TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,907
CableCARD / Roamio question ...

Is there any reason why I shouldn't pull an old M-card out of one of my old S3's and have Comcast pair it to my new Roamio? I assume the older cards are capable of supporting all 6 tuners, right?
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:19 PM   #2
chg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
I just pulled my cable card from my Elite and put it in my Roamio. Using Comcast and all 6 tuners are working fine. I have not even called to pair it with the new Roamio, but will probably call anyway.

I don't subscribe to any pay channels.
chg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
BruceShultes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
Is there any reason why I shouldn't pull an old M-card out of one of my old S3's and have Comcast pair it to my new Roamio? I assume the older cards are capable of supporting all 6 tuners, right?
You can try it, but there is no guarantee it will work.

It all depends on your cable provider and what software level has been downloaded to your cable card(s).
BruceShultes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:22 PM   #4
Beryl
Registered User
 
Beryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
Is there any reason why I shouldn't pull an old M-card out of one of my old S3's and have Comcast pair it to my new Roamio? I assume the older cards are capable of supporting all 6 tuners, right?
That'll work. I needed to get it paired to pick up expanded basic and HD channels.
__________________
HD XL
Premiere
Roamio Plus
Beryl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:07 PM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,314
As BruceShultes intimated, some m-cards with older firmware only support 4 streams.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:18 PM   #6
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by chg View Post
I just pulled my cable card from my Elite and put it in my Roamio. Using Comcast and all 6 tuners are working fine. I have not even called to pair it with the new Roamio, but will probably call anyway.

I don't subscribe to any pay channels.
You would need to pair it for more than basic cable (Clear QAM).
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:01 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
You would need to pair it for more than basic cable (Clear QAM).
Another reason to pair the card is that after 45 days or so the card will go dead in Comcast land Hartford CT.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:10 PM   #8
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Another reason to pair the card is that after 45 days or so the card will go dead in Comcast land Hartford CT.
Decisions like this are always franchise dependent. I've run unpaired cablecards for years in Comcast Montgomery County Maryland.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:25 PM   #9
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,907
The card is all paired. The premium channels and everything else is coming in fine. It literally took about 5 minutes on the phone with Comcast to move the card to the new box. I'm so glad Comcast finally got their act together. Pairing cards with them used to be a friggin nightmare.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 06:45 AM   #10
Alanbrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
TWC cable cards and tuning adapters able to support new TiVo Roamio?

Robot Vacuum

Last edited by Alanbrad : 09-23-2013 at 02:04 AM.
Alanbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:24 AM   #11
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanbrad View Post
TWC cable cards and tuning adapters able to support new TiVo Roamio?
Yes.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:42 AM   #12
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyCritter View Post
Decisions like this are always franchise dependent. I've run unpaired cablecards for years in Comcast Montgomery County Maryland.
That why I said the area that Comcast was doing this with cable cards.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |