TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-21-2013, 08:42 PM   #1
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
Where's Juliet?! >(

and by Juliet I mean simple voice activated commands! "Tivo pause", "Tivo Play", "Tivo replay" etc is really all I ever wanted!

It works great on my 360 and is totally convenient! You will not search for a remote to get up, you just say "xbox pause" and whataya know, it pauses, you get up, no remote needed.. when I come back, well, I don't want to spoil it for you guys but I sit down, and say 'xbox play' no remotes, it's like magic!

O tivo, tivo, tivo wherefore art thou voice prompts! Faster hardware was expected, with Android everywhere and Xbox One soon and so many options in the pipeline, Tivo this seemed like a easy no brainer, plus saying "tivo this" and "tivo that' somehow seems to be good advertising/marketing

Come on, who's with me!
riz

p.s. I don't want to talk to my Tivo, i want to tell it a few basic commands. It works perfectly on Xbox 360 and works outstanding on my Galaxy Nexus. Simple voice commands, not Siri people. One way commands, no talk back that's for sure.. Apple doesn't get that, nobody wants to talk to Siri, nobody!... BUT many like to give voice commands that are ONE WAY like on Android and Xbox (cause it works great)

Play, Pause, Replay, skip.. that's about it

Last edited by riz : 08-21-2013 at 10:20 PM.
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:47 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,502
Juliet will be the Mini replacement.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,746
Ug. The last thing on earth I would want to do is talk to my TiVo for actions like pause or play or up or down. Perhaps for searching, but maybe not.

Juliet should be a replacement remote that is like the Slide, with keyboard, but WiFi instead of blutooth. THAT I would want. If you must, add a microphone in THAT.
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:09 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,034
I always feel like such an idiot talking to an electronic device. Even if I'm completely alone.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:07 PM   #5
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
I hear ya guys but "Tivo pause" is not really talking to your Tivo.. Just giving it a simple command that replaces the need for a button. A button, on a remote, that may or may not always be within reach. Saying 'tivo paus'e is fast and easy, when returning 'tivo play' Not sure what's not to like here?

I don't want to talk to my Tivo, i want to tell it a few basic commands. It works perfectly on Xbox 360 and works outstanding on my Galaxy Nexus. Simple voice commands, not Siri people. One way commands, no talk back that's for sure.. Apple doesn't get that, nobody wants to talk to Siri, nobody!... BUT many like to give voice commands that are ONE WAY like on Android and Xbox (cause it works great)

Play, Pause, Replay, skip.. that's about it

Last edited by riz : 08-21-2013 at 10:13 PM.
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:10 PM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,034
What if you have multiple TiVos? TiVo allows up to 9 TiVos to coexist in the same room. How would they deal with that if they were all voice activated?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:09 AM   #7
cmclaughlan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
DO. NOT. WANT.

And I don't want it on my Xbox or XBone (Which I will wait till they have a Kinect-less SKU)
cmclaughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:45 PM   #8
riz
Registered User
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 59
I personally don't get the strong reactions for including simple one way commands. I am sooo not talking Siri, where you ask a question and get grilled for 20 minutes before she offers a internet search (which she should do without asking imo)...

On Android, "goto: tivocommunity.com" .. it does and faster than typing on a phone...
On Xbox, "Xbox pause" it does, easier than reaching for a remote and pressing the pause button

Why the hate for simple one way voice commands?
riz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:52 PM   #9
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,514
More trouble than it is worth. Gotta have the remote closeby anyway for skipping commercials, changing volume, etc.

But don't see why someone couldn't make a voice to rf/ir converter and sell to the OP and any like him.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:04 PM   #10
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 26,034
You could probably do that pretty easily with a Raspberry pi
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 02:48 AM   #11
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmclaughlan View Post
DO. NOT. WANT.
No one would make you use it...

Personally I also feel awkward talking to machines. But I suspect the younger generations won't have this problem.

I'm thinking of naming my Roamio "Juliet".
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:31 AM   #12
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
You could probably do that pretty easily with a Raspberry pi
Been trying to figure out a project to do with my pi - this could be it.
__________________
- Roamio x2; Roamio Pro; Roamio Plus
- TiVo Mini x4

- Premiere (2TB) x2 (both for sale - PM me)
- Elite XL4 (for sale)
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |