TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-22-2013, 10:31 PM   #1
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Killer Feature

For me, the killer feature is the new remote!

What a joy to not have to muck with setting multiple IR addresses on multiple remotes if you have multiple Tivos in one room.

I didn't realize that each Roamio remote pairs on a separate RF frequency to a unique TiVo. Very cool.

It would be very cool if TiVo would release a USB attachable RF receiver so we can use a Roamio remote with a Premiere.

Details on the remote:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2719
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:35 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,184
Offset by the lack of IR learning though... I still prefer TiVo Glo remotes as a result. You'd think at least the Plus or Pro would come with an IR learning remote...
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:28 PM   #3
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
For me, the killer feature is the new remote
If you ask me, it is inferior in every way to the Slide remote, except that it requires no dongle.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:31 PM   #4
monkeydust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 472
I've got both my elite and my plus remote next to me. I'm using the elite as it just feels more comfortable in my hand (as I raise it in the air to get clearance). Old dog not liking new tricks.
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:22 PM   #5
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,933
My real problem with the new remote was its VERY limited range. As in it does not work from across the room of my Home Theater. (approx. 30 ft and one pane of glass). The slide remote works fine and has learning IR.

Hopefully the new slide remote has more than 4 learning functions.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:16 PM   #6
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
One of mine works from about 30-40 feet, no glass, but not a straight line. Haven't tried the other from more than about 25 feet.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:29 PM   #7
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
One of mine works from about 30-40 feet, no glass, but not a straight line. Haven't tried the other from more than about 25 feet.
If you have TR (TiVo Roamio) in two or more rooms one must use a different code or the RF may connect to both TRs
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:56 PM   #8
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
If you have TR (TiVo Roamio) in two or more rooms one must use a different code or the RF may connect to both TRs
Not sure what you mean ...

Each Roamio/Roamio remote pair uses a unique frequency, so you can set two Roamios in a room with earlier Tivos and have no remote conflicts.

You can connect multiple Roamio Remotes in RF mode to one Roamio, but I don't think you can pair one remote to multiple boxes. (Haven't tried it)
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:12 PM   #9
KnordRW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bethel Park, PA
Posts: 27
Here's something I haven't seen mentioned anyplace yet....does the Roamio remote control a Premiere? As in, if I place Roamio next to a Premiere that it will be replacing, do I have to worry about changing the IR code on the Roamio remote to keep it from controlling the Premiere as well?
KnordRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:53 PM   #10
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnordRW View Post
Here's something I haven't seen mentioned anyplace yet....does the Roamio remote control a Premiere?
It does. First thing I tried... it worked fine as an IR remote, but the amber light went flashing for a while. (Having read the FAQ, I now know that this is the remote looking for a Roamio to pair with.)

Quote:
As in, if I place Roamio next to a Premiere that it will be replacing, do I have to worry about changing the IR code on the Roamio remote to keep it from controlling the Premiere as well?
I can't comment on that. Unplugged the old TiVo first.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:00 PM   #11
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,075
Best new thing about the remote: Has a code for the TV I'm using it with that doesn't double everything up.

Worst new thing: Back button messes up the layout.

Although it's a little longer than the Slide, it's very similar in design. Surprisingly they made the thumbs buttons even smaller.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:32 PM   #12
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
Not sure what you mean ...

Each Roamio/Roamio remote pair uses a unique frequency, so you can set two Roamios in a room with earlier Tivos and have no remote conflicts.

You can connect multiple Roamio Remotes in RF mode to one Roamio, but I don't think you can pair one remote to multiple boxes. (Haven't tried it)
Now I think understand. Each RF remote pairs with a single TR and than will not interfere with another TR in the next room.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:14 PM   #13
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Now I think understand. Each RF remote pairs with a single TR and than will not interfere with another TR in the next room.
Correct.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:10 AM   #14
replaytv
I <3 Wintergreen
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I now know that this is the remote looking for a Roamio to pair with.
Would that be a Julieto trying to pair with a Roamio? And shouldn't that be addressed in the 'Lowered Expectations' thread? ;0)
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:30 AM   #15
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfh3 View Post
Correct.
I just looked at the SI screen on my TP-4 and under the remote section it has RF so I wonder if the if the new RF remote will also work with the TP-4 TiVos
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 06:47 AM   #16
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I just looked at the SI screen on my TP-4 and under the remote section it has RF so I wonder if the if the new RF remote will also work with the TP-4 TiVos
The Premiere doesn't have a built-in RF receiver (dongle).

If you get a Slide, *THAT* will work with either, but not both at the same time (only one Slide per dongle).
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 07:54 AM   #17
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I just looked at the SI screen on my TP-4 and under the remote section it has RF so I wonder if the if the new RF remote will also work with the TP-4 TiVos
I bet the forthcoming RF slide remote will have a dongle that will allow it to work on older models.
__________________
- Roamio; Roamio Pro; Premiere Elite
- Premiere (2TB) (both for sale - PM me)
- TiVo Mini x 3
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |