TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2013, 10:52 PM   #1
Electropura21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
cloning tivo hd with laptop, do i need 2 usb sata adapters?

i know there are many MANY places that discuss how to use winMFS to clone the tivo hd harddrive, and i've watched 2 youtube videos that pretty much walk you through it. the thing is, all the descriptions i've seen use a desktop, which i don't have.

i'm not a techie (more of a dangerous novice), but from what i can tell you need 2 sata adapters and both drives plugged in simultaneously to do a full clone (and keep the programs) using mfscopy.

the harddrive i'm planning on buying is this one from amazon.com, which people confirm worked for their tivo hd.
WD AV-GP 1 TB AV Video Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB Cache - WD10EURX

my problem/questions:
1) am i correct in assuming i need 2 adapters?
2) do i need the "double usb" adapters for extra power, or would a "single usb" adapter work?
3) my lenovo has 3 usb's on 1 side, and 1 usb on the other. if i need 2 "double usb" adapters, i'm gonna have a problem. could i get away with the "double usb" for the 1TB drive (runs 7200rpm), and a "single usb" for the original tivo hd drive?
4) all things being equal, i'd rather not spend a ton of money on these adapters (although they're nice to have for emergencies, i'm not sure when i'd use one again-- let alone 2). can i get away with the cheap ones under $8 or do i really need to fork out $20+ times two?

those are my big questions. given the fount of knowledge out here, i'm open to adapter recommendations (or any pitfalls i'm missing) too!

thanks!
Electropura21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:14 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electropura21 View Post
i know there are many MANY places that discuss how to use winMFS to clone the tivo hd harddrive, and i've watched 2 youtube videos that pretty much walk you through it. the thing is, all the descriptions i've seen use a desktop, which i don't have.

i'm not a techie (more of a dangerous novice), but from what i can tell you need 2 sata adapters and both drives plugged in simultaneously to do a full clone (and keep the programs) using mfscopy.

the harddrive i'm planning on buying is this one from amazon.com, which people confirm worked for their tivo hd.
WD AV-GP 1 TB AV Video Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB Cache - WD10EURX

my problem/questions:
1) am i correct in assuming i need 2 adapters?
2) do i need the "double usb" adapters for extra power, or would a "single usb" adapter work?
3) my lenovo has 3 usb's on 1 side, and 1 usb on the other. if i need 2 "double usb" adapters, i'm gonna have a problem. could i get away with the "double usb" for the 1TB drive (runs 7200rpm), and a "single usb" for the original tivo hd drive?
4) all things being equal, i'd rather not spend a ton of money on these adapters (although they're nice to have for emergencies, i'm not sure when i'd use one again-- let alone 2). can i get away with the cheap ones under $8 or do i really need to fork out $20+ times two?

those are my big questions. given the fount of knowledge out here, i'm open to adapter recommendations (or any pitfalls i'm missing) too!

thanks!

The WD20EURS would be a much better buy "amount of storage space per dollar" ratio-wise, assuming you're talking about a Series 3 or newer TiVo.

A laptop is not going to be able to provide enough power to run a 3.5" hard drive via a USB port.

I'm not sure it would be able to power one hooked up in place of its internal 2.5"

You need something for each drive that has its own power supply, and only uses the USB part for data transfer.

You could look into finding a good deal on an external enclosure for a 3.5" SATA drive, and when you're done TiVo upgrading, use it with another drive as a backup for your laptop.

That would leave you with having money tied up in just one of those "naked", or "caseless" adapters that would be sitting around awaiting an emergency.


Or, instead of getting an empty external case and buying a drive for it later, you could get an external drive at least as big as the original TiVo drive, use the one caseless adapter to connect the TiVo drive, copy the TiVo drive to the external, which would wipe out any software that came included with that external drive, like backup software and such (which you could copy to your laptop's hard drive first), then copy from that to the new drive now hooked to the caseless adapter in place of the original TiVo drive, and that would leave you with an external drive for laptop backup.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 01:14 AM   #3
Lensman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hoboken, NJ (Verizon Fios); Pembroke Pines, FL (Comcast)
Posts: 155
Note that one of the two USB connectors in the "double" is only for power so you can plug it into a wall-wart USB power cube. You probably already have one so I'm guessing this is a "free" option.

Alternatively you could buy a USB extension cable that would enable the double cable to be plugged into both the left and right side USB ports of your Lenovo laptop.

The most expensive option might be to buy the Startech HDD duplicator I just bought. But for $80 you get a standalone HDD duplicator with separate power supply! It doubles as an external eSATA or USB drive dock. I used it to duplicate and then expand my Premiere drive.

FYI: Watch out for the single drive size limits for the Tivo S3 classic and Tivo HD (Series 3). You're fine with your original plan but as an FYI using standard upgrade procedures the max single-drive capacity is 1.26 TB.
Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:15 AM   #4
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lensman View Post
FYI: Watch out for the single drive size limits for the Tivo S3 classic and Tivo HD (Series 3). You're fine with your original plan but as an FYI using standard upgrade procedures the max single-drive capacity is 1.26 TB.
As long as you have 11.0k, you can now use WinMFS to go up to 2.0TB.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 02:49 PM   #5
stamasd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: wrapper state
Posts: 4,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
That would leave you with having money tied up in just one of those "naked", or "caseless" adapters that would be sitting around awaiting an emergency.
A "naked/caseless" adapter with its own power supply is $9.99 at dealextreme http://www.dx.com
http://dx.com/p/usb-sata-ide-cable-set-474
__________________
I hadn't known there were so many idiots in the world until I started using the Internet - Stanisław Lem
stamasd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:22 PM   #6
Lensman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hoboken, NJ (Verizon Fios); Pembroke Pines, FL (Comcast)
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
As long as you have 11.0k, you can now use WinMFS to go up to 2.0TB.
Dammit! I can't keep up!

Would you tell me where I can look for the documentation on how to do this upgrade?

If I don't care about my recordings because I just divorced my drives and lost all my recordings, do I just do a WinMFS backup of my old drive and then a restore, expand, and supersize of my old drive?

Sorry for the hijacking of the thread.
Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:41 PM   #7
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lensman View Post
Dammit! I can't keep up!

Would you tell me where I can look for the documentation on how to do this upgrade?

If I don't care about my recordings because I just divorced my drives and lost all my recordings, do I just do a WinMFS backup of my old drive and then a restore, expand, and supersize of my old drive?

Sorry for the hijacking of the thread.
Yup.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 07:28 PM   #8
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lensman View Post
Dammit! I can't keep up!

Would you tell me where I can look for the documentation on how to do this upgrade?

If I don't care about my recordings because I just divorced my drives and lost all my recordings, do I just do a WinMFS backup of my old drive and then a restore, expand, and supersize of my old drive?

Sorry for the hijacking of the thread.
I don't think you need to do anything special see WinMFS - Full Guide
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:40 AM   #9
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lensman View Post
Dammit! I can't keep up!

Would you tell me where I can look for the documentation on how to do this upgrade?

If I don't care about my recordings because I just divorced my drives and lost all my recordings, do I just do a WinMFS backup of my old drive and then a restore, expand, and supersize of my old drive?

Sorry for the hijacking of the thread.
Check out this post.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...49#post9693049

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |