TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 168
Tuning adapter question

I have two Motorola tuning adapters and both exhibit the same behavior, so I believe I can rule out a hardware issue. That said, I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing the following:

Every time my cable company experiences an outage or my power goes out, my tuning adapters go out of sync with a flashing amber light and has caused me to miss recordings especially if I'm traveling. No matter how long I leave them, they will never go back in sync unless I power cycle them and this usually solves the issue. There are times however, where multiple power cycles are necessary to get them back in sync. My cable company (Bright House) seems clueless as to why this is happening and can't seem to produce an answer.

Yet another frustrating issue with tuning adapters and SDV...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:32 PM   #2
stevewjackson
Steve W. Jackson
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post
I have two Motorola tuning adapters and both exhibit the same behavior, so I believe I can rule out a hardware issue. That said, I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing the following:

Every time my cable company experiences an outage or my power goes out, my tuning adapters go out of sync with a flashing amber light and has caused me to miss recordings especially if I'm traveling. No matter how long I leave them, they will never go back in sync unless I power cycle them and this usually solves the issue. There are times however, where multiple power cycles are necessary to get them back in sync. My cable company (Bright House) seems clueless as to why this is happening and can't seem to produce an answer.

Yet another frustrating issue with tuning adapters and SDV...
I know that you, like me, are one of those who have experienced the issue with suggestions not recording when a TA is in use. As a workaround, I have chosen to buy a timer and have mine turn off for 4 hours twice each week. I've found that often, but not always, my TA (which is also Motorola) will be blinking when we get up on a morning after it's been turned off. We haven't had a power failure long enough to outlast my UPS since getting the TA, but I'm sure it could happen there too. But when this happens, I also find that it's sometimes necessary to power cycle the TA multiple times to get it to reconnect.

I have Charter, so we don't have a common provider.
__________________
TiVo Premiere XL - Oct 2012 - Lifetime
TiVo HD - Sep 2007 - Lifetime
stevewjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:40 PM   #3
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevewjackson View Post
I know that you, like me, are one of those who have experienced the issue with suggestions not recording when a TA is in use. As a workaround, I have chosen to buy a timer and have mine turn off for 4 hours twice each week. I've found that often, but not always, my TA (which is also Motorola) will be blinking when we get up on a morning after it's been turned off. We haven't had a power failure long enough to outlast my UPS since getting the TA, but I'm sure it could happen there too. But when this happens, I also find that it's sometimes necessary to power cycle the TA multiple times to get it to reconnect.

I have Charter, so we don't have a common provider.
Thanks for the confirmation. It's just too bad that we have to use so many creative bandaids to work around issues. What do we pay all of this money to our cable companies/TiVo for? Frankly, SDV has been nothing but a pain since day one for me...
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #4
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post
Thanks for the confirmation. It's just too bad that we have to use so many creative bandaids to work around issues. What do we pay all of this money to our cable companies/TiVo for? Frankly, SDV has been nothing but a pain since day one for me...
Imagine how much they'd charge if everything worked correctly.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:52 PM   #5
ahwman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
Imagine how much they'd charge if everything worked correctly.
Good point!
ahwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 01:27 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,410
Anything that needs not to get screwed up by a power blip or outage needs to be on a UPS.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:12 AM   #7
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwman View Post
Thanks for the confirmation. It's just too bad that we have to use so many creative bandaids to work around issues. What do we pay all of this money to our cable companies/TiVo for? Frankly, SDV has been nothing but a pain since day one for me...
+1 Me too.

Of course the reason is that CableCARD and Tuning Adapters, and TiVo, are just a PITA to cable cos., and (surprise!) even the majestic powers of our federal government are insufficient to make them perform reliably. TiVo isn't able to fix the SDV issues, and the Cable Cos don't have the motivation. Guess who's left holding the bag.

Perhaps a small consolation is that even subscribers who use cable co-provided DVR's have problems with SDV channels on occasion.

I have a neighbor who uses a TWC-furnished DVR. He pays about the same price for his package WITH the DVR as I pay for my similar package (with me furnishing the TiVo DVR). He has had problems with SDV channels, but not as many as I do.

My TiVo has a lifetime sub. I've been considering going just OTA with the TiVo and signing up for the TWC DVR package my neighbor has. It won't cost me any more overall and I get to say goodbye to the Tuning Adapter. Only about one third of my season passes are cable-only. I will use other features that the TiVo provides beyond OTA, including pyTivo with the PlayOn plugin, and Amazon VOD. I don't use TiVo for Netflix because I have better devices for that.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |