TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2013, 10:48 AM   #1
dbattaglia001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 78
TiVo Apple App -- issues connecting over wifi when away from home

Has anyone else noticed that when trying to connect to TiVo app when outside of the home network, you get error messages when trying to log in? Fr example, I am at work and my iPhone is connecting to work wifi, I can't use tivo app. However if I switch wifi off and connect via LTE network, then TiVo app works.

Annoying to have to toggle back and forth. Wonder if this is a bug or just unique to me?

Thanks
dbattaglia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 02:09 PM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,809
Are you sure it's not your work network blocking access to the site the app is trying to get to?
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:16 PM   #3
stevewjackson
Steve W. Jackson
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
Are you sure it's not your work network blocking access to the site the app is trying to get to?
That would be my guess as well. When I go out for my weekly wing night, I do use the wifi there (pretty much wide open) and have never had any issues with it not working.
__________________
TiVo Premiere XL - Oct 2012 - Lifetime
TiVo HD - Sep 2007 - Lifetime
TiVo Roamio Plus - Oct 2014 - Lifetime
stevewjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:43 AM   #4
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 698
That's probably the case. I know the local library I use wifi at has a lot of ports blocked. Not everything works on Wifi from my library.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |