TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-24-2013, 04:59 PM   #31
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdspilot View Post
There's tax on the service ??
there is...and it sucks...
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 05:05 PM   #32
bdspilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
there is...and it sucks...
Which state, I'm in OK and at checkout it showed no tax but I didn't complete the transaction.
bdspilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 05:10 PM   #33
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdspilot View Post
Which state, I'm in OK and at checkout it showed no tax but I didn't complete the transaction.
i'm in NY
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:02 PM   #34
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
there is...and it sucks...
Unless something has changed, purchased services are not taxed (unless there are specific laws to tax them, such as on cable and phone).

Hmm, maybe it IS changing: http://www.bizfilings.com/toolkit/sb...ndustries.aspx
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:10 PM   #35
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
i'm in NY
Yes us lucky NYers have been paying sales tax on TiVo service since 2006
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:10 PM   #36
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I keep an old Series 2 Humax that I paid full lifetime on in 2005 ($299 at that time) and run it up before activating any new TiVo so I will get MSD pricing, if I sold that Series 2 the rest of my TiVos would not be qualify for MSD as you must have one TiVo that you paid full Lifetime on in your account.
Before this thread, I have never heard of such a requirement. If this is true, it really sucks.

Doesn't even make sense. If you have EVER paid full price on lifetime, then there should be a record of that and you should be eligible for discounts from that point forward. Even if you sell the original box on which you paid full price lifetime, that doesn't take away that you paid full price once.

I can't confirm or deny it, since I still have an ancient "Philips 20 Hour PTV Recorder" with lifetime showing on my account. But I sold or threw that box away many years ago. I can't remember exactly what happened. I think it went bad and was not worth repairing.

Only thing I can find on their site says "for a Product Lifetime subscription to qualify you for the multi-service discount, the TiVo DVR to which it is attached must have connected to the TiVo service within the last 180 days." It doesn't say it has to be the one you paid full price on the LifeTime service.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro

Last edited by crxssi : 08-24-2013 at 06:16 PM.
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:37 PM   #37
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Yes us lucky NYers have been paying sales tax on TiVo service since 2006
damn...if i has known this wasn't every where i would have had my dad in TX buy it then send him the money...
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:47 PM   #38
Loach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinw View Post
It does not work if you are buying a TiVo and the service plan at the same time. I'm thinking and hoping it works when you activate the TiVo that you bought somewhere else such as Weaknees.
That's how it worked when I bought my P4 from Yogi Comp. It did not work when trying to buy a DVR+Service on Tivo.com
__________________
Roamio Pro (MoCA)
Premiere 4 (MoCA) w/2TB WD20EURS upgrade
2 Minis (MoCA/Ethernet)
Loach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 07:08 PM   #39
justinw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
I better email Weaknees and get my TSN and activate it before someone turns that code off. I didn't realize that they would send you the TSN in advance.

Last edited by justinw : 08-24-2013 at 07:15 PM.
justinw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 07:40 PM   #40
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinw View Post
I better email Weaknees and get my TSN and activate it before someone turns that code off. I didn't realize that they would send you the TSN in advance.
i didn't either but thought it'd be worth a try...just replied to the invoice email and asked...
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:45 PM   #41
justinw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
i didn't either but thought it'd be worth a try...just replied to the invoice email and asked...
Thank you! I did the same thing and was able to get Lifetime for $399. I went ahead and bought the extended warranty which is something I've never done, but I figure that I'm spending so much on this Roamio Pro that I misewell do it.
justinw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:01 PM   #42
bdspilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinw View Post
Thank you! I did the same thing and was able to get Lifetime for $399. I went ahead and bought the extended warranty which is something I've never done, but I figure that I'm spending so much on this Roamio Pro that I misewell do it.
When did you order your Tivo?
bdspilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:31 PM   #43
justinw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdspilot View Post
When did you order your Tivo?
The 20th. Shipped the next day will be here on Wednesday
justinw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:59 PM   #44
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
damn...if i has known this wasn't every where i would have had my dad in TX buy it then send him the money...
It is a funny tax we have in CT as we have a 6.35% tax but only 1% tax on TiVo service, 6.35% on any hardware we purchase from TiVo directly. I have lived in this state for the last 30 years and never heard of this special 1% tax, nor have I ever paid it except to TiVo. I could be somewhere in my cable bill/or cell phone bill I guess.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:06 AM   #45
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
Here is the tax table for TiVo and/or TiVo Service:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/31
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:21 AM   #46
ciucca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 270
I could not get the MSD since I was told the 2 premieres I purchased were at a discount and I do not have a full price unit on my account, since I sold it. This is ridiculous money grab. Does anyone have the same issue? Was there a way around it.
ciucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:48 AM   #47
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmill View Post
Here is the tax table for TiVo and/or TiVo Service:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/31
so then next time i'll go through my grandparents in AZ instead...good to know...
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:51 AM   #48
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciucca View Post
I could not get the MSD since I was told the 2 premieres I purchased were at a discount and I do not have a full price unit on my account, since I sold it. This is ridiculous money grab. Does anyone have the same issue? Was there a way around it.
purchase the box else where and then use PLSR for the service
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:53 AM   #49
ciucca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
purchase the box else where and then use PLSR for the service
I hope that code still works, when I get the box. I'm sure TIVO monitors this board and will probably disable it soon. Thanks for the help. I hope the box arrives soon, I bought it from weaknees.
ciucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 11:56 AM   #50
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciucca View Post
I hope that code still works, when I get the box. I'm sure TIVO monitors this board and will probably disable it soon. Thanks for the help. I hope the box arrives soon, I bought it from weaknees.
email them now and get your TSN...i did that and it worked and someone else in this thread did it after they saw i did...you can purchase the service today...
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 01:47 PM   #51
ciucca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
email them now and get your TSN...i did that and it worked and someone else in this thread did it after they saw i did...you can purchase the service today...
Thanks I am planning to do that. Weaknees said my Roamio Pro is not in stock until Monday or Tuesday, and they will send the TSN with the shipping notice. I have my fingers crossed the code will still work.
ciucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:22 PM   #52
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Am_I_Evil View Post
purchase the box else where and then use PLSR for the service
Hasn't that code been around for forever? I'm surprised it still works. I only wish it would give an additional $100 off MSD pricing. I remember trying it when I got my launch Elite.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:36 PM   #53
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Hasn't that code been around for forever? I'm surprised it still works. I only wish it would give an additional $100 off MSD pricing. I remember trying it when I got my launch Elite.
Yes it has, all the way back to the days before the Premiere was even on the radar, and probably even longer than that.

I think it will stick around. I have my reasons/suspicions as to why I believe so, but I'll keep them to myself.

I doubt they'd get rid of the code validity alone. If they made a move, it would probably involve removing the place you can enter a promo code, and only put it back for the duration of special promotions, like holiday sales.

"The TiVo works in mysterious ways"
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!

Last edited by nooneuknow : 08-25-2013 at 07:43 PM.
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:37 PM   #54
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Hasn't that code been around for forever? I'm surprised it still works. I only wish it would give an additional $100 off MSD pricing. I remember trying it when I got my launch Elite.
Yeah it has, but the restrictions have changed iirc. I do agree and wish it worked on MSD. I would probably sell my two XLs and buy a second Roamio either base or Plus.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:03 PM   #55
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Yeah it has, but the restrictions have changed iirc. I do agree and wish it worked on MSD. I would probably sell my two XLs and buy a second Roamio either base or Plus.
IIRC, it was always just a way to get the same discount as MSD, without having an eligible device/subscription, but you could never stack the two.

However, I do recall that you used to be able to use it when buying directly from TiVo. Now, I see many reports that you can only use it when you buy elsewhere and go to TiVo for your lifetime service purchase.

I think when TiVo quit selling directly, without requiring a subscription to purchase a TiVo, that's when things changed.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!

Last edited by nooneuknow : 08-25-2013 at 08:11 PM.
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:11 PM   #56
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,522
That's what I was referring to. It seems to only work if you buy the subscription and not the box from TiVo.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:15 PM   #57
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
That's what I was referring to. It seems to only work if you buy the subscription and not the box from TiVo.
It's a dumb strategy, IMHO, unless they would rather have you buy retail elsewhere, rather than directly through them.

I guess we should just be thankful that you CAN buy elsewhere, without having to buy a subscription at the same time...
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:58 PM   #58
ciucca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 270
PLSR!!! I got my $100 off the lifetime even though I no longer have an eligible box for MSD.

Why didn't the CSR tell me about it. He basically said FU!

Look at me I'm happy about dropping around a grand on my new roamio pro. I'm thinking this is the last one I should ever need to buy, if the reviews are correct.
ciucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:23 PM   #59
Bwatford141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 86
I also was not eligible the $100 discount. I ended up purchasing my Roamio plus at BB and used PLSR to get lifetime for $399.
Bwatford141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:55 PM   #60
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciucca View Post
PLSR!!! I got my $100 off the lifetime even though I no longer have an eligible box for MSD.

Why didn't the CSR tell me about it. He basically said FU!

Look at me I'm happy about dropping around a grand on my new roamio pro. I'm thinking this is the last one I should ever need to buy, if the reviews are correct.
Ever? Ha.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |