TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2013, 07:13 AM   #1
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 3,542
TC CLUB MEMBER
Exclamation COX deploying SDV & Tuning Adapters in LAS VEGAS, RIGHT NOW!

COX deploying SDV & Tuning Adapters in LAS VEGAS, RIGHT NOW!

Two days ago, out of nowhere, we received a notification that as of JUNE 17, 2013, Tuning Adapters would be available, as a self-install kit, at our local Cox retail centers, free of charge & additional fees.

It also states that: AS OF JULY 17, 2013, we would lose nearly all our channels, beyond basic service, if the Tuning Adapters were NOT installed before that date.

They make a play to save us the hassle of going through this, by offering ONE (ONLY ONE) of THEIR digital/HD receivers for the same price as a CableCard for 12 months (which I guess might appeal to somebody with ONLY ONE TiVo (or other CableCard device, NOT leased from Cox). After the year of $1.99/month offer, the costs associated with keeping the receiver would go up to whatever rates were in place at that point.

THERE IS NO MENTION OF ON-DEMAND, unless it's while their baiting you with a discounted receiver, leased from them.

In a house where family members are SCOLDED, harshly, for leaving a single CF nightlight on, or not turning off lights when leaving a room, I am very worried about the increased electrical utility bill that will arise from using these Tuning Adapters. We have some of the highest electric rates in the nation. I've read, all over, how these Tuning Adapters are inefficient ELECTRICITY HOGS, run hot, and introduce all sorts of issues in the wake of their deployment.

I realize this is the way things need to be, and it was coming sooner or later. My biggest concern is does the FCC CableCard mandate also cover Tuning Adapters, or are they a separate matter. If separate, who do we complain to, if/when there are problems with them? Cox here absolutely hates TiVo, hates CableCards, & hates supporting the parts that they should be responsible for supporting. Their party line for a year has been "We don't support TiVo". It doesn't matter what the problem is, or if it affects every device in the house, non-TiVo & all, if there are TiVos in the house, that's the line you get...

nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:34 AM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,339
The only reason tuning adapters exist is to support CableCard devices. I think the general practice has been to offer them for free, unlike the cards.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:25 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,451
My condolences to Las Vegas COX customers/victims.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:43 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,600
About time. We've been dealing with SDV for several years here with Cox Orange County and now more and more H.264 channels are creeping into 800-1000MHz frequency range. It's quite possible electricity costs out here are higher than what you pay in Vegas too, though granted we don't have to run the AC anywhere near as much.

__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:22 AM   #5
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
My condolences to Las Vegas COX customers/victims.
+1

davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:28 AM   #6
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,212
Bummer!

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:05 AM   #7
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,575
I really do not have any issues with my Cisco Tuning Adapters with Cox in Phoenix. Las Vegas is also Cisco, so assuming they do it correctly you should not have any issues, but do expect some growing pains as they ramp it up.

__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.7, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:29 AM   #8
pmalve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
no problems

have had tuning adapter for awhile here and haven't had any issues with it since installing it. had much more problems with cable card before they went to sdv.

pmalve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:59 PM   #9
celtic pride
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 329
Ithink if verizon ever added tuning adapters i would switch to directv.

celtic pride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 04:31 PM   #10
jole60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Are SDV & Tuning Adapters Needed With Series 2?

I live in Las Vegas and use Cox Cable without a cable box for non-premium channel recording on several Series 2 Tivos. Will these adapters be necessary to bring in the channels for Series 2 and other Tivo models that don't use cable cards?

jole60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:46 PM   #11
TomJHansen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jole60 View Post
I live in Las Vegas and use Cox Cable without a cable box for non-premium channel recording on several Series 2 Tivos. Will these adapters be necessary to bring in the channels for Series 2 and other Tivo models that don't use cable cards?
No - they are just for Tivo's with Cable cards. S2 units will still get their signal from the coax.

TomJHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:23 PM   #12
jole60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Tom, thanks for the prompt response.

jole60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:45 PM   #13
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 3,542
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomJHansen View Post
No - they are just for Tivo's with Cable cards. S2 units will still get their signal from the coax.
True, until Cox makes their next transition: DIGITAL-ONLY cable service.

That's when your nightmare will begin.

nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 09:18 PM   #14
satscram4000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
I live in CT & all of our cox channels are slowly going digital. In another month or so they will be all digital. I picked up my 2 free cox mini boxes, which work nice, they have an HDMI output, & we now get a bunch of digital channels that we never got before with the cable connected directly to the TV's. I bought a Tivo Roamio Plus with the lifetime service. I plan to get the Tivo mini's to run all of the TV's in my house. So I went online & ordered my cablecard from Cox. It's $1.99 a month & they hit me with a one time $30.00 self install fee, which I called them on because, if I was installing it myself, why would they be charging me. So I was using their live chat & asked them if the digital tuning adapter was coming with the cablecard. They said no that I have to pay for that separate. & it's between $20 & $30. I told the cox person that I spoke to a tech support person last week & they said it was free. So now I get off the live chat & call cox & talk to another tech support person, who tells me that the tuning adapter comes in the self install kit. I am going to their store tomorrow to pick it up, can't wait to see what happens !!

satscram4000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:00 PM   #15
osu1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
I saw a news article that Cox Tulsa is on the all digital move now. Am interested to see how long my clear qam locals stay available. I've used them with the tv tuner to watch local high school football games on the Cox Channel the last few years.

The Roamio Basic I got a few weeks ago scanned everything in and mapped all the channels correctly into the 1000's. I used it for a night before going back to OTA with it.

osu1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:10 PM   #16
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like the golden glade but for the standing. Velvilio has not the tin. Do not take marmosets that you cannot return to the encapsulation.
Posts: 7,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by osu1991 View Post
I saw a news article that Cox Tulsa is on the all digital move now. Am interested to see how long my clear qam locals stay available. I've used them with the tv tuner to watch local high school football games on the Cox Channel the last few years.

The Roamio Basic I got a few weeks ago scanned everything in and mapped all the channels correctly into the 1000's. I used it for a night before going back to OTA with it.

QAM channels are digital.

Always have been.

The key thing isn't when a system goes all digital. The key thing is if they go to all scrambled.

__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:22 PM   #17
jsmeeker
Vegas Boy
 
jsmeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 91,287
I've had tuning adapters with my TiVo premiere since day 1 with TimeWarner in Dallas. It's worked pretty well and been reliable. The biggest issues I saw seemed to be related to power sags. Once I put it on a UPS along with the TiVo itself, it's been very very stable. AS far as electricity use, I don't know how much it adds. The alternative is to not be able to use TiVo, so I have to just pay for it.

__________________
Jeff
Proud to use my TiVo improperly
President of the TiVoShanan Fan Club


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsmeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:05 AM   #18
osu1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
QAM channels are digital.

Always have been.

The key thing isn't when a system goes all digital. The key thing is if they go to all scrambled.
Correct. I meant to imply that when going all digital and killing the analog that I hope they didn't encrypt the digital locals, as it appears that is when they seem to do it.

I have a condo in Las Vegas and wish the Cox locals were in the clear there like they have been in Tulsa. I have spotty OTA coverage on most of the Las Vegas, locals since there is no place to put an outdoor or attic mounted antenna.

osu1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 03:09 PM   #19
satscram4000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
We have been flooded with letters & emails from cox, which stated the "going all digital" date was March 17th. I still have the major networks, but have lost most of the cable only channels. My mother had gotten 3 cox miniboxes. I activated all of them. There is one upstairs in her bedroom running an old picture tube tv. The signal is weak so it kept dropping out, so she said I could try the box at my house, which I did. It works perfect. So the boxes are not location specific. So at my house I just had the basic starter package, & my mother has the expanded 280 channels & her box works just fine at my house. Meanwhile I picked up the cablecard & digital tuning adapter for my Tivo at my local cox store. The cox rep waived the $30.00 self install fee & did not charge may anything for the tuning adapter either.

satscram4000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 03:29 PM   #20
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 27,905
TC CLUB MEMBER
My tuning adapters have been broken for months (they got a firmware update and haven't worked since) but I've been too lazy to call and see what's going on. Luckily for us the TA is only used for a handful of very specialty channels that we never watch so it doesn't effect us at all.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 05:14 PM   #21
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 4,353
TAs can be a PITA, but electricity use isn't a big concern. They probably don't pull more than 10W, if that. I'm huge into energy efficiency too, BUT given the costs of keeping cable TV and a TiVo running, electricity costs for TAs is relatively small. And I'm speaking from here in Connecticut, where we take the cake for the highest CONUS electric rates. That being said, you guys get hit harder for energy wasting devices, since around here, they're helping heat the house half the year, and are only fighting the A/C for a couple of months.

__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.
Page generated in 0.11228204 seconds (81.68% PHP - 18.32% MySQL) with 18 queries