TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 420
Dolby Audio Setting

I'm using a 5.1 Sound Bar so I would think I should set the Audio setting on my Premiere to Dolby Audio correct? But notice when changing channels the audio takes a few seconds longer to come through the speakers. Is this normal???
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:06 PM   #2
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,107
That doesn't happen for me.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:10 PM   #3
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
I'm using a 5.1 Sound Bar so I would think I should set the Audio setting on my Premiere to Dolby Audio correct? But notice when changing channels the audio takes a few seconds longer to come through the speakers. Is this normal???
When set to PCM, which kills the DD5.1, there is no delay? Is there a delay on non 5.1 channels or shows?
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 420
Should I be using PCM with a 5.1 sound bar???
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:55 PM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
Should I be using PCM with a 5.1 sound bar???
From your manual:
When selecting the Dolby Digital to
PCM setting, the audio signal will be
downmixed from Dolby Digital 5.1 to
2-channel PCM.

So why have a 5.1 soundbar? Probably, like my AVR, it takes a second to change modes. I can't explain your large delay on audio.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 04:31 PM   #6
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 420
Should I have the Optical Cable going into the back of TiVo or back of my TV from Sound bar? Right now I have it going into TV.
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:29 PM   #7
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
Should I have the Optical Cable going into the back of TiVo or back of my TV from Sound bar? Right now I have it going into TV.
The back of the TiVo unless you KNOW your TV passes 5.1 out its optical port from its HDMI inputs. Some do - Some don't.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 09:48 AM   #8
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
I'm using a 5.1 Sound Bar so I would think I should set the Audio setting on my Premiere to Dolby Audio correct? But notice when changing channels the audio takes a few seconds longer to come through the speakers. Is this normal???
I notice this delay with my Dolby Digital equipped HDTV via HDMI with it's built in speakers. When the audio is set to PCM only, the delay is gone. Been experiencing this since 2010.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:51 AM   #9
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 420
When I plugged the optical cable into the TIVO the sound bar stayed on (hearing sound) when TV was off. What am I doing wrong?
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:59 AM   #10
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
When I plugged the optical cable into the TIVO the sound bar stayed on (hearing sound) when TV was off. What am I doing wrong?
Why should the TiVo care if your TV is on or off? If you put the TiVo in Standby that should disable the audio and video output. A programmable remote could do it with fewer keystrokes. Otherwise, plug it into your TV and live with what the TV sends out its optical port.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 01:13 PM   #11
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by timstack8969 View Post
When I plugged the optical cable into the TIVO the sound bar stayed on (hearing sound) when TV was off. What am I doing wrong?
Have you tried programming the TiVo remote to control both the TV and soundbar? I do that with my TV and receiver. Just hit the TV power button and toggle on/off both the TV and Receiver.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |