TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-20-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Sethb
Registered User
 
Sethb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 81
How many Minis can a Roamio support?

Is there a limit (I assume so) on the number of Minis you can slave to a single Roamio? Debating swapping out my 4 Tuner Premiere, 2 Tuner Premiere, and old TiVo HD in the basement for a new 6 Tuner Plus and a pair of Minis, but haven't been able to figure out if it can support two (or more) Minis. I already have a Stream as well, in case that matters...
Sethb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:43 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,809
It is supposed already have dynamic tuner allocation so it should be able to handle several Minis.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
bdraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 456
TiVo told me the limit with dynamic tuner allocation is 9.
__________________
How good can it be, if it isn't HD?
Ben Drawbaugh
Engadget HD
bdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
waterchange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
From this CNET review:

"Dynamic tuner allocation enables the Mini to release the tuner if it's not currently being used. This will allow you to have up to nine Minis connected to your main TiVo DVR, and each Mini would only occupy a tuner when you want to watch live TV through it. "
waterchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,524
I believe Tivo has an account limit of 10 active devices, so that's where the theoretical 9 Mini limit comes from. It'll be limited by your account setup.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:56 PM   #6
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,215
Better questions maybe; how many Mini's can be streaming simultaneously? I doubt it can do all nine...
__________________

WTB: Sprint iPhone5s
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:01 PM   #7
takeagabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
Better questions maybe; how many Mini's can be streaming simultaneously? I doubt it can do all nine...
The engadget review mentioned that you could not watch an active stream from another device. But the easy was to get around it is just to have it record and then you can watch the recording on as many devices as you want.
takeagabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:32 PM   #8
Sethb
Registered User
 
Sethb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 81
Excellent news, should be able to lower my CableCard bill a bit, and maybe the power bill too by getting rid of that old HD. Is there any reason to keep the Stream if you get a Plus? I saw that the Stream can handle streaming to more devices, but with only two of us in the house, two streams is all we'd ever need...
Sethb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:34 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethb View Post
Excellent news, should be able to lower my CableCard bill a bit, and maybe the power bill too by getting rid of that old HD. Is there any reason to keep the Stream if you get a Plus? I saw that the Stream can handle streaming to more devices, but with only two of us in the house, two streams is all we'd ever need...
The Roamio is supposed to have the same streaming hardware as the stream.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:46 PM   #10
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethb View Post
Excellent news, should be able to lower my CableCard bill a bit, and maybe the power bill too by getting rid of that old HD. Is there any reason to keep the Stream if you get a Plus? I saw that the Stream can handle streaming to more devices, but with only two of us in the house, two streams is all we'd ever need...
We were under the assumption Tivo was using a CPU that supported 2 streams, but that's not the case. They apparently integrated the Stream's transcoder chip right onto the motherboard, so it's the same amount of streams either way. No pressing need for the Stream with a Pro/Plus.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |