TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2013, 02:53 PM   #1
rspike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
Tivo Stream Outside of Home Network?

Anybody know when TiVo Stream will allow me to watch my TiVo when I'm outside of my home network? I've heard that it's in the works, and it would be great to use right within my TiVo App instead of having to rely on my SlingBox to accomplish this.
rspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 02:55 PM   #2
NAMLOOT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Just saw this on the TiVo website. I too am curious on a release date. Was contemplating buying a slingbox.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4
NAMLOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 02:59 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
Their CEO said in an interview that it would "light up this Fall". So no exact date, but should be in the next few months.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:05 PM   #4
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Their CEO said in an interview that it would "light up this Fall". So no exact date, but should be in the next few months.
And so the Tivo Stream will be able to steam outside home network? It's not just the new boxes, right?
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:10 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
Yes. The standalone Stream and the new boxes with built in streaming use the exact same chip. Also Engadget claimed to have tested a beta version of the software on a standalone Stream.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:53 AM   #6
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
I know the Stream can be used with Apple devices (& hopefully Android someday in the NEAR future), but in addition to being able to use a Stream with iOS, can it be used with a standard PC/laptop somehow? Maybe in a Mozilla, IE, or Chrome browser window?

Last edited by buscuitboy : 08-22-2013 at 09:03 AM.
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:13 AM   #7
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,991
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I know the Stream can be used with Apple devices (& hopefully Android someday in the NEAR future), but in addition to being able to use a Stream with iOS, can it be used with a standard PC/laptop somehow? Maybe in a Mozilla, IE, or Chrome browser window?
I'd love that too... I'm on my 11" MacBook Air a lot more these days than I'm on my iPad...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 02:54 PM   #8
HenryFarpolo
Registered User
 
HenryFarpolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Andover Ma
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I know the Stream can be used with Apple devices (& hopefully Android someday in the NEAR future), but in addition to being able to use a Stream with iOS, can it be used with a standard PC/laptop somehow? Maybe in a Mozilla, IE, or Chrome browser window?
There is no app for PC that will replicate what can be done with IOS.
HenryFarpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:52 PM   #9
Lenonn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 252
I could see my father using this feature if he could stream from the living room to his hotel room on business trips. But, he doesn't have any iOS devices. Still, I look forward to seeing this in action someday.
Lenonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:09 AM   #10
NAMLOOT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Any updates on this?
NAMLOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:38 AM   #11
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,629
It's not Fall yet, and they didn't say which year.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:50 AM   #12
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 693
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Yes. The standalone Stream and the new boxes with built in streaming use the exact same chip. Also Engadget claimed to have tested a beta version of the software on a standalone Stream.
Any chance this feature will also work with a 4-tuner Premiere? Or does it look like it will be a Roamio feature only?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:19 AM   #13
mdscott
Registered User
 
mdscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
Any chance this feature will also work with a 4-tuner Premiere? Or does it look like it will be a Roamio feature only?
The Premiere requires the separate TiVoStream box (as does the base 4 tuner Roamio)
__________________
TiVo S3, XL4; Roamio
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
mdscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:22 AM   #14
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,991
TC CLUB MEMBER
And the separate TiVo Stream is said to be getting this feature.

So yes, as far as we've been told, and as far as the reviews have indicated, this feature WILL also work with 2 and 4-tuner Premieres.

...whenever it comes out.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:33 AM   #15
NAMLOOT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
It's not Fall yet, and they didn't say which year.
A boy can dream........
NAMLOOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:15 PM   #16
Einselen
ɹǝsn pǝɹǝʇsıƃǝɹ
 
Einselen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,974
How much does the iPad remote w/Stream mimic the physical thing? The huge plus for me vs the cable DVRs is that feeling when I hit play after FF and landing within a few seconds on where I want to start and I am worried that may not be there with the stream. If it is the same experience or pretty dang close (I know it can't be as good as the real thing) and when the out of network is released I will not doubt plop down my money and get a stream instantly (sans any major life crisis happening at the time).
__________________
Einselen Photography -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


S2 526 HR - Lifetime
Premiere XL4 300 HR - Lifetime

XBL Gamertag - UnseenThought
Einselen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:42 PM   #17
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,991
TC CLUB MEMBER
Works pretty damn well in my experience. We'll see if that continues when outside the LAN. It's got "native" control, very nice UI. It's certainly a LOT better than a Slingbox, I'll say, which relies on IR blasters and executing the commands on the (transcoded) on-screen menu display. That feels like a (somewhat slow) kludge. Amazing that it works at all, really. TiVo's taken their sweet time but in my opinion, their execution of this functionality is more elegant.

Now we just need to hope they figure out adaptive streaming (so it works well on slow connections and looks great on fast ones.) And clients for platforms other than iOS (like Android, Windows Phone, Mac and PC) would be great to see too.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!

Last edited by Fofer : 09-05-2013 at 09:17 PM.
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:14 PM   #18
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einselen View Post
How much does the iPad remote w/Stream mimic the physical thing? The huge plus for me vs the cable DVRs is that feeling when I hit play after FF and landing within a few seconds on where I want to start and I am worried that may not be there with the stream. If it is the same experience or pretty dang close (I know it can't be as good as the real thing) and when the out of network is released I will not doubt plop down my money and get a stream instantly (sans any major life crisis happening at the time).
Streaming, yeah it can be slow..

But that's why you can also DOWNLOAD a show too. I have no idea if this will still be true when outside the home, though I personally hope it will be. As I've said before, I *do* download the vast majority of the time (but I also have made use of streaming, sometimes when my iPad was too full to download another show)... MOSTLY for this very reason -- better skip/rewind responsiveness.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:20 PM   #19
Einselen
ɹǝsn pǝɹǝʇsıƃǝɹ
 
Einselen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,974
So if you download, do you still watch in app and use in app for the trick play?
__________________
Einselen Photography -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


S2 526 HR - Lifetime
Premiere XL4 300 HR - Lifetime

XBL Gamertag - UnseenThought
Einselen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:24 PM   #20
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,991
TC CLUB MEMBER
Yes. But downloading is only an option for shows that don't have the CCI flag set (ie: are not limited to "copy once.") At least with my cable provider (TWC) that's a very small selection of channels (the big 5 networks, I think.) The rest of the recordings can only be streamed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:20 PM   #21
Einselen
ɹǝsn pǝɹǝʇsıƃǝɹ
 
Einselen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
Yes. But downloading is only an option for shows that don't have the CCI flag set (ie: are not limited to "copy once.") At least with my cable provider (TWC) that's a very small selection of channels (the big 5 networks, I think.) The rest of the recordings can only be streamed.
Thanks Fofer! Bummer for you as the only CCI flag I have seen (FiOS) was on HBO. I think all my other recordings don't have that, but then again maybe I have no tried to download Suits from USA.
__________________
Einselen Photography -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


S2 526 HR - Lifetime
Premiere XL4 300 HR - Lifetime

XBL Gamertag - UnseenThought
Einselen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:42 PM   #22
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
Yes. But downloading is only an option for shows that don't have the CCI flag set (ie: are not limited to "copy once.") At least with my cable provider (TWC) that's a very small selection of channels (the big 5 networks, I think.) The rest of the recordings can only be streamed.
Same on Cablevision! It's a bummer
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:16 PM   #23
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 698
I'm antenna only, and oddly enough the video podcasts I download (from places like CNet & Revision 3) on my TiVo can't be copied from one TiVo box to another. Always found that to be bizarre.

I'm gonna assume these won't be doable either if I can't copy it from one TiVo to another in my own house.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:18 PM   #24
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 6,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Siegler View Post
I'm antenna only, and oddly enough the video podcasts I download (from places like CNet & Revision 3) on my TiVo can't be copied from one TiVo box to another. Always found that to be bizarre.

I'm gonna assume these won't be doable either if I can't copy it from one TiVo to another in my own house.
Even the "Welcome to Tivo" videos that Tivo creates themselves can't be copied. It makes no sense. It's no wonder why Tivo never really caught on with the masses. They go out of their way to make it hard for people to know about them.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 07:30 PM   #25
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
Nothing that is "pushed" to a TiVo can be copied. It's like it has some built in CCI flag. Even if you push something yourself using pyTiVo it'll be blocked from being transferred again.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:14 PM   #26
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,243
Wait, are podcasts pushed to a Tivo? I thought nightly a tivo checked for new podcasts.. but sort of arguing against myself, it ALSO seems like deleting a podcast entry often gets it to download more podcasts..

I tend to still download a bunch of CNET video podcasts, but now virtually always watch them on my iPad instead since I can watch at 2x.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:21 PM   #27
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
I think if you set em up via the podcast app then they are pushed by TiVo's servers. Not 100% sure though. I know if you set them up via TiVo Desktop they're pushed, but I don't think anyone uses that method any more. (It never quite worked right anyway)
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:03 AM   #28
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 698
I call them video podcasts, but that might not be the "proper term" for them.

I'm referring to things like "The Apple Byte" from CNet, or "HD Nation" from Revision 3. If you search for them in the search function you'll find them and they can get added to the download manager.

Technically it's a video file coming from the CNet server from an rss feed that TiVo then delivers to your box. Is that push? I don't know, but those are the kinds of things I'm referring to.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:42 AM   #29
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
I think the way it works it is a push. It not about how the TiVo downloads it, it's about how the request for the download is sent to the TiVo. But again I'm not 100% positive. I just seem to remember reading something about that being the way it worked. I could be misremembering.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:39 AM   #30
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 698
Yeah, I'm not sure about the bits and pieces on how TiVo (the service) gets the video to my TiVo (box).

I know the original source material at Rev3 & CNet exists as video podcasts on an RSS. That's about the only thing I'm positive about.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |