TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
rarceneaux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Tivo 4 tuner and Charter

I want to get a 4 turner and I have a HD now with a cable card and tuning adapter. Tivo said I can't record any Channels that are analog so does that mean any low channels that don't have a matching HD channel with charter won't work? Am I missing something?
rarceneaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:23 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,651
Depends. In some areas they do what's called simulcasting, which means all the analog stations actually have a digital equivalent and the TiVo will record those just fine. However it can not record any channels that are analog only. In my area we have Charter and we still have about 30 analog only channels. I can't record any of them on my 4 tuner Premiere.

The easiest way to tell if you have any analog channels is to go into Messages & Setting, CableCards & devices, Tuning Adapter, Test channels. Any channel you can not access on this screen is analog and will not be capable of being recorded on a 4 tuner unit. If all of your channels come through this screen then you're fine.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:30 PM   #3
XIBM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 63
I am on the Gainesville GA Charter System and record 106 Bloomberg all the time. I can also see live TV on all the low channels but have not tried recording them. I do have a problem with the XL4 it that it stalls about once a week and has to be rebooted but Tivo is hopefully working on the problem, see Loses all Channels thread...
XIBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:38 PM   #4
rarceneaux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Depends. In some areas they do what's called simulcasting, which means all the analog stations actually have a digital equivalent and the TiVo will record those just fine. However it can not record any channels that are analog only. In my area we have Charter and we still have about 30 analog only channels. I can't record any of them on my 4 tuner Premiere.

The easiest way to tell if you have any analog channels is to go into Messages & Setting, CableCards & devices, Tuning Adapter, Test channels. Any channel you can not access on this screen is analog and will not be capable of being recorded on a 4 tuner unit. If all of your channels come through this screen then you're fine.
I did the test above and when I test channels they all come through so is that something the tuning adapter and M card takes care of making all channels digital. I have a tv in a spare bedroom and I can get the basic channels on that tv with the cable going into the tv so at that would tell me the basic cable is analog.
rarceneaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 02:52 AM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,651
Sounds like they are doing simulcasting in your area. Basically all the low channels have two versions an analog and a digital version. When an anlog only device tunes them they get the analog version, but when a digital device tunes them they get the digital version. You can verify this by trying to record one of the low channels. If it is in fact digital then it will not offer you the quality selection option. (i.e. Best, High, etc...) If it's analog then it will.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:08 PM   #6
rarceneaux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Got my Tivo 4 tuner and all Channels work with charter. tivo moved my $6.95 plan to the Tivo 4 under a special they had so I am happy.
rarceneaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |