TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-30-2013, 08:13 AM   #1
tough joe
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 251
New Roamio - First Lock up!

32 hours later, my first Roamio Pro lock up. I hope this is a one time thing...

No Tuning Adapter connected

Things the Roamio was doing at the time of the lock up:

Recording 5 HD channels, and transfering 1 hd program from a Premier XL4 to the new Roamio.

The lockup froze the screen for 13 seconds, then automatically rebooted itself and continued the recordings. The Room to Room transfer needed to be restarted manually.

Last edited by tough joe; 08-30-2013 at 11:08 AM.
tough joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:58 AM   #2
miller890's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 351
Lockup and reboot with Pandora

Seems like a good idea to report them...

My first lockup and reboot was after I entered my Pandora for the first time. I entered my authentication and got a black screen. I hit a few buttons and waited because I knew it about to... then Roamio rebooted.

Recently added a slider remote, maybe it's related.

Roamio Pro
w/LT | Premier Elite w/LT | Roamio Basic w/msd | Mini w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | Series 3 1.5TB w/LT | S2DT 1TB retired| S2-140 retired | Stream
Comcast, all wired to 1GB
miller890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:43 AM   #3
Veteran TiVo User
crxssi's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,783
Well, this is bad news, but I guess we could have assumed it will happen on occasion. Rebooting or lockups were so rare on my Premiere, I just hope it is at least as stable. It is so much faster that I actually enjoy using it instead of feeling like I am fighting it every time I pick up the remote.

If TiVo were smart, they would have the units "phone home" on crash recovery with any pertinent information. It might already.

Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:00 PM   #4
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Pandora locks up Roamio

Two lockup and reboots this morning when trying to start Pandora -- yesterday Pandora worked fine.

JCB8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:29 PM   #5
Super Moderator
Dan203's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 32,034
I wonder if the Roamio will get the same Fall update slated for the Premiere and Mini? The Roamio has all the features but could probably benefit from a couple more months of stability improvements.

Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:45 PM   #6
HD Addict
aaronwt's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 16,951
I tried out Pandora yesterday on my Roamio Pro without any issues. I activated it online but I only played music for about 15 minutes after that.

I was having a network dropout issue but so far it hasn't cropped up since switching to a non green gigabit switch.

BOLT(4TB)x2/Roamio Pro (5TB Red)
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic(1TB Red)/Roamio Basic refurb(stock drive)
53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.
Page generated in 0.13062096 seconds (51.22% PHP - 48.78% MySQL) with 18 queries