TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
roachjl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Series 3 Tivo...Best Tivo ever?

I have had the XL4 for 5 days now. I like the new interface and the four tuners.
I previously had a series 3, which has been moved to the bedroom. I miss it in my main tv room.
My question is, is the series 3 the best TiVo ever? I love the program titles (and the time) on the front display. It was really a good device, especially given when it was released.
What do you guys think?
roachjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:48 PM   #2
rogmatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 175
TiVo HD is the best.
rogmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:01 PM   #3
roachjl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogmatic View Post
TiVo HD is the best.
I've always thought the HD was a cheap version of the series 3...
roachjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:07 PM   #4
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,852
OLED screen -- great

Need 2 cablecards -- BAD
slow downloads to computer -- BAD
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:43 PM   #5
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 6,972
Pluses and minuses to all units. I love the 4 tuners on the Elite. Miss the ability to have closed captions at 1X-FF, like my S3. Program titles never really mattered to me.

Now I'm waiting for the upcoming 6-tuner unit this fall, so it can be the latest and greatest.

I just love my TiVo's regardless.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:04 AM   #6
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,255
Despite its incomplete cablecard support, the S3 was probably my most favorite consumer electronics device.

Had a handy OLED screen and it didn't suffer from a handful of nagging bugs that crept up on the TivoHD as it aged.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 04:04 AM   #7
Wil
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by roachjl View Post
is the series 3 the best TiVo ever?
It (inclusive of the very similar HD) was the last Tivo. In the original sense of the Tivo as an open useful platform. I would guess that the series 3 marked the end of any involvement of any of the original Tivo principals or talent.
Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 06:02 AM   #8
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Well I have an original Series 3, TiVo HD, & Premiere. If you only rate them on being a "DVR" they are all great. If you are a person who worries about how the UI looks instead of how it works or a person that wants something more than a DVR then things change and become much more personal. From an OTA user point of view the Series 3 units work slightly better for me. For me personally being able to self upgrade the internal hard drive to 2TB for the TiVo HD & Premiere are a plus for both of those units.

I doubt someone on a cable system going to MPEG 4 with expensive cable cards thinks an original Series 3 unit which can not receive the MPEG 4 channels and needs 2 cable cards is better than a Premiere.

So I guess my opinion on which is "best" comes down to how the individual is using/rating them.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 06:57 AM   #9
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,234
The S3 was the last Tivo I owned so I can't compare it to the Premiere or anything newer than the Tivo HD. The HD was a budget version of the S3 with most of the same technology but not all of the features. The best thing I liked about the S3 was the display that would indicate what shows were currently being recorded. No other Tivo I've seen has ever had this feature. I thought it was overpriced, but since it was the first digital cablecard DVR it's what you had to pay for new technology.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 09:18 AM   #10
achalupa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 20
I think the S2 was my favorite TiVo. Probably because it was my first and the dramatic effect it had on my tv watching habit. Everything since then has been a slow incremental upgrade. Folks with S1's probably think the same about that device.

I still use an s3 daily and it performs as a DVR very well. Beyond that, not so much.
achalupa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 04:12 PM   #11
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 910
I liked my 3 THD's, but sold 2 of them and now have a THD and a P4 and an XL4. The thing I like about the Premieres are the 4 tuners, but the best improvement is Streaming vs. copying! This means that we can watch any show from 1 Premiere on another and not care about the copy bits, or waiting for a show to start to transfer!
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 09:10 PM   #12
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSAN View Post
I liked my 3 THD's, but sold 2 of them and now have a THD and a P4 and an XL4. The thing I like about the Premieres are the 4 tuners, but the best improvement is Streaming vs. copying! This means that we can watch any show from 1 Premiere on another and not care about the copy bits, or waiting for a show to start to transfer!
Is it really *any* show?

I don't have 2 Premieres, but I was unable to stream some downloaded *podcasts* on my iPad mini (but I could stream HBO shows which are clearly copy protected). BTW, this was just playing with it (though IIRC, they were old enough podcasts that I *couldn't* just re-download them on the iPad).

It didn't give me a copy protected error, it just gave whatever error it gives when it can't start a stream.. and other things were able to stream.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:12 AM   #13
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Well I have an original Series 3, TiVo HD, & Premiere. If you only rate them on being a "DVR" they are all great. If you are a person who worries about how the UI looks instead of how it works or a person that wants something more than a DVR then things change and become much more personal. From an OTA user point of view the Series 3 units work slightly better for me. For me personally being able to self upgrade the internal hard drive to 2TB for the TiVo HD & Premiere are a plus for both of those units.

I doubt someone on a cable system going to MPEG 4 with expensive cable cards thinks an original Series 3 unit which can not receive the MPEG 4 channels and needs 2 cable cards is better than a Premiere.

So I guess my opinion on which is "best" comes down to how the individual is using/rating them.
You can put a 2TB drive in that OLED S3 using only WinMFS as long as that 648 is already running version 11.0k of the TiVo software, which it almost certainly is.

Let me know if you want the exact procedure.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:22 PM   #14
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Is it really *any* show?
Yes, so far any show will stream between the Premieres. Frontier FIOS has copy bits on all but the normal OTA stations like CBS, NBC, ABC, and FOX.
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:53 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
The S3 was the last Tivo I owned so I can't compare it to the Premiere or anything newer than the Tivo HD. The HD was a budget version of the S3 with most of the same technology but not all of the features. The best thing I liked about the S3 was the display that would indicate what shows were currently being recorded. No other Tivo I've seen has ever had this feature. I thought it was overpriced, but since it was the first digital cablecard DVR it's what you had to pay for new technology.
I never found the display that useful. At a standard distance I couldn't read it anyway. The clock was OK, since it was bigger, but the actual show names were so small you basically had to walk up to it to see them.

I think visually the Premiere is a better looking box. Although the speed of the UI leaves a lot to be desired.

From what I've heard through the grapevine the upcoming 6 tuner unit is going to be pretty swank, so it might just turn out to be the best TiVo ever made. But I'll reserve judgement until I actually get my hands on one.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:28 PM   #16
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSAN View Post
Yes, so far any show will stream between the Premieres. Frontier FIOS has copy bits on all but the normal OTA stations like CBS, NBC, ABC, and FOX.
but I mean, did you try podcasts?
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 11:17 PM   #17
zalusky
Registered User
 
zalusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 3,499
+1 I have to go with the S4 because you can stream. Copy protection was no longer an issue and I did not have to wait for slow downloads.
I also like the remote delete.
__________________
I will never forget the face of my wife as I left to go the operating room to donate my kidney and give her back her life.
zalusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:25 AM   #18
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,328
Streaming, lower power use, fast transfers, and the (mostly) complete HD UI make the S4s better boxes now. Wasn't that way when they were released but it's pretty clear now.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:55 AM   #19
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,688
How many of you who are happy with your Tivo (any model) are forced to use a Tuning Adapter? I bet if you separated satisfaction statistics based on that factor you would find much less average satisfaction among those forced to use TA's. (Of course there will never be any satisfaction statistics.)

I have so many TA-related problems with my Tivo HD that I just can't get excited about spending money to upgrade to a newer model -- just to have the same issues again -- or maybe even worse if more tuners are involved.

Time Warner's anti-Tivo strategy (whether intentional or incidental) is working.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:12 AM   #20
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,628
I use a TA and don't have many problems.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 02:29 PM   #21
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
but I mean, did you try podcasts?
NOPE.
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 02:29 PM   #22
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by zalusky View Post
+1 I have to go with the S4 because you can stream. Copy protection was no longer an issue and I did not have to wait for slow downloads.
I also like the remote delete.
...and remote recover!
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:30 PM   #23
achalupa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zalusky View Post
+1 I have to go with the S4 because you can stream.
I have to agree with this. I didn't realize how inconvenient copying was compared to streaming until I finally got a second Premiere in the house.
achalupa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:15 PM   #24
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 23,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSAN View Post
...and remote recover!
You can actually do all sorts of stuff remotely via the Premiere units now. If you select the More Options or Explore This Show via the remote interface you can setup future recordings, add/adjust a SP and a few other things. And from the iPad app you can do even more like manage the To Do List or SP Manager. It's a LOT easier then having to run into the other room and turn on the TV just do anything.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:53 PM   #25
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I never found the display that useful. At a standard distance I couldn't read it anyway. The clock was OK, since it was bigger, but the actual show names were so small you basically had to walk up to it to see them.
I missed the OLED so much that I wrote a script to put the current recordings up on a digital photo frame. Most of the time you know what should be recording and you can tell from a distance if that's what's on the display even if you might not have been able to read it without knowing.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:40 PM   #26
zalusky
Registered User
 
zalusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 3,499
I redid the living room and put all the video components in a nearby closet. So I can't even see the unit anyways so the OLED would not have value anyways. The digital picture frame is an interesting idea though. One could add all sorts of stuff however with the Tivo App on my iPad I can pretty much mimic that.
__________________
I will never forget the face of my wife as I left to go the operating room to donate my kidney and give her back her life.
zalusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:08 PM   #27
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
How many of you who are happy with your Tivo (any model) are forced to use a Tuning Adapter?
I was never forced to use a TA, but I happily did so as long as I was a customer of TW Cable. I left TWC because of their utterly horrid customer service, and while I am mostly happy with the new Cable Company, I dearly wish they employed SDV and Tuning Adapters. The somewhat lower monthly cable bill is nice, but it nowhere nearly makes up for all the channels I can no longer receive because the provider simply does not have the bandwidth. Not only that, but since this CATV company is experiencing some weird problem that causes S3 TiVos to lose channels 800 - 824 most eveninings, I am missing a lot more channels than I ever did with a TA. Fortunately, those channels are mostly the national networks (ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, etc.), so I really don't care whether they are available, or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
I bet if you separated satisfaction statistics based on that factor you would find much less average satisfaction among those forced to use TA's. (Of course there will never be any satisfaction statistics.)
I bet not. What's more, I'mm willing to bet a modest amount many of those grumbling about TA would scream, "Bloody murder!", if they had them taken away and lost nearly half their HD channels or more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
I have so many TA-related problems with my Tivo HD that I just can't get excited about spending money to upgrade to a newer model -- just to have the same issues again -- or maybe even worse if more tuners are involved.
I'm certainly not going to upgrade to a newer model, but the fact has nothing to do with the TA. The S4 and its virtually certain successors are just too patheric.

Last edited by lrhorer : 07-01-2013 at 05:19 PM.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:13 PM   #28
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I never found the display that useful. At a standard distance I couldn't read it anyway.
Me, either. What's more, in the theater, the TiVo sits behind the viewers, not in front of them, and isn't visibe at all to people in the front row, unless they stand up. In the living room, the view for most people is obscured by a coffee table. It was never anything I found of particular value, especially since I really could not care less what is currently recording.
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |