TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2013, 10:11 PM   #1
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
I believe a Comcast rep lied regarding Cable Card Self Installation please help

Getting a tivo premiere 4 xl tommorrow and Just talked to comcast rep in online chat about getting a cable card and he tried to tell me there is no self install and that a tech must install for $21.75 Is that correct? Since comcast in my area allows self installs of set top boxes and cable modems wouldnt that mean that they have to offer a self install of cable card under FCC?

I really dont want to spend $22.00 bucks on something that a chimp could do
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:29 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,087
You're right, they're wrong. Consider telling the FCC. Also, TiVo has/had (?) a help line just for this kind of thing, IIRC...

http://support.tivo.com/ci/fattach/g...777/redirect/1
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 06:21 AM   #3
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,634
Completely incorrect and chat reps are often clueless. Go to your nearest Comcast gulag (i.e., store) and wait in line to pick one up.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 06:49 AM   #4
AMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 42
And just to play it safe, you may want to pick up 2 cards while you are there in case the first one fails. The line at the DMVcast office will likely be long and slow.
__________________
Current TiVo Hardware:
1-TiVo Roamio Plus
1-TiVo Premiere XL
1-TiVo Premiere XL4
1-TiVo Mini
AMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:49 AM   #5
stujac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,343
Well, guys, I beg to differ. It depends on the Comcast office. My local office still does a truck roll and always has.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic w/2TB, TiVoHD + 1TB, Panny 46" Plasma, Marantz SR5003, PS3, Panny A2 HD DVD player, Panny DMR E-95, JVC Dvd-Audio, all controlled by a Harmony One
stujac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:58 AM   #6
jakerock
Hey ho howdy!
 
jakerock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lee, NH
Posts: 2,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by stujac View Post
Well, guys, I beg to differ. It depends on the Comcast office. My local office still does a truck roll and always has.
They are legally required to allow self install at this point. So either it has changed since the last time you got a card or your local office is also not following FCC rules.
__________________
A sufficiently advanced troll
jakerock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:07 AM   #7
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by stujac View Post
Well, guys, I beg to differ. It depends on the Comcast office. My local office still does a truck roll and always has.
You are begging about the wrong thing. Of course they will perform a truck roll at your expense, why not. However, they MUST allow a self install.

Read on:
http://www.fcc.gov/guides/cablecard-know-your-rights
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:57 AM   #8
cheerdude
Reed & Juliet's CPA
 
cheerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 10,052
When I did mine - i picked up the cards from a Comcast office. They gave me a small card that had phone numbers for support; one of which was for Cable Cards.
cheerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:05 AM   #9
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakerock View Post
They are legally required to allow self install at this point. So either it has changed since the last time you got a card or your local office is also not following FCC rules.
They are not only required to allow self installs, they are required to inform you of that option.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:21 AM   #10
stujac
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,343
Ok-I give. I had a big fight with them on my last cc but that was 18 months ago. Sorry. I'm this close to switching to Fios anyway. What's their policy?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Basic w/2TB, TiVoHD + 1TB, Panny 46" Plasma, Marantz SR5003, PS3, Panny A2 HD DVD player, Panny DMR E-95, JVC Dvd-Audio, all controlled by a Harmony One
stujac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:12 AM   #11
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,087
It's the law, not policy. It was already the law 18 months ago.

Anyway, last time I did it, Fios was easy. I picked up a card at the Fios store (finding this was the hard part -- Verizon has an office a block from my house, but you can't do it there), and activated it online.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:39 AM   #12
AMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 42
I had a unique situation here. I basically installed everything here myself without a truck roll. I picked up the necessary cc's from the office. They gave me zero resistance and provided me the direct number to the cable card activation department. This process has been fairly seemless.
__________________
Current TiVo Hardware:
1-TiVo Roamio Plus
1-TiVo Premiere XL
1-TiVo Premiere XL4
1-TiVo Mini
AMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:00 AM   #13
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by stujac View Post
Well, guys, I beg to differ. It depends on the Comcast office. My local office still does a truck roll and always has.
same here, no exceptions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakerock View Post
They are legally required to allow self install at this point...your local office is also not following FCC rules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
they MUST allow a self install.
i know you're both right in theory, but what can a new cable card customer who wants service do in the moment to change their minds? quoting fcc regs to customer service reps, supervisors, or installers will get you nowhere. they are following rules issued by their bosses.

if they refuse to allow a self install, that's the end of discussion. if you want the service, all you can do is report the situation after the installer leaves (which is what i did).
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace

Last edited by NorthAlabama : 06-15-2013 at 09:09 AM.
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:14 AM   #14
moedaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthAlabama View Post
same here, no exceptions.





i know you're both right in theory, but what can a new customer who wants service do in the moment to change their minds? quoting fcc regs to customer service reps, supervisors, or installers will get you nowhere. they are following rules issued by their bosses.

if they refuse to allow a self install, that's the end of discussion. if you want the service, all you can do is report the situation after the installer leaves (which is what i did).
Well of course a new customer needs a truck roll and can't do a self-install. You're going to be allowed to connect a cable from the pole to the house and have the service turned on. But for people who already have service, they are required to allow a cc self-install. What a new customer should do is have them install with a stb, then go to the cable store and return the stb and pick up a cc.
moedaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:24 AM   #15
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post
Well of course a new customer needs a truck roll and can't do a self-install. You're going to be allowed to connect a cable from the pole to the house and have the service turned on. But for people who already have service, they are required to allow a cc self-install. What a new customer should do is have them install with a stb, then go to the cable store and return the stb and pick up a cc.
Nonsense. They do not need access to the inside of your domicile to attach the cable. If someone does it your way, they are still going to be charged for the installation of the STB.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:39 AM   #16
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post
Well of course a new customer needs a truck roll and can't do a self-install.
excuse my earlier, confusing post. i was a new cable card customer, not a new comcast cusotmer - i already had an account and basic digital service. they refused to add the cable card without a truck roll, period. i visited the local office, and spoke to supervisors, emailed corporate, and called tivo. afterwards, i submitted a complaint to the fcc.

even after all this, it took comcast a week and two truck rolls to correctly provision my account to receive all my channels. the installers just stood in my living room, watching my tv, while talking to dispatch on the phone until all the channels eventually came through. they never had to lift a finger, as i had already installed the equipment (and the card once they brought it).
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:19 PM   #17
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,634
When did you do it? The mandatory card self-install rule for Comcast and other MSOs that allowed STB self-installs went into effect in August 2011.

If you didn't call corporate and tell them the local was not in compliance, you missed out - the corporate reps can and will get the local straight and/or refund your truck roll cost. Emailing them is not calling, I've always gotten a call back from corporate when I called them first.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:21 PM   #18
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post
Well of course a new customer needs a truck roll and can't do a self-install.
Wrong, they let people do them all the time with either boxes or cards.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:36 PM   #19
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
When did you do it? The mandatory card self-install rule for Comcast and other MSOs that allowed STB self-installs went into effect in August 2011.

If you didn't call corporate and tell them the local was not in compliance, you missed out - the corporate reps can and will get the local straight and/or refund your truck roll cost. Emailing them is not calling, I've always gotten a call back from corporate when I called them first.
april 2012 (my tcf join date). corporate did call me, and i explained my expectations for the self install, and how my reasonings were based on the fcc ruling (both in email and phone call). i was very calm, patient, and extremely polite through the entire process.

corporate continued to follow up until the service was working. they refunded both truck rolls, and credited a week's service without my new channels. it was still a much bigger hassel than research before the install had led me to belive.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:08 PM   #20
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks for all the replys

I'm going to hit the comcast office at open and ill let you know what happens
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:44 PM   #21
ToeCutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
While it might not be the most popular suggestion, I'd definitely go with a truck roll on a first time install. Demand a tech that has experience with cable card installs.

I only suggest this as you'll likely be stuck talking to countless Comcast CSR's that have no clue about cable cards, especially if it's a first time TiVo install. At least with a truck roll, you're (almost) guaranteed to get the TiVo working before the tech leaves. They also can't blame you for any configuration issues.

Even after all these years, I'm astonished at how few Comcast techs have been trained on cable cards. I had a VOD issue a few weeks back and it took 4 separate phone calls to finally determine it was an issue on Comcast's authentication servers. One of the CSRs changed an account flag that shut down my VOD. They were determined to send a tech, despite my resistance insisting that NOTHING on my 3 year old TiVo's had changed.

I'd pay the $20 or so to ensure they get it knocked out in one visit vs. wasting HOURS of your time talking to different CSRs.
ToeCutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:11 PM   #22
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToeCutter View Post
While it might not be the most popular suggestion, I'd definitely go with a truck roll on a first time install. Demand a tech that has experience with cable card installs.
Yeah, that'll work. Comcast is sure to accede to your demands.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 08:17 AM   #23
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
most comcast techs in baltimore are a few fries short of happy meal. im a pretty tech savvy guy ive built and updated a few computers in my day so i think i can handle a cable card install

this isnt the first time ive had a tivo i had a tivo many moons ago it was a dual tuner series 2 back before the need for cable cards
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:18 AM   #24
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToeCutter View Post
I'd pay the $20 or so to ensure they get it knocked out in one visit vs. wasting HOURS of your time talking to different CSRs.
Makes no sense. All that tech is doing is calling their own hotline. Nothing special happens on site.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:39 PM   #25
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Picked up a cable card at the local office wasn't to. Painful there was in and out in under 10 minutes
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:48 PM   #26
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,897
glad picking up the card went so smoothly , especially after being told an install was necessary. please post an update on how the pairing process worked out.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 04:35 PM   #27
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Working on Guided setup as we speak should have an answer for you in bit
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:13 PM   #28
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Help Ok I did guided setup, activated on the website and inerted my cable card and its an m-card and the tivo is saying not an m card
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:45 PM   #29
Bigpapa7272
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Getting an error that its an invalid card and that it wasnt an mcard, called to activate and tech tells me its not an m card This is frustrating considering I asked the dummy at the comcast lobby if it was an mcard twice and was told yes. Now i have to go back tommorrow after work and swap.
Bigpapa7272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:55 AM   #30
bshrock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 263
Make sure it is labeled "M-Card" not just the 'M' for the Motorola logo. your card should look like the one on the What is a cableCARD page
bshrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |