TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2013, 09:44 PM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 646
Question can cable cards operate without tivo service?

I recently got a series 3 tivo off craigslist for dirt cheap. Was told it fully works and it appears to boot up fine. I want to possibly $99 lifetime it and just stick it in a guest bedroom that isn't used much.

Now, I also have a spare S-cable card i can (temporarily) use in it and was wondering if it is possible to call comcast & just pair the cable card with this series 3 and then view all channels, but not get the lifetime tivo service just yet. This way, make sure it is indeed fully working. Once all is good, then get the lifetime service.

I realize I would absolutely no TiVo features (guide and mrv) until I subscribe, but I just want to basically view some channels for now.

I also realize there is a 30 day money back with tivo in case there is a problem, but i would rather not have to possibly deal with all that and basically just make sure it is ok on my own.

Is this doable in any way?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:23 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I recently got a series 3 tivo off craigslist for dirt cheap. Was told it fully works and it appears to boot up fine. I want to possibly $99 lifetime it and just stick it in a guest bedroom that isn't used much.

Now, I also have a spare S-cable card i can (temporarily) use in it and was wondering if it is possible to call comcast & just pair the cable card with this series 3 and then view all channels, but not get the lifetime tivo service just yet. This way, make sure it is indeed fully working. Once all is good, then get the lifetime service.

I realize I would absolutely no TiVo features (guide and mrv) until I subscribe, but I just want to basically view some channels for now.

I also realize there is a 30 day money back with tivo in case there is a problem, but i would rather not have to possibly deal with all that and basically just make sure it is ok on my own.

Is this doable in any way?
Not the question you asked, but are you certain of being able to get PLS for $99, and on a unit you just bought on top of that?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:51 PM   #3
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,625
The answer to your question is: Yes.

You can set up the Tivo to use a cable card without a subscription.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |