TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2013, 08:21 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Question why no more 4-tuner Premieres at Best Buy?

Anybody know why Best Buy is no longer listing 4-tuner TiVo premieres on their website? I was looking into possibly getting one from them. They have the mini and the 2-tuner Premiere, but a simple search for "tivo" brings up no listings of 4-tuner Premieres. Also doesn't make sense if they are offering the mini (that only works with 4-tuner TiVos). They don't even have them listed as "out of stock". Could they be getting ready for the new line of TiVos? Or maybe its for another reason
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 08:26 AM   #2
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
Anybody know why Best Buy is no longer listing 4-tuner TiVo premieres on their website? I was looking into possibly getting one from them. They have the mini and the 2-tuner Premiere, but a simple search for "tivo" brings up no listings of 4-tuner Premieres. Also doesn't make sense if they are offering the mini (that only works with 4-tuner TiVos). They don't even have them listed as "out of stock". Could they be getting ready for the new line of TiVos? Or maybe its for another reason
Yes, new TiVos are on the way in. The Roamio line. Probably within 6 weeks. My Best Buy had a price tag on the Premieres that said "CLEARANCE".
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 212
I'm seeing this name Roamio and I can't get my head around whats it supposed to mean?
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:10 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,359
I really hope that's a code name and not the real name of the box. Because that is a really stupid name.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:11 PM   #5
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,250
Probably as in 'roam' - control your TiVo via phone or tablet. Stream shows via Stream or integrated Stream (6-tuner) to phone or tablet. Sideload shows via similar. Either that or the device will commit suicide. I guess it's supposed to be clever and appealing. I would have gone with the Series 5, although Samsung could have that locked up.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:33 PM   #6
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,494
I HATE THE NAME!

I just cannot stand the idea of coming on this board and talking about the ROAMIO line for the next 4 years!

Over react much? But yeah, not a fan of the name!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
I HATE THE NAME!

I just cannot stand the idea of coming on this board and talking about the ROAMIO line for the next 4 years!

Over react much? But yeah, not a fan of the name!
I'm feeling a poll in the near future on the name.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 05:10 PM   #8
series5orpremier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 79
Maybe they're trying to market to romance-starved women.
series5orpremier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 05:23 PM   #9
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
I HATE THE NAME!

I just cannot stand the idea of coming on this board and talking about the ROAMIO line for the next 4 years!

Over react much? But yeah, not a fan of the name!
Yes, but what choice did they have? Netflix still holds the rights to Qwikster...

But seriously, I agree the name is just too cute, precious. The thought of Tim Tebow plugging the Roamio. Shudder.
drebbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 06:11 PM   #10
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by drebbe View Post
The thought of Tim Tebow plugging the Roamio. Shudder.
Tim Tebow is the Romeo er Roamio.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 06:14 PM   #11
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Heck neither one of our 2 best buys in our area ever carried the 4 tuner tivo premieres ,you had to drive 45 miles to rancho cucamonga here in so. cal. matter of fact they didnt even carry the 2 tuner xl premieres,because only the ''magnolia'' best buy stores carry them.I hate that best buy does this no wonder tivo has trouble getting more customers.
celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 06:16 PM   #12
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 613
Probably a reference to TiVo losing money (Roamio is bleeding...)
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 06:50 PM   #13
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,318
Amazon is now $266.19 for the XL4 and

http://www.amazon.com/TiVo-Premiere-...dp/B005TI1ILS/
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 07:26 PM   #14
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
Amazon is now $266.19 for the XL4 and

http://www.amazon.com/TiVo-Premiere-...dp/B005TI1ILS/


Wow!! That is a good price. I'm certainly glad I got the BestBuy 4 year extended warranties on my Elites. That should help with my resale. If the XL 4 is going for $266, with $400 for lifetime that is at least $666. So hopefully I can easily sell my lifetime Elites, with the extended warranty, for around $500 plus $25 for shipping.

I guess it will depend on how many other people try to sell their ELites/XL4 TiVos and also how many people want to buy them. I guess I won't worry about it until October.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:07 PM   #15
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,522
Roamio Roamio wherefor art thou Roamio?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:18 PM   #16
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Roamio Roamio wherefor art thou Roamio?
I'm thinking more B-52's.

"Roamio if you want to. Roamio around the world."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWEfmCvu8R8

Scott
HerronScott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:23 PM   #17
replaytv
I <3 Wintergreen
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,743
I can't believe anyone is still selling Series 2 TiVos! http://www.walmart.com/ip/TiVo-TCD649080/9224215
4 tuner at wallyWorld
http://www.walmart.com/ip/TiVo-TCD75...ere-4/22572982
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:46 PM   #18
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
I'm thinking more B-52's.

"Roamio if you want to. Roamio around the world."

Scott
I'm thinking ... Romeo Void - "Never Say Never" or "Girl in Trouble"


Never Say Never - Romeo Void
You need to upgrade your Flash Player

__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:57 PM   #19
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,888
So, will they fire Tebow and hire Romo?

This name sucks.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 11:09 PM   #20
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,876
Don't really care about the name one way or another, though for sake of forums we'll need to have some sort of shorthand convention. I'll throw out my suggestion:
S5 for Roamio
S5+ for Roamio Plus
S5++ for Roamio Pro

If the only difference between the Plus and the Pro is hard drive size then the Plus will be good enough for me since 1TB is sufficient for my needs (anything that needs to be kept for very long gets offloaded anyway).
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 07:18 AM   #21
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,423
I need a minimum of 1TB for each pair of tuners.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 07:35 AM   #22
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Don't really care about the name one way or another, though for sake of forums we'll need to have some sort of shorthand convention. I'll throw out my suggestion:
S5 for Roamio
S5+ for Roamio Plus
S5++ for Roamio Pro

If the only difference between the Plus and the Pro is hard drive size then the Plus will be good enough for me since 1TB is sufficient for my needs (anything that needs to be kept for very long gets offloaded anyway).
My suggestion...

Roamio = R4
Roamio Plus = R6
Roamio Pro = R6P or R6S
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:12 AM   #23
moedaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
I can't believe anyone is still selling Series 2 TiVos! http://www.walmart.com/ip/TiVo-TCD649080/9224215
Walmart isn't. It says that they are unavailable.

But I have seen brand new Series 2 for sale on Amazon.
moedaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:23 PM   #24
Davisadm
TiVo is Back!!!!!!!!
 
Davisadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
I can't believe anyone is still selling Series 2 TiVos! http://www.walmart.com/ip/TiVo-TCD649080/9224215
It says "Not Available at this time"
Davisadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:57 AM   #25
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
My suggestion...

Roamio = R4
Roamio Plus = R6
Roamio Pro = R6P or R6S
Some have been calling the Roamio Pro the XL6...
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 10:30 AM   #26
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post
Walmart isn't. It says that they are unavailable.

But I have seen brand new Series 2 for sale on Amazon.
However, Walmart is still selling the Boxee TV and for $98. I think they must gave missed the memo.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Boxee-TV/21984297
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 05:39 PM   #27
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
However, Walmart is still selling the Boxee TV and for $98. I think they must gave missed the memo.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Boxee-TV/21984297
Alot of places are still selling the BoxeeTV. The only thing they stopped was the beta of their DVR service. And most people didn't have access to it anyway.
Although the only reason I have a BoxeeTV was because Boxee gave one to me for free. I would have never paid for one, but it still works with it's apps and liveTV.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:39 PM   #28
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
Anybody know why Best Buy is no longer listing 4-tuner TiVo premieres on their website? I was looking into possibly getting one from them. They have the mini and the 2-tuner Premiere, but a simple search for "tivo" brings up no listings of 4-tuner Premieres. Also doesn't make sense if they are offering the mini (that only works with 4-tuner TiVos). They don't even have them listed as "out of stock". Could they be getting ready for the new line of TiVos? Or maybe its for another reason
Try looking under the "Open box and in store clearance" section under "Weekly Deals". They show them on my browser at ~$248 and $148 respectively.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:20 AM   #29
scottfll954
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 27
I just pick up an XL4 for 258.00 at best buy

I just replaced 1 premiere with a XL 4 which I purchased for 258.00

I figured if I waited for the ROAMIOE`s .. I will have to transfer all of my NEW SEASON shows and that would be a pain...

I took me approx 3 hours to get it all up to date..

But well worth the savings in my opinion...

Hopefully when the ROAMIOES come out.. I will replace the last premiere I have and they can talk to each other
scottfll954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:42 AM   #30
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,820
Open Box Premiere 4 on sale at my local Best Buy for $111.99.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olstempl...&smff=Brand~@~
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |