TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 4.83 average.
Old 08-05-2013, 03:59 AM   #31
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeatherA View Post
I can almost never get Netflix to work on my Premiere boxes without issues. If it's released for the mini I hope it's stored and run from the mini as opposed to accessing it from the Premiere.
The other apps don't use the Premiere. They launch locally on the Mini. So it's highly unlikely Netflix would be any different. If it's like the other apps it should run considerably better on the Mini then it does on the Premiere too.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 04:34 PM   #32
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,832
Netflix is working on both of my Mini's. Amazon icon is there now as well but it doesn't work.



The app launches about twice as fast as my XL4.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:23 PM   #33
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Netflix is working on both of my Mini's. Amazon icon is there now as well but it doesn't work.



The app launches about twice as fast as my XL4.
I'm seeing the same thing on my Mini in my bedroom.
I'll need to check my other Mini later.

And yes, Netflix launches alot faster than it does from my Elites.

EDIT: Hmm. I signed into Netflix, navigated away and then launched the app again. Then I started playing the test video that shows the resolution and bitrate. After 15 or 20 seconds my Mini rebooted.

I'll need to try it again after it's finished booting up.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:31 PM   #34
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
The same thing happened again. I started streaming a different Netflix title this time. After 15 or 20 seconds the Mini rebooted again.

EDIT: I think it has something to do with 1080P. I tried a 720P title and played it for a few minutes with no issues. But as soon as I tried a title with 1080P streams, when it goes to the 1080P bitrate, the Mini reboots. At least on the Mini in my bedroom. I'll need to try my other Mini and see if it exhibits the same behavior.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt : 08-10-2013 at 05:47 PM.
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:53 PM   #35
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The same thing happened again. I started streaming a different Netflix title this time. After 15 or 20 seconds the Mini rebooted again.

EDIT: I think it has something to do with 1080P. I tried a 720P title and played it for a few minutes with no issues. But as soon as I tried a title with 1080P streams, when it goes to the 1080P bitrate, the Mini reboots. At least on the Mini in my bedroom. I'll need to try my other Mini and see if it exhibits the same behavior.
I've been playing a TV show (Breaking Bad) for 14 minutes. So far so good.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:14 PM   #36
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
I've been playing a TV show (Breaking Bad) for 14 minutes. So far so good.
I had the same results with my other Mini. As soon as it switched to the 1080P24 stream, the Mini rebooted. I have no issues when playing a 720P or lower stream.

EDIT: I just tried the Breaking Bad Pilot. The same thing for me. As soon as it switched to the 1080P24 stream, my Mini rebooted.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:27 PM   #37
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Ok. So it must not actually have anything to do with the 1080P24 stream, but with the output of the Mini. I just forced the output of the Mini to only 720P, by unchecking the other resolutions. Now when I play the test video, I can play the regular 1080P stream and the two SUperHD streams without issue. Since Amazon didn't work on the Mini, the highest resolution I had ever used from the Mini was 1080i. But both of my Minis cannot output at 1080P24. As soon as they switch to that output resolution, they reboot.

So sbiller, what resolution is your Mini set to output? Are you able to output them at 1080P24(which is only pass through)? Or are your output resolutions set for 1080i and lower?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:57 PM   #38
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Ok. So it must not actually have anything to do with the 1080P24 stream, but with the output of the Mini. I just forced the output of the Mini to only 720P, by unchecking the other resolutions. Now when I play the test video, I can play the regular 1080P stream and the two SUperHD streams without issue. Since Amazon didn't work on the Mini, the highest resolution I had ever used from the Mini was 1080i. But both of my Minis cannot output at 1080P24. As soon as they switch to that output resolution, they reboot.

So sbiller, what resolution is your Mini set to output? Are you able to output them at 1080P24(which is only pass through)? Or are your output resolutions set for 1080i and lower?
The Mini where I was performing the primary testing was set to 720p. It turns out the other (3rd bedroom) TV is capable of 1080p. I enabled that as a video format and like you, as soon as the Super HD stream switched to 1080p, the Mini rebooted. I assume this one should be an easy one for TiVo to correct.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:59 PM   #39
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
The Mini where I was performing the primary testing was set to 720p. It turns out the other (3rd bedroom) TV is capable of 1080p. I enabled that as a video format and like you, as soon as the Super HD stream switched to 1080p, the Mini rebooted. I assume this one should be an easy one for TiVo to correct.
If TiVo knows about it.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 12:41 AM   #40
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
If TiVo knows about it.
They must know about with all the beta testing they do.

At least now I know it isn't just me. I know this was the first content I had tried on my Minis that was output in 1080P24.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 12:23 PM   #41
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
They must know about with all the beta testing they do.

At least now I know it isn't just me. I know this was the first content I had tried on my Minis that was output in 1080P24.
Yes the beta testers are us

Anyhow, not going to look a gift horse in the mouth but once again, TiVo couldn't give us a heads up or at least optimized their offerings...is that too much to ask?
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 05:04 PM   #42
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 619
I saw this this morning, tested it a bit, boom it crashes the box pretty quickly. Haven't tried forcing the TV to only do 720p, but I think there is a way to force the netflix stream to only do 720p so that might be easier.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 08:38 PM   #43
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoboy View Post
I saw this this morning, tested it a bit, boom it crashes the box pretty quickly. Haven't tried forcing the TV to only do 720p, but I think there is a way to force the netflix stream to only do 720p so that might be easier.
Just uncheck 1080P24 as an output option for the TiVo Mini and it won't reboot. It will then play the 1080P streams, but the Mini will scale it down to 1080i or 720P for output.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:59 PM   #44
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 421
My Mini doesn't even have the "Available From..." section on the Browse TV & Movies screen. It shows it is running software version 20.3.1-01-6-A92 and successfully connected to the network this morning.

What am I missing?
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:23 PM   #45
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Do you have Netflix enabled on the host TiVo? I believe the Mini will only show apps that are enabled on the host TiVo.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:39 PM   #46
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 421
Yes it is. I even launched it on my Premiere XL4 to make sure it was set up. I also noticed that Hulu+ does not show up on my Premiere.

I went to the website and made sure that "enable video downloads" was turned on. It is for the premiere, but the Mini says "n/a".
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:40 PM   #47
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Maybe a reboot of the Mini is in order? Or the host? Or both?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:07 PM   #48
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 421
I found where Hulu was disabled on the Premiere, turned all the video providers on, then rebooted the mini. Still no Netflix on the mini (Hulu+ did show up there). I guess rebooting the Premiere (will wait until nothing is recording) is my next thing to try.
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:41 AM   #49
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
Still no Netflix on the mini (Hulu+ did show up there). I guess rebooting the Premiere (will wait until nothing is recording) is my next thing to try.
Nah, they pulled the whole menu item from the Mini. Assume they'll work out the kinks and then launch for reals with a press release or some such.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 09:57 PM   #50
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 619
Gone

Yeah, mine is gone too. :-(
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 03:53 PM   #51
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Just uncheck 1080P24 as an output option for the TiVo Mini and it won't reboot. It will then play the 1080P streams, but the Mini will scale it down to 1080i or 720P for output.
You're not scaling down the resolution at all going from 1080P24 to 1080i, it's still 1920x1080 pixels. You're just changing the refresh/frame rate.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 04:45 PM   #52
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
You're not scaling down the resolution at all going from 1080P24 to 1080i, it's still 1920x1080 pixels. You're just changing the refresh/frame rate.
I suppose I should have said it would interlace the 1080P content to 1080i.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 05:40 PM   #53
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
You're not scaling down the resolution at all going from 1080P24 to 1080i, it's still 1920x1080 pixels. You're just changing the refresh/frame rate.
Actually it's a bit more complicated then that. Converting 1080p@24fps to 1080i@29.97fps requires a technique called telecine. You probably remember back in the DVD days when progressive DVD players used something called 3:2 pull down? Well that's also called reverse telecine. DVDs required 29.97fps interlaced video so movies were telecined during authoring to convert them from 24fps to 29.97fps. With BluRay and Netflix the source is left at 24fps so the playback device has to apply telecine on the fly for 1080i output. Since it's not an exact conversion it can cause some quality issues. So whenever possible you should use 1080p@24 for watching movies.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 06:00 PM   #54
stoli412
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
So whenever possible you should use 1080p@24 for watching movies.
I'll just add the caveat that you need to have a display that properly supports 1080p24. This isn't a feature on many low-end or mid-range displays and/or is implemented very poorly on others.
stoli412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 06:21 PM   #55
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
Yes you need a TV with a refresh rate of at least 120Hz otherwise a similar conversion is just happening inside the TV instead. With a 120Hz TV the math is even, they can simply display each frame for 5 cycles of the clock. With a 60Hz TV it's not even so they're back to using a 2:3 conversion to make it work out which can result in some stuttering, especially on smooth pans.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 08:26 PM   #56
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post

Actually it's a bit more complicated then that. Converting 1080p@24fps to 1080i@29.97fps requires a technique called telecine. You probably remember back in the DVD days when progressive DVD players used something called 3:2 pull down? Well that's also called reverse telecine. DVDs required 29.97fps interlaced video so movies were telecined during authoring to convert them from 24fps to 29.97fps. With BluRay and Netflix the source is left at 24fps so the playback device has to apply telecine on the fly for 1080i output. Since it's not an exact conversion it can cause some quality issues. So whenever possible you should use 1080p@24 for watching movies.
Thanks for preaching to the choir! ;-) I was trying to keep it simple. Refresh rates of 48, 72 and 96Hz work as well. I used to love setting up the old CRT projection systems with 48Hz to simulate movie theater film flicker! We at TAW, Inc. were one of, if not the first, consumer video companies to introduce these refresh rates as multiples of film's 24 Hz to get rid of judder. It was a feature in our TAW Rock+ scaler known as "Judder Terminator". Using the output of that device into the TAW-HD900 CRT at 48Hz was such a cool effect!
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:09 PM   #57
kherr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Rumor has it Netflix for the Mini will be released soon. Here's hoping the rumor is true.
Let's not forget Amazon Prime Instant (Premiere included).........

Amazon has a teaser logo making it look like it is supports Tivo but has a grayed disclaimer that Tivo is not supported ......... so why even have the logo there ?????
kherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:34 PM   #58
monkeydust
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by kherr View Post
Let's not forget Amazon Prime Instant (Premiere included).........

Amazon has a teaser logo making it look like it is supports Tivo but has a grayed disclaimer that Tivo is not supported ......... so why even have the logo there ?????
Yeah, I'm wondering if Amazon Prime instant will be available on the mini and not the Premiere. I may have to move the Mini into the bedroom and the Premiere to the basement if that's the case. May be that way since apps on the Premiere are so freakin slow.
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 03:10 AM   #59
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,492
I could see them releasing an Amazon Prime app for the Mini and new S5 only. They have much better hardware and should be able to run the app much better then the Premiere. If the hold up has anything to do with hardware then once the S5 is released I suspect we'll see something from Amazon.

Although I hope they retain some way to do the download method for rentals and purchases.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:14 AM   #60
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I could see them releasing an Amazon Prime app for the Mini and new S5 only. They have much better hardware and should be able to run the app much better then the Premiere. If the hold up has anything to do with hardware then once the S5 is released I suspect we'll see something from Amazon.

Although I hope they retain some way to do the download method for rentals and purchases.
Agreed. Seems possible that Amazon wouldn't want to release a Prime Streaming app to an underpowered platform.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |