TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2013, 01:47 PM   #1
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Can I purchase from AMZ & buy Lifetime from TiVo?

I have some Discover cash back that can reduce my upfront cost at Amazon on a Premiere 4 box.

I already have a Premiere dual tuner on a month-month agreement.
Can I buy @ Amazon the P4 & add the Lifetime Service to its purchase after from TiVo?

I've read that there may be (by calling in) some current customer special pricing even less that the MSD $399 being currently listed - how true is this?

Appreciate any feedback.
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 02:03 PM   #2
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
Yeah. You don't even have to call. You can go through the registration online and purchase lifetime there. Once you're logged in to your account it will reduce the price to $399.

I have not heard of any special discounts on lifetime except for the one where they will offer you lifetime on an old S3 box for $99 if you purchase a new Premiere with lifetime. Most of the discounts they have are on the box itself, and typically Amazon is still cheaper.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:53 PM   #3
NoVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NoVa
Posts: 146
Thanks Dan!
NoVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 05:49 PM   #4
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,162
If you are keeping the old box you will also get the multi owner discount on your month to month unit.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:37 PM   #5
Jed1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Frackville, PA.
Posts: 101
I just talked to TiVo last night about this and they said that it is no problem. The only thing is if there is a problem with the box in the first 30 days I will have to exchange it with Amazon and then give TiVo the RMA number so they can transfer the lifetime subscription to the replacement box.

I was just notified by Amazon that my first TiVo will be here on Thursday. Not bad for super saver shipping as the original estimate was for Monday to Thursday of next week. I ordered it last night after I got off the phone with TiVo.
Jed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 01:32 PM   #6
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
I just talked to TiVo last night about this and they said that it is no problem. The only thing is if there is a problem with the box in the first 30 days I will have to exchange it with Amazon and then give TiVo the RMA number so they can transfer the lifetime subscription to the replacement box.

I was just notified by Amazon that my first TiVo will be here on Thursday. Not bad for super saver shipping as the original estimate was for Monday to Thursday of next week. I ordered it last night after I got off the phone with TiVo.
Given that TiVo has a full money back guarantee for the first 30 days, one can change TiVos in that 30 day period by just canceling the service and re-activating the new TiVo, another good reason to do it this way is you get another 30 day guarantee.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:24 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
There is also a way to change TSNs via the webpage as long as you're in the 30 day window.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:06 PM   #8
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
There is also a way to change TSNs via the webpage as long as you're in the 30 day window.
Does not work with any Series 4 !!
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:08 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,236
I think it does for all units in the first 30 days.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 12:48 AM   #10
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I think it does for all units in the first 30 days.
As I said not for the Series 4 TiVos, I have tried this and it is a no go, you have to call TiVo and they will cancel and/or switch for you, but you can't do it on the web sight anymore for Series 4, it still works for older models.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |