TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2013, 08:16 AM   #1
bayside22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
SD-H400 Hard Drive Upgrade/Switch**Help**

Trying to take my 160 GB hard drive out of my Tivo and put it into a used Tivo I just bought and it does not see the drive at all. The cable and guide work but this Tivo does not see the drive. What do I have to do to fix this? My old Tivo had a flaky system board in it so bought this other Tivo with a bad 80 GB drive in it, pulled it and installed my 160 meg drive which works perfect in my old Tivo.

Any help would be appreciated!



Thanks,

Dan
bayside22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:17 AM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,907
Would it be asking too much for you to give at least a minimum of detail, such as what model TiVo's you're talking about.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:53 PM   #3
bayside22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Would it be asking too much for you to give at least a minimum of detail, such as what model TiVo's you're talking about.
SD-H400 Toshiba Tivo series 2
bayside22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:11 PM   #4
Davisadm
TiVo is Back!!!!!!!!
 
Davisadm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
Would it be asking too much for you to give at least a minimum of detail, such as what model TiVo's you're talking about.
It is in the Title!!!!!!
Highslide JS

Davisadm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:22 PM   #5
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,175
Both tiovos are SD-H400? and you're talking a a drive from one tivo and placing in a 2nd tivo?
What do you mean by Tivo does not see the drive? How can the guide work when that is just data on the drive that according to you, can't be seen?

Despite the lack of any information that makes sense, I'm sure that all you need to do is perform a 'clear & delete everything.' it's the only way to make a drive from one tivo work in another tivo provided that both tivos are the same model. If they are not the same, you can not just switch drives.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.

Last edited by scandia101 : 07-21-2013 at 02:28 PM.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:28 PM   #6
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davisadm View Post
It is in the Title!!!!!!
Highslide JS
There are two tivo's involved here and the OP didn't say if they were both the same or not. Knowing only one model number isn't of much value.
Even when asked for clarification the OP offered nothing more than what was already known.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:29 PM   #7
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayside22 View Post
SD-H400 Toshiba Tivo series 2
and the second tivo is...?
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:13 PM   #8
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayside22 View Post
SD-H400 Toshiba Tivo series 2
Sorry, that model is little mentioned in this forum and I was not familiar with it. Hope someone can help you.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:24 AM   #9
bayside22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
D-H400 Hard Drive Upgrade/Switch**Help**

Regarding message below, both of the Tivos are the same Toshiba SD-H400 series 2. When I go into setting everything is there and correct but the one thing that is missing is Hard Drive ID, it is blank.

Can someone please tell me how to fix that so I can start recording shows?

Thanks alot!
Dan


SD-H400 Hard Drive Upgrade/Switch**Help**
Trying to take my 160 GB hard drive out of my Tivo and put it into a used Tivo I just bought and it does not see the drive at all. The cable and guide work but this Tivo does not see the drive. What do I have to do to fix this? My old Tivo had a flaky system board in it so bought this other Tivo with a bad 80 GB drive in it, pulled it and installed my 160 meg drive which works perfect in my old Tivo.

Any help would be appreciated!



Thanks,

Dan
bayside22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 11:14 AM   #10
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,175
As I already said:
clear & delete everything

If your goal is to keep the recordings on the drive, it can not be done.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |