TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-05-2013, 05:21 AM   #1
Hi8
TiVoPro - wanabe!
 
Hi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
Is it Me? or is that the way it is? SPS88S

I really can't live without the 4X FF to go back to PLAY feature, it's just seems like I lose it each time the Mini TiVo wakes up or I imagining things?

I'm not sure cuz I've had to reboot the little sucka a few time since I got it and set it up on Friday.

Is there a way to make the remote codes stick beyond a reboot?
__________________
~Hi8

(3) TiVo THX HD S3
(1) Roamio - Basic 3TB
(1) PremiereXL4 & (1) TiVo Mini
Hi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,258
Nope, only 30 sec skip (SPS30S) backdoor survives a reboot.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 01:25 PM   #3
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,916
If you're rebooting that frequently something is off, mine gets rebooted about every 45 days for various reasons, but it's NBD
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:19 AM   #4
Hi8
TiVoPro - wanabe!
 
Hi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
Well I'm not rebooting , but it must be....

It's a bedroom TiVo/TV - and I went to use it last night, Turned on the TV and it was at the Please Wait screen 4:3 just powering up screen... ???

I first thought this was related to the auto sleep feature, but other times when the TV was turned on - there was just a slight time delay before I had a picture. Then the MY Shows screen would appear.

It's like it's powering up from a cold start ??? I even get the TiVo animation ....

TiVo Mini is new to us, When it's working correctly we LOVE it!
__________________
~Hi8

(3) TiVo THX HD S3
(1) Roamio - Basic 3TB
(1) PremiereXL4 & (1) TiVo Mini

Last edited by Hi8 : 08-06-2013 at 05:24 AM.
Hi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:30 AM   #5
tcorning
Registered User
 
tcorning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 34
My Mini is pretty solid. If you just got it, it's possible that it downloaded a new release of the software during one of the connections and rebooted because of that. If it keeps happening there could be an issue though.
tcorning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 02:43 AM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,258
Agreed. I have a Mini and it never reboots on its own. Without a hard drive there is much less chance of something going wrong compared to a regular TiVo.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 05:21 AM   #7
Hi8
TiVoPro - wanabe!
 
Hi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 192
Well, last night it was still up and running.

as soon as my TV was turned on and switched to the HDMI input that it was connected to, the animation started, but it wasn't the boot up default. It was one I hadn't seen before. It was all in color. The Boot up one, I had seen earlier started in Black & white. It was very short and the My Shows screen was then displayed.

seemed fine... fingersX.
__________________
~Hi8

(3) TiVo THX HD S3
(1) Roamio - Basic 3TB
(1) PremiereXL4 & (1) TiVo Mini
Hi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:43 AM   #8
crwalter2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Waldorf, Md
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi8 View Post
Well I'm not rebooting , but it must be....

It's a bedroom TiVo/TV - and I went to use it last night, Turned on the TV and it was at the Please Wait screen 4:3 just powering up screen... ???

I first thought this was related to the auto sleep feature, but other times when the TV was turned on - there was just a slight time delay before I had a picture. Then the MY Shows screen would appear.

It's like it's powering up from a cold start ??? I even get the TiVo animation ....

TiVo Mini is new to us, When it's working correctly we LOVE it!
How is it connected to the tv?

There have been some reports of flakyness in the HDMI handshake with certain sets.

In those instances, an inexpensive HDMI switch, such as is available from Monoprice is enough to correct the problem.
__________________
Charles
crwalter2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |