TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-29-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
zordude
WDW Fan
 
zordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malden, MA
Posts: 11,314
TC CLUB MEMBER
2 Roamios, MRV only on one.

Hopefully someone has seen this before.

I have 2 Roamio Plus devices.

Roamio #1 - connected via wifi.
Roamio #2 - connected via ethernet cable.

Roamio #1 does not see #2 in My Shows.
Roamio #2 does see #1, and can watch shows via MRV.

I have tried:

- Reboots
- Forcing dial home
- Disable video sharing for 24 hours and re-enable
- Changing the name of the devices and forcing a dial home.

Any ideas of what to try next?
__________________
Crotch facing, butt facing, or Anubis style if possible. - jsmeeker
zordude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
A long shot, but you've already done the obvious things: check your wireless router and make sure it's passing through the appropriate discovery packets in both directions. If you have a filter blocking either mDNS packets or broadcast packets, that would be a problem.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:42 AM   #3
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Check that both Roamios are on the same subnet. What exactly does the ethernet on Roamio 2 connect to? The wifi router, or something else (e.g. directly to the modem)?

Just out of curiosity, I have seen a number of people with these two Roamio setups and would be interested in knowing the advantages you see with this setup versus say a Roamio and a Mini?
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:00 AM   #4
DancnDude
Thrice as nice
 
DancnDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 7,473
If one of them has an ethernet cord plugged in, couldn't you just enable Moca on both and try that? I believe it's supposed to be faster than WiFi.
__________________
XBox Live Gamertag - DancnDude
Wii code - 5559-0767-1390-1788
DancnDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:01 AM   #5
zordude
WDW Fan
 
zordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malden, MA
Posts: 11,314
TC CLUB MEMBER
They are definitely on the same subnet, the wifi router is the modem and I will check tonight if the wired one in plugged into a switch or direct.

A Roamio and a Mini probably would have been sufficient for me, I didn't think of it until afterwards.
__________________
Crotch facing, butt facing, or Anubis style if possible. - jsmeeker
zordude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:03 AM   #6
zordude
WDW Fan
 
zordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malden, MA
Posts: 11,314
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by DancnDude View Post
If one of them has an ethernet cord plugged in, couldn't you just enable Moca on both and try that? I believe it's supposed to be faster than WiFi.
It wasn't clear if that would cause any kind of conflict with the Moca connection between my Fios router and ONT.
__________________
Crotch facing, butt facing, or Anubis style if possible. - jsmeeker
zordude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:42 AM   #7
Scooby Doo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by zordude View Post
It wasn't clear if that would cause any kind of conflict with the Moca connection between my Fios router and ONT.
i believe consumer devices like the Roamio use a different Moca channel than service provider devices like the Fios ONT, so there should not be a conflict.
Scooby Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:46 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by zordude View Post
It wasn't clear if that would cause any kind of conflict with the Moca connection between my Fios router and ONT.
The connection from the router to the ONT uses a different MoCA frequency than the connection from the router to the STBs.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:53 PM   #9
zordude
WDW Fan
 
zordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malden, MA
Posts: 11,314
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The connection from the router to the ONT uses a different MoCA frequency than the connection from the router to the STBs.
Thanks, I'll give that a try then, it almost has to be better than the crappy buil-tin wireless.
__________________
Crotch facing, butt facing, or Anubis style if possible. - jsmeeker
zordude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:54 PM   #10
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
I wouold certainly try MoCA. We are using it to connect a XL4 to our network. The FIOS router/modem (Actiontec MI424WR)is handling the MoCA administration and switch duties among MoCA, wireless & EtherNet. Speeds have improved tremendously.

michael
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |