TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 69 votes, 4.93 average.
Old 08-22-2013, 07:34 PM   #91
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
If its as easy as slapping in the drive then weaknees should be arrested.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:37 PM   #92
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
I just looked at the 3TB Pipeline on Newegg and it only shows a 1 year warranty. I thought they would offer more.
The hard drives now typically have a shorter warranty. And the ones that still have 5 years are expensive. But one year is certainly very short. All the 3TB Seagates I've purchased have a 2 year warranty.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:37 PM   #93
ppartekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Middle of Silicon Valley, next to the mothership
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
If its as easy as slapping in the drive then weaknees should be arrested.
Well not arrested.. but surely not paid $120 premium (for the 3TB) over the currently easy DIY version..
ppartekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:37 PM   #94
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust View Post
Then why does it take so long to boot up?
Ya got me on that one, I have no clue.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #95
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The hard drives now typically have a shorter warranty. And the ones that still have 5 years are expensive. But one year is certainly very short. All the 3TB Seagates I've purchased have a 2 year warranty.
I'm thinking its a misprint on Neweggs part. If you look at that other Pipeline models they have 3 years.
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #96
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
If its as easy as slapping in the drive then weaknees should be arrested.
Maybe... But, we're breaking our the champagne (or beer) before we see a pic of the recording capacity, as well as other system info. Let's not forget the "Try filling the drive to capacity, then celebrate" approach...
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #97
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by nooneuknow View Post
I now have to retract a former statement that there will always be a need for pre-imaged drop-in-and-go drives (at least when it comes to the Series 5/Roamio).

Weaknees did report a 4TB issue, correct?

I wonder how they could overcome that, if all that is needed to get to 3TB is a bare and blank drive...

Now we need to know: Does it work with a non-AV-rated drive? Even if it does, has TiVo enabled using the streaming command set, finally?
What does the streaming command set do?

In the past I've never used an AV drive as a replacement drive in a TiVo and they always worked great. But I wonder if it will make any difference now in these Roamio TiVos using a non A/V drive since it is dealing with more read/write streams than in the past?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:39 PM   #98
ppartekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Middle of Silicon Valley, next to the mothership
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInDallas View Post
Ya got me on that one, I have no clue.
True test will be the next reboot since the first one did actually have to find the new drive, connections, etc.

Second time should have all that cached and be faster.
ppartekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:41 PM   #99
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
Sales of the pro model will end pretty quick.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:41 PM   #100
amseven11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Booted again going through the set up. Its doing the usual "connecting to tivo, downloading, etc" Once it's done I will update with a status. It should be noted even in the setup you can tell how much faster this thing is.


amseven11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:42 PM   #101
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
No way, that's freaking amazing.

I can have a drive here before my unit arrives on Tuesday.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:42 PM   #102
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by nooneuknow View Post
Maybe... But, we're breaking our the champagne (or beer) before we see a pic of the recording capacity, as well as other system info. Let's not forget the "Try filling the drive to capacity, then celebrate" approach...
Yes. Assuming everything else looks ok, amseven11 needs to be using all four tuners recording for the next few days to fill up the hard drive to make sure there aren't any issues.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:46 PM   #103
ppartekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Middle of Silicon Valley, next to the mothership
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. Assuming everything else looks ok, amseven11 needs to be using all four tuners recording for the next few days to fill up the hard drive to make sure there aren't any issues.
Six tuners? I thought he had a basic?
ppartekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:46 PM   #104
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by amseven11 View Post
Done. Confirmed: the OS is on the motherboard. No need for tools just change out the hard drive. Hope this helps everyone!

I just remembered I already have that exact hard drive new in the wrapper stored in a drawer.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:48 PM   #105
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppartekim View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. Assuming everything else looks ok, amseven11 needs to be using all four tuners recording for the next few days to fill up the hard drive to make sure there aren't any issues.
Six tuners? I thought he had a basic?
Where does he say six?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:48 PM   #106
TC25D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppartekim View Post
I thought he had a basic?
He does.
TC25D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:49 PM   #107
MeInDallas
Registered User
 
MeInDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by amseven11 View Post
Booted again going through the set up. Its doing the usual "connecting to tivo, downloading, etc" Once it's done I will update with a status. It should be noted even in the setup you can tell how much faster this thing is.

And what are you doing with that Uverse box down there?
MeInDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:49 PM   #108
ppartekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Middle of Silicon Valley, next to the mothership
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post
I just remembered I already have that exact hard drive new in the wrapper stored in a drawer.
Scientific tests always require duplication....
ppartekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:53 PM   #109
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppartekim View Post
Scientific tests always require duplication....
If that works I will probably run the experiment next week.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:55 PM   #110
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Where does he say six?
I changed it to four after I remembered he showed a picture of a 500GB drive which the Roamio comes with. And that has four tuners instead of six.

But either way now we need someone to try this out on the Roamio Plus. If this is confirmed to work then I will plan on getting the Roamio Plus instead of the Roamio Pro.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:57 PM   #111
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
What does the streaming command set do?

In the past I've never used an AV drive as a replacement drive in a TiVo and they always worked great. But I wonder if it will make any difference now in these Roamio TiVos using a non A/V drive since it is dealing with more read/write streams than in the past?
In the most basic way I can put it (for brevity's sake):

An AV drive acts/reads/writes/seeks & uses the same exact error correction protocols, as a non-AV drive, UNLESS the device it is in, and the software used, support and enable the ATA Streaming Extensions command set. Then, the software will tell the drive to process the AV data streams with a whole different form of error correction. It can tell the drive to only use it for the AV data, and use the standard error correction protocols for the databases and non-AV data, and there can be different "zones" on the drive for where each kind of data goes.

This whole forum is full of posts over many threads with a TONS of false information on AV versus non-AV, what it means in a TiVo, and what it means in a computer. It's also one of those half-truths I didn't like about DVR_DUDE's advertising.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!

Last edited by nooneuknow : 08-22-2013 at 08:15 PM. Reason: typo
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:58 PM   #112
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I changed it to four after I remembered he showed a picture of a 500GB drive which the Roamio comes with. And that has four tuners instead of six.

But either way now we need someone to try this out on the Roamio Plus. If this is confirmed to work then I will plan on getting the Roamio Plus instead of the Roamio Pro.
Serious ninja edit if you beat the quote.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:01 PM   #113
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,799
This brings up other questions... Is all the software related stuff on flash? (i.e. the DB, guide data, settings, etc...) And only recordings are stored on the HDD? Or Once you go through setup does it put some of that on the HDD? What happens if you remove the drive after setup and put a new one it? Does it just reset and repeat setup? Or does it remember everything and just lose the recordings? If only recordings are stored on the HDD could you simply image a smaller drive with recordings on it to a bigger drive, drop it in, and have the TiVo automatically expand to fill the extra space?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:05 PM   #114
amseven11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Hey guys just a update, its going through a system update then I should be good to go for the system info screen. I dont have cable installed yet for TV so I can't test actual recording (which is why you see U-verse box on my stand) but hopefully Charter will be out here next week. They have to install a new drop first so that part sucks but anything I can do to help I'm more then willing.
amseven11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:05 PM   #115
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,888
If they put a firmware image on there, then it's highly likely it includes everything that's needed to get things going initially... guide data and settings would have defaults and it would get other stuff online from TiVo mothership.

This is pretty good news. I might just buy a 2TB Red drive to drop into the Plus I have coming next week. I can keep the original drive as a spare/backup.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:10 PM   #116
Goober96
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 290
This is great news, indeed, but if I have to buy another drive and then void my warranty by opening the box, wouldn't it still make more sense to buy the Pro over the Plus? It's still "only" going to be about $100 more and I don't have to worry about warranty issues.
Goober96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:15 PM   #117
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,888
Unless something has changed, TiVo has never put any warranty void stickers on their boxes and has never denied a warranty claim based on doing something like this.

They have very mildly discouraged it lately but traditionally they actually were quiet fans of people tinkering and hacking with these boxes.

The key thing would be keeping the original drive and reinstalling it if you run into trouble later and it needs service.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:16 PM   #118
amseven11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Here you go guys..


amseven11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:16 PM   #119
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,888
You sir are a ROCK STAR!!

In light of this news, what would everyone recommend for a good replacement drive? I won't want something noisy. I'm leaning towards a WD RED.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #120
brianric
Registered User
 
brianric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Posts: 1,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by nooneuknow View Post
Technically, a 3.5" full-height drive is twice the height of what we now commonly call "full-height", which makes the thinner ones technically "quarter-height".
There are some of us that can remember 5.25 full height hard drives, big suckers, all of 80 MB.
brianric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |