TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-29-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,058
Weakness shipped open box

I received my Roamio Pro from Weaknees with the Tivo box already opened. I don't believe it was a return item as it was bought and shipped out by Weaknees the day the Roamios first became available. Why would Weaknees open the box before shipping it out, especially seeing it was the Pro, not a modified basis or Plus unit?
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:52 PM   #2
BruceShultes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 397
This is just a guess, but they might have hooked a few up in a random quality test.
BruceShultes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:54 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
Maybe yours is the one they used to test the 4GB drive upgrade?

I have a Pro coming from them too, hopefully shipping today, I'll let you know if mine looks like it's been opened.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:32 PM   #4
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
A guess would be a test of some type to sort out DOA items. But I expect the best way to get an answer id to ask them directly.

michael
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:37 PM   #5
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdscott View Post
A guess would be a test of some type to sort out DOA items. But I expect the best way to get an answer id to ask them directly.

michael
I did. They claimed they didn't open it. The said maybe the tape popped open in shipping? No way that happened. Box was opened the same way I open boxes, a sharp knife to cut the tape without cutting the box. The unit is working fine, and I have no intention of returning it.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:47 PM   #6
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,058
From Weaknees.

Thanks for letting us know. I can assure you with every bit of confidence that the unit was taken from a pallet directly from TiVo and shipped to you without intervention at our warehouse. If the unit was retaped, it was done at the factory for a reason unbeknownst to me.

Glad to hear that it's working!


I believe Weaknees explanation.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:56 PM   #7
trade
Tivo Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
I did. They claimed they didn't open it. The said maybe the tape popped open in shipping? No way that happened. Box was opened the same way I open boxes, a sharp knife to cut the tape without cutting the box. The unit is working fine, and I have no intention of returning it.
I will returned, is not possible that other hands touched your Tivo before you... this is not a virgin product
__________________
__________________
Tivo Elite with WD DVR Expander 1TB & Lifetime Service
Tivo Mini with Monthly Service

Qnap TS-469L NAS 8TB WD Red
Sony StreamPlayer NP-2000
Apple TV 3
trade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:57 PM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianric View Post
I did. They claimed they didn't open it. The said maybe the tape popped open in shipping? No way that happened. Box was opened the same way I open boxes, a sharp knife to cut the tape without cutting the box. The unit is working fine, and I have no intention of returning it.
I just got my 1st of two Plus and WK double boxed and the TiVo box itself was sealed.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:14 PM   #9
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by trade View Post
I will returned, is not possible that other hands touched your Tivo before you... this is not a virgin product
if this was two weeks into the launch of the product I would return it. Seeing that it was shipped on launch date I feel comfortable enough it is not a returned unit.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:47 PM   #10
ncbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 175
My replacement unit direct from Tivo looked like it had been opened and resealed, but everything on the inside was packaged like new.
ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:10 PM   #11
PoobBubes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Weakness emailed me yesterday and said my Pro was scheduled to ship today. I still haven't received a tracking email though
PoobBubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:32 PM   #12
mntvjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 60
I was originally told my Pro would ship today too, but I emailed them around 6, and they said that mine will ship tomorrow. A bit frustrating, but if it ships tomorrow, I'm still happy. The box came out last Tuesday, so demand is really high right now. And from the reviews I read, I think a LOT of people will be upgrading from S3/S4 boxes this time around.
mntvjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:41 PM   #13
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 292
I ordered a Plus on Sunday afternoon. Haven't heard a thing from Weaknees. With the holiday on Monday, I'm just hoping I get it sometime late next week.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:49 PM   #14
Thom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Whittier, CA, USA
Posts: 1,338
Yesterday, I cancelled my Weaknees base Roamios order, went to a local Best Buy and got them immediately. I wanted to make sure I had them before the new TV season began.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:10 PM   #15
Mgnyc11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
I ordered from weaknees and my order was fine
Mgnyc11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 01:26 AM   #16
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,226
As expected mine is scheduled for delivery on Tuesday. Stupid holiday!
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:13 PM   #17
PoobBubes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
I emailed them today and they said mine actually did ship yesterday. It's scheduled for delivery Thursday. I went ahead and activated Lifetime on it since they gave me the TSN. Hope they gave me the correct one
PoobBubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:18 PM   #18
Millionaire2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoobBubes View Post
I emailed them today and they said mine actually did ship yesterday. It's scheduled for delivery Thursday. I went ahead and activated Lifetime on it since they gave me the TSN. Hope they gave me the correct one
Oh that's why my box came activated with lifetime! Wooo you saved me $400!! lol
Millionaire2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 07:51 PM   #19
Goober96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoobBubes View Post
I emailed them today and they said mine actually did ship yesterday. It's scheduled for delivery Thursday. I went ahead and activated Lifetime on it since they gave me the TSN. Hope they gave me the correct one
That gave me mine too. Can you tell me why you activated before receiving it? Trying to decide if there's an advantage to that and why not just wait. Thanks.
Goober96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:21 PM   #20
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,537
It can sometimes take a couple days for TiVos servers to update after activating before it shows lifetime as active.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #21
PoobBubes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
It can sometimes take a couple days for TiVos servers to update after activating before it shows lifetime as active.
This. I wanted to make sure everything was ready to go when it got here. I also have a Mini to activate that won't be hooked up until the Roamio gets here.
PoobBubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:10 PM   #22
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
It can sometimes take a couple days for TiVos servers to update after activating before it shows lifetime as active.
Mine showed up just a few minutes later. I forced a connection after paying the $399 and lifetime showed up on the box after the connection.

Soon after I could see the Roamio Pro from my other TiVos and Minis for streaming and transfers. (I did force a connection first on each device) But it did take a few hours until I had the option to link my TiVo Minis to the Roamio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |