TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
View Poll Results: Which S5 model?
Roamio (Base) 19 46.34%
Romio Plus 22 53.66%
Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-20-2013, 10:57 AM   #1
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 192
Which TiVo Roamio Should I Get?

I am deciding between the Roamio and Roamio Plus, and would go with a multi-service lifetime subscription.

As far as resale value goes, and looking forward, would it be better to get the Roamio Plus that lacks OTA support? I have digital cable, but there is a possibility that I will "cut the cord" at some point in the future before breaking even on this unit.

The built-in streaming and MoCa functionality are tempting with the Pro, but I can add those to the entry level model for an additional cost.

Any feedback or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,263
Really boils down to how much the OTA support matters to you. The other stuff (Stream, MoCA) can be added later as you pointed out, so OTA is the bottom line.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
zgamer
Registered User
 
zgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 44
Base - OTA is needed, which it included stream built-in.
zgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:18 AM   #4
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgamer View Post
Base - OTA is needed, which it included stream built-in.
The base doesn't include the Stream support. (It supports Tivo-to-Tivo or Tivo-to-Mini streaming, but not transcoding to iOS/Android devices)
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:35 AM   #5
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 445
You can always add a TiVo stream to the base Roamio model with OTA and you would lose zero functionality. Even outside the home streaming will be enabled on the Stream, it's a ongoing product that will remain updated.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:36 AM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,621
Since you say you might cut the cord and go OTA only, the choice is simple. You need to get the base Roamio model since that is the only one that can handle OTA.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:44 AM   #7
mike123abc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
I would go the OTA route if you are thinking of cutting the cord in the future. You still get a 4 tuner cable DVR while you are using cable, and it will make it a lot easier to pull the trigger and see if cutting the cord works for you. If it does not, well you still can go back to cable... It is the most flexible.
mike123abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:49 AM   #8
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,263
To sauce the deal, get a free Stream when you order the base Roamio:

https://twitter.com/davezatz/status/369859923628130304
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:52 AM   #9
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 645
Only one choice for OTA as I understand it.

Otherwise Plus model is model to get.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:26 PM   #10
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,829
None of the Roamios transcode and stream to Android devices.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:42 PM   #11
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philmatic View Post
You can always add a TiVo stream to the base Roamio model with OTA and you would lose zero functionality. Even outside the home streaming will be enabled on the Stream, it's a ongoing product that will remain updated.
There is no MoCa on the base model if I understand correctly, but that is not exactly a "deal breaker" for me.
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:49 PM   #12
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayern_fan View Post
There is no MoCa on the base model if I understand correctly, but that is not exactly a "deal breaker" for me.
Again, something that can be added. You don't lose functionality, you just lose convenience.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:25 PM   #13
bayern_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 192
Just placed an order for the base Roamio. The free Stream offer helped make the decision easier. Thanks everyone for the help!
bayern_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 04:53 PM   #14
jbaum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 51
What about the pro?
jbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:01 PM   #15
zgamer
Registered User
 
zgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
The base doesn't include the Stream support. (It supports Tivo-to-Tivo or Tivo-to-Mini streaming, but not transcoding to iOS/Android devices)
...I hate spellcheck "which" should of been "wish". At least the free external stream is available for now.

Still on the fence on upgrading from an older HD. Using ATSC + analog cable currently and sounds like the analog will be available for another year or so in my area (apt building has a commercial agreement with TW).
zgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:09 AM   #16
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,689
Only problem with the base unit is the HD size. If they had one with a 2TB drive I might get one of those instead just for the peace of mind knowing that I had OTA if I wanted it. But until we know if these can actually be upgraded 500GB just isn't enough.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:00 AM   #17
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Only problem with the base unit is the HD size. If they had one with a 2TB drive I might get one of those instead just for the peace of mind knowing that I had OTA if I wanted it. But until we know if these can actually be upgraded 500GB just isn't enough.

I think even 3TB is pushing it. I just combined all my season passes on both of my Elites. AT least it gave me chance to clean things up so I was able to delete around twenty SPs. But I still have around 110 SPs now. My storage on both my Elites was around 70% but now they are shooting up pretty quickly. Plus there are a bunch of conflicts. So for me, six tuners and 3TB sounds like it will just get me by. But at least I can be down to one cable card fee.

I've decided to just pay the money and get the Pro from BestBuy. And I'll get the extended warranty from TiVo. Although someone had mentioned that I could have picked up some Amazon kindle cards from bestBuy if I would have realized that I could have picked the Pro up from Amazon yesterday and done overnight shipping and still saved 5% over BestBuy with taxes. Although Amazon will start collecting sales taxes on September 1st here in Virginia.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |