TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #61
Ment
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: People's Republic of Boulder
Posts: 7,909
Are there any official CBS apps for BB or for the live stream watchers?
Ment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 02:53 PM   #62
DancnDude
Thrice as nice
 
DancnDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 7,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ment View Post
Are there any official CBS apps for BB or for the live stream watchers?
According to the CBS website, the streams are "multi-device/multi-platform" and they specifically state that you can watch on iPad, iPhone, and select Android devices. It's unclear if there's an app or if you just watch from a mobile website.
http://www.cbs.com/shows/big_brother..._info/#anytime
__________________
XBox Live Gamertag - DancnDude
Wii code - 5559-0767-1390-1788
DancnDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:27 AM   #63
Bob Coxner
Registered User
 
Bob Coxner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,637
It was censored for language, so we got constant silent breaks rather than bleeps. It makes it totally frustrating and useless for me.
__________________
Sceptre 40" X405BV-FHD3
Sony 34" HD KD34XBR970
R22 DVR / HR20-700 HD DVR
DirecTV since 1999
Bob Coxner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:35 AM   #64
Jolt
Disgruntled Member
 
Jolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 2,393
Yeah that was extremely annoying.
__________________
Xbox Gamer Tag: Galfrun
Jolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:57 AM   #65
pmyers
Registered User
 
pmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14,200
Well...the show is still in SD. F*ck you CBS. I've recorded the first episode but I'm really on the fence if to start watching. I haven't missed a season but that is 3 nights a week I'd have back and it really irks me that it is still in SD. It litterally takes up like half of my TV screen.
pmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:01 AM   #66
Steveknj
Lost in New Joisey
 
Steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 34,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmyers View Post
Well...the show is still in SD. F*ck you CBS. I've recorded the first episode but I'm really on the fence if to start watching. I haven't missed a season but that is 3 nights a week I'd have back and it really irks me that it is still in SD. It litterally takes up like half of my TV screen.
Anyone come across a link anywhere which explains why it's still in SD? It makes no sense to me.
__________________
Annoying Blurb
Steveknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:30 AM   #67
pmyers
Registered User
 
pmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveknj View Post
Anyone come across a link anywhere which explains why it's still in SD? It makes no sense to me.
I've never heard any CBS response, just internet mumblings about HD being harder to edit or storage space or some other BS.

The fact is that this is a Prime time, major network show, on 3 times a week....and is still in SD.

Seriously, is there ANY show on ANY major network that is on in Prime time that is NOT in HD?
pmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:42 AM   #68
Shaunnick
Registered User
 
Shaunnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,943
Here is an interview from 2010 where the HD explanation is what the internet rumors say.

http://www.realityblurred.com/realit...grodner_meehan

Look for the question 'Whether the show will ever be filmed in HD'.

Quote:
Whether the show will ever be filmed in HD: There’s a reason why the show isn’t likely to be in high definition any time soon, and it has to do with the way Big Brother is produced. Rich Meehan explained, “We would love it, but it’s very difficult because of the amount of footage and tape that we have. And as fast as we have to turn it around, and the sheer space that it would require to have all that media in our Avids would be massive.”

Shaunnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:58 AM   #69
pmyers
Registered User
 
pmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaunnick View Post
Here is an interview from 2010 where the HD explanation is what the internet rumors say.

http://www.realityblurred.com/realit...grodner_meehan

Look for the question 'Whether the show will ever be filmed in HD'.
Which of course is total BS because BBAD was in HD on Showtime for at least the last year (that's one of the reason people are so upset about it moving to TVguide channel). I'm not sure when it started in HD but it might have been even longer.
pmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:01 AM   #70
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777

WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:11 AM   #71
xuxa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmyers View Post
Which of course is total BS because BBAD was in HD on Showtime for at least the last year (that's one of the reason people are so upset about it moving to TVguide channel). I'm not sure when it started in HD but it might have been even longer.
Well the Showtime feed wasn't edited , that is where the issues is/was, but that excuse while somewhat valid in 2010, in 2013 is not a big deal at all, storage is cheap, and all post/editing equip handles HD easily.
xuxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:15 AM   #72
Steveknj
Lost in New Joisey
 
Steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 34,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaunnick View Post
Here is an interview from 2010 where the HD explanation is what the internet rumors say.

http://www.realityblurred.com/realit...grodner_meehan

Look for the question 'Whether the show will ever be filmed in HD'.
It's also three years later, and the fact is, those issues shouldn't exist anymore. Storage is cheap, cameras are cheap. Heck, don't sports teams archive LOTS of HD content every day, and they have professionals to edit and analyze the tapes 7 ways to Sunday. Either they are cheap or lazy.
__________________
Annoying Blurb
Steveknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:22 AM   #73
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmyers View Post
Which of course is total BS because BBAD was in HD on Showtime for at least the last year (that's one of the reason people are so upset about it moving to TVguide channel). I'm not sure when it started in HD but it might have been even longer.
i think you may be confusing an sd picture upconverted to hd as an hd picture. sure, it's worse on tvgn in sd, but it was never in hd on showtime, not even on dtv, and never has been.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:28 AM   #74
Shaunnick
Registered User
 
Shaunnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,943
I think they're just cheap based on the quoted explanation. Sure they can afford it, but why bother if people keep watching it in SD.
Shaunnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |