TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-25-2013, 06:54 PM   #31
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
I found a show on Lifetime called Devious Maids and one called PGA Tour Golf that are both experiencing the truncation.


It's good on Roamio.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:40 PM   #32
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
ah ok thanks. maybe this is a sign they'll fix it on the Premiere in the next update I do like the new font, it looks nice.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:41 PM   #33
Davelnlr_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by trip1eX View Post
How much will the 5 tuner genie save you over 3 years compared to buying a Roamio?
Being a new customer, he would get a Genie free. Then the cost would be approx $20-$25 a month to use it (Advanced receiver fee). This includes Multiroom viewing, High Def fee, and DVR fee. It would be less expensive to buy the new Tivo, and pay the month to month fee in some cases depending on whether he currently has to pay a surcharge for HD service. If he doesnt, it would be more expensive with the Genie. If he does, it would be about the same as Tivo's month to month rate.

I always buy lifetime. It has worked out well for me so far. I still have my original SVR2000 Sony Tivo with lifetime for a guest room. Works perfectly with a comcast DTR box. Also have lifetime on a TivoHD, Premier, and just recently, an XL.

While its a large chunk of money up front, it eventually pays for itself. My advice to friends, is go month to month and wait until they get their tax return, and use it (or a portion of it) on the lifetime.
Davelnlr_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:56 PM   #34
Bierboy
Seasoned gas passer
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad Sillies
Posts: 11,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
The Good: Built-in MoCa
Seriously...how many people really use MoCA....are there any stats? Percentage of TiVo users using it whose units who have that capability? My uneducated guess would be a small percentage...
Bierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:02 PM   #35
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Seriously...how many people really use MoCA....are there any stats? Percentage of TiVo users using it whose units who have that capability? My uneducated guess would be a small percentage...
Once I learned about MoCa I sold my TiVo "N" adapters and went to MoCa, because I have one TP-4 near a RJ45 router connection I did not even have to purchase any MoCa adapters. I can't say enough good about this MoCa system.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:17 PM   #36
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
When I learned about MoCA, I removed the Ethernet wiring I had previously run all over the house and purchased a 4 tuner Premiere and MoCA adapters for my router and distant desktops where WiFi doesn't reach, then relocated the router to a better location in the house. MoCA has been a godsend for me.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:19 PM   #37
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 701
I was using MoCA till (apparently) lightning blowed up one of my boxes. Maybe if I get a Roamio I'll be able to figure out which one and go back to using it instead of wireless.
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 10:25 PM   #38
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
Well just remember the standard $199 Roamio requires a MoCA adapter which is like $49 through TiVo, so if you wanted it built in you'd be looking at the Plus at $399 or the Pro at $599.

Last edited by JWhites : 08-26-2013 at 06:41 AM.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:07 AM   #39
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
The Pro is $599.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:17 AM   #40
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyCritter View Post
Where do they make their money then? Historically, they lose money on every hardware sale except the highest end machine (average loss historically has been in the 30-40% range). They make up their lost money on the service.
From the previous lifetimes they sold me and from their overpriced hard drives and from the new subscriptions of new subs with used equipment.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:10 AM   #41
aristoBrat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bierboy View Post
Seriously...how many people really use MoCA....are there any stats? Percentage of TiVo users using it whose units who have that capability? My uneducated guess would be a small percentage...
I love it, personally.

I don't see many people backfilling existing tivo installs with it, but since 2 of the 3 Roamios support it, people buying minis to extend their Roamios will use it without thinking twice.
aristoBrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:41 AM   #42
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Pro is $599.
ah thanks I missed that. Fixed.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:44 AM   #43
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristoBrat View Post
I love it, personally.

I don't see many people backfilling existing tivo installs with it, but since 2 of the 3 Roamios support it, people buying minis to extend their Roamios will use it without thinking twice.
Let's not forget that a simple install of a MoCA adapter on non native MoCA TiVo's like the Series 3, HD, and 2 tuner Premieres, brings the same joys of a native MoCA TiVo.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |