TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2013, 11:42 PM   #31
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
Thanks. Will do and report back.
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:09 AM   #32
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by maintainin View Post
5.1v reading is 5.09

12v reading is 12.29
That's within allowable variance, but just for grins, disconnect the hard drive and measure again to see if the regulator circuitry still keeps them about in the same place.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 01:32 PM   #33
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
OK, the drive is a Seagate. I'm assuming I need to use seagates seatools instead? And just to be sure, there is no danger of any data corruption using these tools?
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:07 PM   #34
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
Well the drive passed seagates seatools long test.

Voltages without hard drive are 5.09 and 12.33

So what now? Sounds like some kind of software corruption or something else besides hdd and power supply. I've done the kickstart 52 several times. What's left? Reset and do the setup again?
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:46 PM   #35
westom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by maintainin View Post
Well the drive passed seagates seatools long test.
Did you take those voltage reading with the TV in a good connection and a failed connection state? IOW do not disconnect any wires or change any conditions (including the state of the TV) to make measurement during the failing setup.

One final test of that drive. Use a hairdryer on high to heat the disk drive's computer (PC) board. If a drive is OK, then it will pass all Seagate read tests even at that higher (and normal) temperature.

Heat is fabulous tool for locating intermittent defects. If the drive fails at that higher temperature, then the drive is defective. If not, only remaining suspects are the mainboard and connections to it.

Don't recall details on each connection. Is it coax cable? What specifically connects to what?

You might also perform the heat test on the mainboard. If heat cause failure to occur more frequently, then you know exactly where the intermittent defect is. Not a most likely suspect. But an easy test.
westom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 01:49 AM   #36
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,412
So the stock hard drive that came with that Premiere is a Seagate?

500GB?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:17 AM   #37
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
Yep. 500GB Seagate Pipeline HD hard drive.
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:25 AM   #38
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
I'm suspecting its the HDMI cable. I swapped it out before I left for work. Will see how things are when I get home.
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 06:00 PM   #39
westom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by maintainin View Post
I'm suspecting its the HDMI cable. I swapped it out before I left for work. Will see how things are when I get home.
A major difference between a coax cable connection and an HDMI connection. HDMI means galvanic isolation routinely found on coax connections does not exist between Tivo and TV. Does that change a list of suspects?
westom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:39 PM   #40
maintainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
It's the hdmi cable. I changed it to a different one and its not rebooted all day. I thought I had ruled it out earlier when I was testing with one connection at a time but I must have missed it. I put the bad one back on and sure enough within minutes it had rebooted. I'm assuming a bad pin or a short or something in the cable was causing the tivo to reboot while the tv is off.
maintainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |