TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 21 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 06-27-2013, 05:37 PM   #181
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
We have a model number -- Series 5/TCD848000

On the MoCA Alliance webpage, they list devices that are MoCA certified and this was just recently added.

The head scratcher is that it's MoCA 1.1 certified when the most likely Broadcom chip is 2.0 certified... Going with a separate Entropic or similar solution instead?

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-27-2013 at 05:46 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:44 PM   #182
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
We have a model number -- Series 5/TCD848000

On the MoCA Alliance webpage, they list devices that are MoCA certified and this was just recently added.

The head scratcher is that it's MoCA 1.1 certified when the most likely Broadcom chip is 2.0 certified.
Nice find! Tweeted to Dave Zatz and Richard Lawler of Engadget.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:46 PM   #183
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
We have a model number -- Series 5/TCD848000

On the MoCA Alliance webpage, they list devices that are MoCA certified and this was just recently added.

The head scratcher is that it's MoCA 1.1 certified when the most likely Broadcom chip is 2.0 certified.
Very nice!
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:49 PM   #184
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Weird that only one device was certified. Hopefully it's a process and not that only one of new devices has MoCA, that would be disappointing.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:51 PM   #185
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
We have a model number -- Series 5/TCD848000

On the MoCA Alliance webpage, they list devices that are MoCA certified and this was just recently added.

The head scratcher is that it's MoCA 1.1 certified when the most likely Broadcom chip is 2.0 certified... Going with a separate Entropic or similar solution instead?
Hmmm... Only one box?
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:54 PM   #186
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Have the model numbers actually ever meant anything? I know in the past it gave us an idea of hard drive.

Also what if they end up using two different Broadcom chips. I would hope they opt for a better chip in the 6 tuner since we know how well it worked in the 2 vs 4 tuner using the same chip. Maybe the second box is still going through certification.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:54 PM   #187
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
I've been keeping an eye on the page. This was added in the last day or 2. There could be more to come. We just keep watching I guess.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:01 PM   #188
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Have the model numbers actually ever meant anything? I know in the past it gave us an idea of hard drive.

Also what if they end up using two different Broadcom chips. I would hope they opt for a better chip in the 6 tuner since we know how well it worked in the 2 vs 4 tuner using the same chip. Maybe the second box is still going through certification.
It could mean a 1TB model, but TiVo started being inconsistent with this when the TiVo Premiere XL4 came out:



Previously the last 3/4 digits determined the size of the internal drive, with all zeros denoting 1 TB, not so much anymore.

EDIT: The Wiki is wrong, it is likely to be a 1TB model.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:02 PM   #189
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philmatic View Post
Nice find! Tweeted to Dave Zatz and Richard Lawler of Engadget.
Thanks! Probably can't do anything with the tidbit tonight as I got some familial obligations (and I've got a couple other irons in the fire I may wait on...). One device listing is interesting, as we know there are at least two models (consisting of at least three configs) in play. Hm. Perhaps a lower-end model won't include MoCA or it's a delay in certification or staggered release. IF I HAD to place a wager, I'd bet we'll see another one show up before too long.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:04 PM   #190
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
Hmmm... What's the TCDA90000? I know the TCDA92000 is the Mini and TCDA94000 is the Stream, but what's the TCDA90000?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:05 PM   #191
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Hmmm... What's the TCDA90000? I know the TCDA92000 is the Mini and TCDA94000 is the Stream, but what's the TCDA90000?
I don't have time to research now, but it's probably the Preview.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:06 PM   #192
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
The 90000 is the Preview. It has MoCA.

I'm guessing the second 8 suggests this model is of the THX/Glo Remote/XL variety. As the PXL was "748", XL4 was "758", and the TivoHD XL was "658". So perhaps this is the rumored > 2 TB (3TB?) configuration. Not sure.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-27-2013 at 06:17 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:07 PM   #193
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Hmmm... What's the TCDA90000? I know the TCDA92000 is the Mini and TCDA94000 is the Stream, but what's the TCDA90000?
The Preview or Q? Whatever was the Cable-only unit. Makes sense since the certification dates back to 4/12/2011.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:07 PM   #194
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
I don't have time to research now, but it's probably the Preview.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
The 90000 is the Preview. It has MoCA.
Ahhh.. OK. I forgot about the Preview.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:10 PM   #195
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
The head scratcher is that it's MoCA 1.1 certified when the most likely Broadcom chip is 2.0 certified... Going with a separate Entropic or similar solution instead?
Maybe they only applied for 1.1 certification? The Mini is only capable of 1.1 so they may not actually need 2.0 features. Or this could be the 4 tuner unit and it uses a lesser chip then what we expect to be in the 6 tuner unit.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:19 PM   #196
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
Any guesses what OSP stands for? All of the other Tivo models there have an OSP distinction.

Edit: Nevermind. "An OSP device is intended for installation for special applications only by service providers and is not usually available in the retail market." (This doesn't really apply since we do have retail products with these model numbers.)
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:24 PM   #197
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Maybe they only applied for 1.1 certification? The Mini is only capable of 1.1 so they may not actually need 2.0 features. Or this could be the 4 tuner unit and it uses a lesser chip then what we expect to be in the 6 tuner unit.
It's possible. Can the integrated MoCA properly function as a bridge like the P4/XL4 solution does? Perhaps it was necessary to go off-chip to maintain bridging. And cheaper 1.1 chips should be "good enough" especially since the Mini and everything else is 1.1 and can't go higher anyway.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:27 PM   #198
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Does the Broadcom chip allow them to provide MoCA bridging capabilities? Maybe it was a choice between MoCA 2.0 and no bridging capabilities and MoCA 1.1 with bridging.
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:28 PM   #199
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philmatic View Post
Does the Broadcom chip allow them to provide MoCA bridging capabilities? Maybe it was a choice between MoCA 2.0 and no bridging capabilities and MoCA 1.1 with bridging.
Yeah, that's what I'm figuring.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:33 PM   #200
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
Hmmm... could be. The details of the Broadcom chip are sort of vague, so I'm not sure if it does bridging. If not then this is a good theory.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:43 PM   #201
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
Did anyone else notice that the previous gen units were lumped together as....

TCD750500 / TCD758250

And this new entry is listed as.....

Series 5/TCD848000

Maybe those are two different models? Maybe one of the two units doesn't have a model number yet so it's currently just designated as "Series 5"?
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:43 PM   #202
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philmatic View Post
It could mean a 1TB model, but TiVo started being inconsistent with this when the TiVo Premiere XL4 came out:



Previously the last 3/4 digits determined the size of the internal drive, with all zeros denoting 1 TB, not so much anymore.

EDIT: The Wiki is wrong, it is likely to be a 1TB model.
If they just use the last three, it could be 1,2, or 3TB. Still it could be the base Premiere 4 if just 1TB.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:08 PM   #203
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
They probably wont use the model number to indicate HD size anymore. They have that 8 in there to differentiate between standard and XL units. Could just be...

TCD848000 = XL
TCD840000 = standard

And maybe the 6 tuner will be TCD858000/TCD850000
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:12 PM   #204
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Did anyone else notice that the previous gen units were lumped together as....

TCD750500 / TCD758250

And this new entry is listed as.....

Series 5/TCD848000

Maybe those are two different models? Maybe one of the two units doesn't have a model number yet so it's currently just designated as "Series 5"?
Could be. But if they are similar enough to be lumped together, their model # convention should be rather easy. TCD848000/TCD846000 for example.

I tend to believe there will only be one 4-tuner model. Perhaps this is the lone 4-tuner model with the 6-tuner models with multiple configs still to come.

Oy. Who knows. So funny how these little nuggets make us go nuts with guesses. At least we know they consider this gen a Series 5. Heh.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-27-2013 at 07:32 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:32 PM   #205
P42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 01460
Posts: 1,261
Based on the MoCA certification of prior Tivo, how long after do they typically show up on shelves?
P42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:40 PM   #206
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by P42 View Post
Based on the MoCA certification of prior Tivo, how long after do they typically show up on shelves?
I don't know if it's a direct indicator. The answer is always vaguely "months". But all separate clues point to Sept/Oct.

This reminds me though, if there is integrated wifi as rumored, technically I believe there should also be an FCC certification as well if there wasn't one already. Dave found the BT remote test, was there ever a test found for the WiFi?

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-27-2013 at 07:58 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:41 PM   #207
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,995
The Elite (aka XL4) was certified on 8/16/11 and the press release announcing it was on 9/7/11. However the Mini was certified on 9/11/12 and and the pres release announcing it was on 3/11/13. So somewhere between 3 weeks and 5 months.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:44 PM   #208
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
The Elite (aka XL4) was certified on 8/16/11 and the press release announcing it was on 9/7/11. However the Mini was certified on 9/11/12 and and the pres release announcing it was on 3/11/13. So somewhere between 3 weeks and 5 months.
Probably heavily dependent on the timing of new software. The hardware is likely waiting at this point for the FCC waiver to be issued sometime in July.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:06 PM   #209
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
This reminds me though, if there is integrated wifi as rumored, technically I believe there should also be an FCC certification as well if there wasn't one already. Dave found the BT remote test, was there ever a test found for the WiFi?
Maybe... if WiFi and/or RF is integrated into a (Broadcom) chip that's already been approved, they may not have to do any additional certification. While I don't think TiVo would bother, it's also possible to be somewhat sneaky with FCC filings by using the hardware manufacturer or testing firm names. Of course, I'm continuing to scan - but the collective is more than welcome to assist!

In fact, I'll pass along one of my vectors... just don't tip off Engadget Richard before you tip me if we hit pay dirt.

http://certifications.wi-fi.org/sear...ompany_id=2020
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:16 PM   #210
Philmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
In fact, I'll pass along one of my vectors... just don't tip off Engadget Richard before you tip me if we hit pay dirt.

http://certifications.wi-fi.org/sear...ompany_id=2020
I thought you had familial obligations?
Philmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |