TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Cloning 2Tb HDD for 2nd Tivo Series 3 TCD648250B

I just purchased a WD 2Tb HDD on Ebay with a Tivo image for a TCD648250B Series 3 HD Tivo. It's supposed to be plug & Play for my Series 3 Tivo. Since I have four of these TCD648250B Tivo's, is it possible to clone this drive for use in my other Tivo's using blank 2Tb WD Drives? If so, what software do I have to use, or can I simply use a stand alone hard drive cloner? Thanks!
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
I just purchased a WD 2Tb HDD on Ebay with a Tivo image for a TCD648250B Series 3 HD Tivo. It's supposed to be plug & Play for my Series 3 Tivo. Since I have four of these TCD648250B Tivo's,

is it possible to clone this drive for use in my other Tivo's using blank 2Tb WD Drives?

If so, what software do I have to use, or can I simply use a stand alone hard drive cloner? Thanks!
It should work fine, if the "other Tivo" is a TCD648250.

A simple DD Copy (operation) should do exactly what you are asking.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 02:47 PM   #3
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Thanks! Excuse my ignorance, but DD copy using which software? Also, would a stand alone HDD cloner do the job as well?
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 03:08 PM   #4
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
Thanks! Excuse my ignorance, but DD copy using which software?
http://www.google.com/url?q=http://e...dJsltIkA_RsKcQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
Also, would a stand alone HDD cloner do the job as well?
I have only used DD Copy to clone TiVo disks; so I know it works. Especially if "I" can do it!
It's not new, it's not user friendly because is done from a command line.
And, you should remove all HDDs from the computer except the source and target drives.
At that point it's as fool proof as any command line operation can be.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 03:37 PM   #5
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,994
WinMFS or the MFS Live Linux Boot CD will both work.

http://www.mfslive.org/

DvrBARS will also do the trick.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=503261

Using dd is fine, but it's pretty much a byte-for-byte copy of the entire drive. The tools listed above were designed for TiVos and they can make a truncated backup that's only a few hundred MB, and it takes a few minutes vs 5-8 hours to backup or restore.

See the Upgrade forum here for more info on all of them.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:12 AM   #6
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Thanks for all the answers. But one question wasn't answered. Will a stand-alone disk cloner work?
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 11:54 AM   #7
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 693
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
Thanks for all the answers. But one question wasn't answered. Will a stand-alone disk cloner work?
generally, no
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 03:47 PM   #8
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
Thanks for all the answers. But one question wasn't answered. Will a stand-alone disk cloner work?
Many cloner programs like EaseUs, Acronis etc try to read the partitions and give you "smart" options. Since they don't know the proprietary TiVo file system they usually won't work.

If you use a program like dd or a hardware drive cloner it should work if it just reads the drive from byte 0 to the end and writes that data to the target. We generally call that "xeroxing" a drive. If it tries to do anything else or interpret the drive in any way, probably not.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:28 PM   #9
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
Thanks for all the answers. But one question wasn't answered. Will a stand-alone disk cloner work?
Are you talking about a hardware or software cloner.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:41 PM   #10
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Stand alone hardware cloner. No pc or software involved.
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 11:02 PM   #11
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 786
Should work. They do a byte by byte copy and they are OS agnostic. Still will take a long time.

Personally if the drive you have has not been operational inside a TiVo yet, I would use DvrBARS and make a Modified or Truncated backup of the drive and then use a quick restore to the other drives. This will take minutes instead of hours and you will have a backup to use in the future.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 12:10 AM   #12
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by shfawaz View Post
I just purchased a WD 2Tb HDD on Ebay with a Tivo image for a TCD648250B Series 3 HD Tivo. It's supposed to be plug & Play for my Series 3 Tivo. Since I have four of these TCD648250B Tivo's, is it possible to clone this drive for use in my other Tivo's using blank 2Tb WD Drives? If so, what software do I have to use, or can I simply use a stand alone hard drive cloner? Thanks!
I use GNU DD_RESCUE, from the command line of the JMFS boot CD in order to do this. It works fine, and only takes a few hours, so long as you read the short documentation on the command line options, and make sure you know which drive is your source, and which is the target. If you get that last part wrong, you can copy the blank drive to the pre-imaged drive accidentally.

This really should be done by connecting the drives directly to a computer board's SATA ports (and disconnecting any other drives), but can be done, much slower, with USB-to-SATA bridging adapters.
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:11 AM   #13
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Put the drive in my Dual-HDD Duplicator/cloner and it appears that the duplication when off without a hitch. The clone booted up in my Tivo Series 3 and it showed 318 hours of HD. Woo Hoo! I did a clear and delete all and it is doing a initial setup which seems to be going well. I'll update once I am completely up and running.

Many THANKS to all who replied.
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #14
shfawaz
Registered User
 
shfawaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 109
Looks like all worked as it should using the hardware duplicator.
__________________
shfawaz
shfawaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |