06 PM   #12
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The Premiere is now at the end of it's life and the Roamio is just beginning it's life. If history holds true then the Premiere will get 1 or 2 more updates and then it will be abandoned completely. The Roamio will continue to get updates for another 3-5 years.
All that means is the Premire will not have the latest and greatest. It will still record shows for many years to come.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:10 PM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
All that means is the Premire will not have the latest and greatest. It will still record shows for many years to come.
Of course. You can still use a S1 TiVo today if you want. You can also still use your original NES, your VCR and your laser disc player, but I doubt you'd want to.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:29 PM   #14
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Of course. You can still use a S1 TiVo today if you want. You can also still use your original NES, your VCR and your laser disc player, but I doubt you'd want to.
I still have some foreign LaserDisc's that are unobtainable in US in other format. And until I get around to digitizing...
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:26 PM   #15
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Of course. You can still use a S1 TiVo today if you want. You can also still use your original NES, your VCR and your laser disc player, but I doubt you'd want to.
Sure if you want a Ruth Goldberg setup and don't care for HD TV.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:27 PM   #16
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdscott View Post
I still have some foreign LaserDisc's that are unobtainable in US in other format. And until I get around to digitizing...
I'm finally getting ready to toss out my series 2 and Replay TV, both with lifetime service, into the trash.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:31 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
Sure if you want a Ruth Goldberg setup and don't care for HD TV.
It was Rube Goldberg.

But my point was people like to have the latest and greatest so when TiVo abandons a platform it makes those units less desirable to a lot of people.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:34 PM   #18
berg0449
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
I'm finally getting ready to toss out my series 2 and Replay TV, both with lifetime service, into the trash.
I know what you mean. I had 2 ReplayTV's that collected dust for several years. I went to Tivo after the ReplayTV's was not worth much value to sell.

As Tivo Series 2, do you need that for any LifeTime discounts? I thought I have heard some people keeping them around for just the Lifetime discounts.
berg0449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:42 PM   #19
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
Thanks, I ordered the 4 tuner Roamio and 3TB HD. They should be here soon.
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:56 PM   #20
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss-stingray View Post
If your OTA the tuner is way better !!!
Can you elaborate?
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:02 PM   #21
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
I'm finally getting ready to toss out my series 2 and Replay TV, both with lifetime service, into the trash.
If anyone has a lifetime S2 they're just going to throw away I'll take it for the cost of shipping. My Niece would love to have a TiVo in her bedroom and she only has a 4:3 analog TV anyway.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:09 PM   #22
bodosom
Just another tivotee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Niagara frontier
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rkkeller View Post
I currently have a Premier upgraded to 318 hours of HD recording and am looking at the Roamio 4 tuner model now.
I did that on Time Warner.
  1. The Premiere can reliably control the Tuning Adapter.
  2. The Premiere has two RF inputs.
  3. The Roamio is much faster.

bodosom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:14 PM   #23
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
Woooo!!!

From Amazon.com

DELIVERY ESTIMATE: SATURDAY, AUGUST 31, 2013 BY 8:00PM
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:39 AM   #24
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
If anyone is wondering what I was above and started this thread, the Roamio is by far the best TiVo and well worth it.

The redesigned menus are crisp and sharp, wish they would update all of them though and its very snappy and speedy.
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:42 AM   #25
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
Also on the TiVo website you can transfer all your SP's so getting started is easy. It puts them out of order a little, but still a lot easier than remaking them.
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:52 AM   #26
ncbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 191
I don't _need_ streaming but OTA files are huge - with the Roamio I can watch w/o waiting for them to copy from one Tivo to another.
ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |