TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-26-2013, 09:43 PM   #1
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,419
I'm surprised there are no unpacking videos.

Or videos of the units in action.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
I think the people who normally do them either don't have them yet or didn't buy.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:59 PM   #3
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,156
I thought about doing an unpacking video, but didn't have the patience.

Are there really no videos of it working? I could fix that...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 12:23 AM   #4
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 305
I would like to see the tivo in action and also what the tivo looks like when all 6 lights are on while recording,i also want to see how the tivo finder works when your looking for your remote.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 01:00 PM   #5
jellyandtoast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Trust me, unlike Apple packaging, the TiVo Roamio packaging is truly very uninspirational --you're not missing out anything. TiVo went cheap so I'm not suprised that no one has done an upacking video.
jellyandtoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:42 PM   #6
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,000
I was making an unpacking video for my Pro, but I don't feel like editing out all of my snarky comments when I got to the point where I noticed that it doesn't include a HDMI cable.

Not that I need one, but every TiVo I've had before came with one. Sad to see this tradition gone, esp. on the highest-end model.
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:04 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Really, no HDMI in the box? That's just cheap. Especially for a $600 Pro.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:16 PM   #8
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Yeah no HDMI and no ethernet. I can somewhat see the ethernet since it has MoCa, but the lack of HDMI is bad.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:20 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
You can get those both on Monoprice for < $5 total. Why would TiVo cheap out and not include them in the box.

So you don't get any video cables at all?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:22 PM   #10
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Nope.

Mine had the Tivo, remote, batteries, power cord.

Fortunately it's replacing a premiere, so I'm not using any of the new cords, just swapping boxes.

No unboxing video, I was too excited to get it opened up and a 3 TB drive installed.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:23 PM   #11
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Nope nothing.

https://tivo.com/shop/roamio
It is under Specifications. It comes only with the power cord.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:25 PM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Yikes. I'm sure these days most people have a spare HDMI cable laying around, but come on. How pissed would you be to buy a $600 toy only to open the box and find that it doesn't even have the cables you need to hook it to the TV? At the very least they should have thrown a cheap HDMI cable in there.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:26 PM   #13
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
I definitely agree. The only reason I have a spare is I kept one I ended up not needing when I setup my mom's system.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:28 PM   #14
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 113
I usually find that cables included with a device are too short anyway. Even for monitors and such I always buy a cable that is long enough to fit the installation. There's nothing like buying a device and have to wait to use it because you went cheap and relied on the manufacturer.
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:32 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by kherr View Post
There's nothing like buying a device and have to wait to use it because you went cheap and relied on the manufacturer.
Except maybe buying a device and realizing you can't even attempt to hook it up because they didn't include even a basic video cable.

HDMI cables are digital, they typically either work or they don't. Throwing a cheap one in the box wouldn't have cost much and would have at least guaranteed the user could hook it up to the TV and get GS started.

Ethernet I can understand, since it has wifi now, but without a video cable it's useless.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:39 PM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Really, no HDMI in the box? That's just cheap. Especially for a $600 Pro.
I give this a huge

I can't even count the number of HDMI and Ethernet cables I have from devices that have been packed in. I rarely ever use them unless I can't find any of my Monoprice cables and only then I will use one until I order some more. I wish all devices came without any cables or batteries.(I use rechargeable batteries now which is a huge change for me from several years ago)
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:45 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Even a $40 Roku LT includes an A/V cable. A $600 Roamio Pro should include an HDMI cable whether you need it or not.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:06 PM   #18
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Even a $40 Roku LT includes an A/V cable. A $600 Roamio Pro should include an HDMI cable whether you need it or not.
I just looked at my TiVo Mini box and that has an HDMI cable in it. So if the Mini has an HDMI cable then I guess it is surprising that the Roamio Pro doesn't.

In six months they will change the Romaio Pro name and it will be THX certified and also come with an HDMI cable.

Still though this launch seems to be much better than the Premiere launch was. Like they put more thought into it. I'm sure they had a reason not to include the HDMI cable. Maybe they figured it would be installed by HT companies or something?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 09:53 PM   #19
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,419
Not even this thread can spur some user videos.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:48 AM   #20
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Don't have mine yet. If I get it soon I'll do one.

Weaknees said it would ship "early next week" when I asked last Friday, but still no shipping notice yet.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:03 AM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,488
Yes. Give us some UnBoxing Porn!

I don't remember where I saw that but someone does a show called UnBoxing Porn where they unbox new products.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:54 AM   #22
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,502
If I don't see another unboxing video I will be a happy camper. Same with receiving another set of HDMI cables.
trip1eX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:15 AM   #23
DaveDFW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Weaknees said it would ship "early next week" when I asked last Friday, but still no shipping notice yet.
Same here!
DaveDFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:18 PM   #24
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,419
Bump
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:22 PM   #25
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
I'll have my Pro Tuesday. I'll take a video of the unboxing if no one else has. Not real confident about talking on camera though, so it may be silent.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:42 PM   #26
Aero 1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I'll have my Pro Tuesday. I'll take a video of the unboxing if no one else has. Not real confident about talking on camera though, so it may be silent.
ok, you have been nominated. do an unboxing video and a video with mini interacton. and when you are done, get off your ass and make a mac version of video redo.
__________________
Lifetime Subs: 2 TiVo Premiere's | TiVo HD | TiVo Stream

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Aero 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:48 PM   #27
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
mac version of video redo.
With Parallels is there really a need for a Mac version of VRD any more?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:58 PM   #28
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 71,539
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post

With Parallels is there really a need for a Mac version of VRD any more?
Yes, there certainly is.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 03:08 PM   #29
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
Yes, there certainly is.
I know. We'd love to do one. But we're a small company (2 developers) and there is a TON of legacy code in VRD that would be hard to port to Mac. (we use a lot of Windows specific C++ libraries) Someday maybe.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 03:19 PM   #30
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Could someone explain to me why the big deal about unboxing videos? It is packaged just like every other TiVo with less stuff.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |