TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2013, 05:31 PM   #1
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Installed pyTivo - Now What?

I have installed pyTivo successfully on my Ubuntu server.

It starts fine and I can see my server when I go to MyShows on my Tivo.

But how do I see all my Tivo shows, in order to transfer them to my Ubuntu server??

I tried going to my local ip in firefox and the only thing that shows up is 'Settings'.

Is there a gnome GUI that I use to transfer files from my Tivo to Ubuntu? So confused.

Thank you!
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:35 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
Go into settings (or edit the pyTivo.conf file), and set your tivo_mak and togo_path.

http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/wiki/i...ivo_to_work.3F
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Yep. Did that. Sorry for being ignorant. After reading for 10-12 hours on these forums, I thought I'd make a post.

Where do I go to on my Ubuntu box to see my Tivo'd shows/movies and start transferring them to that server? Thanks!

See conf file:

[Server]
port = 9032
ffmpeg = /usr/bin/ffmpeg
tivo_password = xxxxxxx
tivo_mak = xxxxxxxxxx
ffmpeg_wait = 60
tivo_username = xxxx at xxxx dot com

[MyMovies]
type = video
path = /nfs/Movies

[_tivo_SD]

[_tivo_HD]
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Couldn't PM you b/c I didn't have enough forum posts. But I'd be happy to send you my ip address so you can ssh or log in with firefox on port 9032 (forwarded).

Thank you!
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:35 PM   #5
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
You've set the tivo_mak, but not the togo_path. You need both.

When the options are set correctly, "Pull from TiVos" will appear on the pyTivo web interface.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 01:29 AM   #6
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden_35 View Post
Couldn't PM you b/c I didn't have enough forum posts. But I'd be happy to send you my ip address so you can ssh or log in with firefox on port 9032 (forwarded).

Thank you!
You can point your browser to "localhost:9032" and it will get you into PyTivo and settings. When it is properly setup, you will also see your Tivos there on the same page.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:12 AM   #7
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Ok, set my pyTivo.conf in: /home/Michael/pyTivo/ to:

[Server]
port = 9032
ffmpeg = /usr/bin/ffmpeg
tivo_password = ******
tivo_mak = *********
ffmpeg_wait = 60
tivo_username = **********
togo_path = /nfs/Movies

[MyMovies]
type = video
path = /nfs/Movies

[_tivo_SD]

[_tivo_HD]

Still doesnt show up in my localhost in Firefox. Only see settings.
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:38 AM   #8
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden_35 View Post
Ok, set my pyTivo.conf in: /home/Michael/pyTivo/ to:

[Server]
port = 9032
ffmpeg = /usr/bin/ffmpeg
tivo_password = ******
tivo_mak = *********
ffmpeg_wait = 60
tivo_username = **********
togo_path = /nfs/Movies

[MyMovies]
type = video
path = /nfs/Movies

[_tivo_SD]

[_tivo_HD]

Still doesnt show up in my localhost in Firefox. Only see settings.
Comparing your .conf file to mine, although mine is for Windows. I have the full file path specified (IE: c:\PyTivo\movies)

For you, you may need to specify the full server path. (ie.: //servername/usr/bin/ffmpeg) Not exactly sure, just a guess.

It might even be similar to the path you specified for PyTivo.conf (/home/michael/....)
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:24 AM   #9
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
ThAbtO, that is the full path. We're not afflicted with the misbegotten concept of drive letters in Linux.

golden_35, after making the changes, did you restart pyTivo? Also, are you sure that this is the pyTivo.conf that pyTivo is using?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:49 PM   #10
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Yep, I shut down and started it again. Not too sure how to choose the path of the .conf file in pyTivo...
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:49 PM   #11
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Weird, so I typed /etc/init.d/pyTivo start and it showed earlier results of only showing 'Settings'

But when stopped pyTivo, then navigated to the pyTivo directory in terminal and executed script with ./pyTivo.py, it worked!

Now I am getting booted off of it when I try to navigate to any folders (Tivo suggestions, etc).

Will update after I try some different things.

Thanks!
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:58 PM   #12
golden_35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Ok, quick update:

So I can now see the videos on the main directory of the Tivo, but not in any folders.

Note that my Tivo is on 192.168.1.11 and my server is 192.168.1.50 (static).

Here is the full error when trying to navigate to TiVo Suggestions:

Code:
ERROR:pyTivo:Exception during request from ('192.168.1.4', 49885)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 593, in process_request_thread
    self.finish_request(request, client_address)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 334, in finish_request
    self.RequestHandlerClass(request, client_address, self)
  File "/home/michael/pyTivo/httpserver.py", line 91, in __init__
    client_address, server)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 649, in __init__
    self.handle()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/BaseHTTPServer.py", line 340, in handle
    self.handle_one_request()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/BaseHTTPServer.py", line 328, in handle_one_request
    method()
  File "/home/michael/pyTivo/httpserver.py", line 124, in do_GET
    self.handle_query(query, tsn)
  File "/home/michael/pyTivo/httpserver.py", line 177, in handle_query
    if self.do_command(query, command, basepath, tsn):
  File "/home/michael/pyTivo/httpserver.py", line 156, in do_command
    method(self, query)
  File "/home/michael/pyTivo/plugins/togo/togo.py", line 123, in NPL
    FirstAnchor = tag_data(items[0], 'Links/Content/Url')
IndexError: list index out of range


Last edited by golden_35 : 07-07-2013 at 05:47 PM.
golden_35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:36 PM   #13
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,113
That error would come up on any empty folder. I've fixed that, but the Premiere software's TTG interface always presents Suggestions (and HD Recordings) as an empty folder, even when it's not (a TiVo-side bug). However, other folders should work (and should've worked before).

Also, yes, settings were sometimes not being saved from the web interface. I've fixed that, too. But it still sounds like you may be using two different pyTivo.conf files, depending on how you start it. Check for /etc/pyTivo.conf, as well as wherever pyTivo.py is installed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |