TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2013, 07:39 PM   #1
MzLoretta
Registered User
 
MzLoretta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Wink Considering downgrading Xfinity/Comcast and getting TiVo

Comcast has my bill getting close to $200/month ... and I'm watching less and less premium channel programming.

I'm considering getting their faster internet and smaller channel lineup for less than half of what I'm paying now monthly.

The Comcast deal is called Blast Plus or Double Play or something.

I'd like re-start my Netflix subscription and want Pandora and Amazon .... and to be able to record shows. TiVo seems like the rational choice. I was considering Roku, but don't think that's the ticket for me.

Looks like I'll need to grovel to Comcast and get a cable decoder card and TiVO Premier and save some serious cash. I don't need Comcast's DVR and bundle nonsense. I've never used the phone they forced on me.

Thanks for any help here.
MzLoretta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
MzLoretta
Registered User
 
MzLoretta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Here's an update. Just called Comcast and have downgraded their service. Yes, I do need a cablecard decoder, but it's only a buck or two.

Am ordering my TiVo when I get my next paycheck. Yippee!!
MzLoretta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 07:41 AM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,571
Use the TiVo as a DVR and get a Roku for the streaming services. The Roku runs circles around the TiVo for the streaming services. They both compliment each other very well.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 08:06 AM   #4
blips
Registered User
 
blips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 1,796
Does Roku have commercials on the content they stream?
blips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:14 PM   #5
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,180
Roku is just a box, it does not provide content, it just enables you to access content. The content provider may (eg Hulu) or may not (eg Netflix) insert ads.

Actually, let me correct my self, on the Channel page there is an ad:

In this case one for Vudu.
__________________

WTB: Sprint iPhone5s
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 01:22 AM   #6
dsnotgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 155
Roku is better but I use the tivo all the time and don't have issues. May not be the fastest but it def gets the job done and no need to change remotes/ inputs to use it.netflix and youtube (when I connect it to my smartphone to choose videos) work great on tivo.
dsnotgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |