TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
rrandyy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
How to control an AV receiver with separate On/Off buttons using TiVo remote?

My setup includes a TV and a Harman Kardon receiver. I want to use the remote to:
  • Turn the TV on and off
  • Turn the receiver on and off
  • Control the volume of the receiver

Unfortunately, the receiver's remote has separate On and Off buttons. I am able to program the TiVo remote to Turn the TV On/Off and the receiver On (or Off, but not both).

I want to push the power button on the remote and have both the TV and the receiver turn on. Then push the power button again and have both the TV and the receiver turn off.

Are there any practical solutions to this? I've tried programming the Tivo power button on the remote to perform (1) TV Power, (2) Receiver On, then (3) Receiver Off in the hopes that the receiver wouldn't pick up the Off signal as it is starting up. However, the receiver is too quick and this did not work.

Any suggestions? Any way to create a macro on the TiVo remote? E.g., alternate the power button between On and Off commands for the receiver?

Last edited by rrandyy : 07-25-2013 at 07:56 PM.
rrandyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 02:47 PM   #2
Krellion
...
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 426
As long as the TiVo remote you have has the IR learning ability, you can always sacrifice the Mute button's function to act as the Power Off button for the receiver. Not exactly what you are looking for, but it's at least a workaround.
__________________
Sony SVR-2000 (S1) @ 160GB (retired)
TiVo TCD648250B (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB (thanks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
TiVo HD XL (S3, Lifetime) @ 1TB - CableCARD/TA
TiVo Premiere XL4/Elite (S4, Lifetime) @ 2TB - CableCARD/TA
Krellion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:29 PM   #3
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 815
These support articles may help.
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/.../278/related/1
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/.../292/related/1
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...ogram%20remote
__________________
S2, S3 (OTA), TiVo Hd, Premiere (OTA), Roamio Basic (Comcast Cable).
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:15 AM   #4
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,960
Sorry but none of those articles address the situation where a TV, receiver etc use separate unique codes for on and off.

The programmable Tivo remotes have 4 programmable buttons. That's it. 4. Use them as you wish. Many have been asking Tivo to include a few more programmable buttons for a LONG time and thus the popularity of the Harmony line of remotes.

I use a bit of If...Then programming in my home automation system to control our home theater startup and shutdown sequence. It mostly works but would still be much higher WAF if there were just a few more programmable buttons on the TiVo remotes.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:18 AM   #5
HomieG
Nowhere Man...
 
HomieG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Posts: 4,500
Perhaps this thread will work. It did for my Onkyo receiver which has separate yon and off buttons on its remote.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb....php?p=5325377
__________________
-Homie


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HomieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:40 PM   #6
rrandyy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Thank you for the replies.

Krellion, I will consider using the mute button as "Receiver Off." However, this isnt as elegant as I prefer.

HomieG, I had tried programming TV Power + AV On + AV Off, but it did not work. The AV would always follow the last command it received.

If I ever do figure something out that works well, I'll post it here. If others have a better setup than already suggested, please let us know!
rrandyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:30 PM   #7
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomieG View Post
Perhaps this thread will work. It did for my Onkyo receiver which has separate yon and off buttons on its remote.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb....php?p=5325377
Thanks for pointing this out. My Samsung ME40A has a separate on and off on the remote and this trick with the gol remote worked like a charm
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:26 PM   #8
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,183
I ended up leaving the receiver on all the time and just pressing the mute button to turn the sound off when I had everything going thru mu Onkyo receiver before the HDMI part quit. I figure the Tivo and my Comcast DVR's stay on all the time so whats another unit.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |