TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-22-2013, 08:32 PM   #31
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 833
Read this thread, we now know it has been done on the base model, going from 500GB to 2TB

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...=507695&page=5
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:05 PM   #32
puffdaddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
I would be shocked if this would work, or that TiVo would let such a system work.
Consider yourself shocked.
puffdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:17 PM   #33
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,914
So has everyone looked at the upgrade thread? It looks like the Roamio can work with a blank drive. At least it worked for someone with the Roamio basic.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:31 PM   #34
puffdaddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
So has everyone looked at the upgrade thread? It looks like the Roamio can work with a blank drive. At least it worked for someone with the Roamio basic.
Thread link for posterity: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=507695

Last edited by puffdaddy : 08-22-2013 at 10:58 PM.
puffdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 01:33 AM   #35
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by puffdaddy View Post
Consider yourself shocked.
I still wanted tested with two different drives as the flash may look at only the first SN of the first drive put in and not format any new drive. Or not
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:06 AM   #36
ncbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 174
Tivo's using two different brands: Seagate Pipeline in the Basic, WD AV-GP in the Pro.

Are there other brands "AV" drives, tuned to work with DVRs out there?

I wouldn't expect anything other than an "AV" drive to work properly in a Tivo w/o modification - and the price on the above drives is reasonable @ around $100 for 2TB, around $150 for 3TB.
ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:25 AM   #37
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncbill View Post
Tivo's using two different brands: Seagate Pipeline in the Basic, WD AV-GP in the Pro.

Are there other brands "AV" drives, tuned to work with DVRs out there?

I wouldn't expect anything other than an "AV" drive to work properly in a Tivo w/o modification - and the price on the above drives is reasonable @ around $100 for 2TB, around $150 for 3TB.
IN the past non AV drives worked with no issues in the TiVos. But now that there are more streams than ever being read/written I wonder if it does make a difference now?

I've upgraded TiVo drives a few dozen times over the years and never used an AV drive. But if I do go the upgrade route with the Roamio Plus, I will be using the WD AV drive if 3TB, and if for some reason 4TB works, I will use the Seagate AV drive.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:56 AM   #38
ncbill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 174
I thought one had to directly-connect via SATA the non-AV WD drives to change firmware settings so soft boot ("restart") would work correctly?

Like I said, the AV drives are cheap enough for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
IN the past non AV drives worked with no issues in the TiVos. But now that there are more streams than ever being read/written I wonder if it does make a difference now?

I've upgraded TiVo drives a few dozen times over the years and never used an AV drive. But if I do go the upgrade route with the Roamio Plus, I will be using the WD AV drive if 3TB, and if for some reason 4TB works, I will use the Seagate AV drive.

ncbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:07 AM   #39
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
A drive-less TiVo would be a support nightmare.
Nah. External drives! Hell Tivo sells one themselves for expansion purposes.

And now that it has been shown that you can just pop a blank hard drive into a Base Roamio then a driveless Tivo is all but here.

A hard drive is a big fixed cost that doesn't get cheaper over time like silicon does. No hard drive would not just save them the cost of the drive etc. But allow them to build a much smaller box which results in additional material, shipping, distribution and retail savings.

Not that it has escaped me that an external drive isn't the most elegant-looking setup.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |